Molecular Wood Biotechnology and Technical Mycology

Molecular Wood Biotechnology and Technical Mycology

Scientific interests of the department are in basic research of basidiomycetous fungi, in biotechnological applications of wood-degrading fungi and their enzymes and in development of biotechnological processes in the nature-orientated production of wood composites.

We apply genetic, molecular-biological and biochemical methods in the analysis of enzymes and of biological process of basidiomycetes, such as fruiting body development and their biological interactions with other organisms. DNA techniques are used for the molecular identification of fungi in wood. Modern genomics and proteomics support identification of interesting enzymes and other proteins from fungal species such as the edible white-rot Pleurotus ostreatus, the dry rot Serpula lacrymans or the conifer pathogenic butt rot Heterobasidion annosum. The saprotrophic mushroom Coprinopsis cinerea, an inkcap, can be transformed with DNA and is also accessible by classical genetics and serves us therefore as model fungus in studies of developmental processes and as a host for the expression of genes for interesting enzymes.

Fungal enzymes are used in the biochemical modification and in the biochemical transformation of wood, such as in the production of wood composites or in the hydrolytic conversion of cellulose into glucose.

Biotechnological processes with nature-orientated adhesives and use of novel renewable raw materials on biological bases for the development of new generations of compound material are other key areas of research of the department.

The department is active in teaching in bachelor, master and PhD study programs of the Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology. Lectures, seminars and training courses are hold in various fields such as forest botany, mycology and forest pathology, biodiversity of fungi, basics in biotechnology, wood biotechnology, environmental conservation in the forest product industries, molecular biology and microbiology.

Molekulare Holzbiotechnologie und technische Mykologie

Molekulare Holzbiotechnologie und technische Mykologie

Die wissenschaftlichen Ausrichtungen der Abteilung liegen in Grundlagenforschung von basidiomyzeten Pilzen, in der biotechnologischen Anwendung von holzzersetzenden Pilzen und ihren Enzymen und in biotechnologischer Verfahrensentwicklung von Verbundwerkstoffen.

Wir verwenden genetische, molekularbiologische und biochemische Methoden, um Enzyme und biologische Prozesse von Basidiomyzeten wie z. B. Fruchtkörperbildung und biologische Interaktionen mit anderen Organismen zu untersuchen. DNA-Techniken werden eingesetzt zur Identifizierung von Pilzen aus Holz. Moderne Genom- und Proteomforschung hilft bei der Identifizierung von Enzymen und anderen Proteinen aus Arten wie dem essbaren Weißfäulepilz Pleurotus ostreatus, dem Braunfäule verursachenden Hausschwamm Serpula lacrymans oder dem pathogenen Rotfäulepilz Heterobasidium annosum. Der saprotrophe Hutpilz Coprinopsis cinerea, ein Tintling, ist transformierbar und der klassischen Genetik zugänglich und dient uns als Modelpilz für die Erforschung von Entwicklungsprozessen sowie als Wirt für die Expression von Genen für interessante Enzyme.

Pilzliche Enzyme werden in der biochemischen Modifizierung und Umsetzung von Holz genutzt, so z. B. in der Produktion von Holzwerkstoffen oder in einer hydrolytischen Umsetzung von Zellulose zu Glukose.

Biotechnologische Verfahren mit naturnahen Bindemitteln und Einsatz von neuen regenerierbaren Rohstoffen bei der Entwicklung neuartiger Holzwerkstoffe sind weitere Schwerpunkte in der Forschung der Abteilung.

In der Lehre ist die Abteilung in Bachelor-, Master- und Promotionsstudiengängen der Fakultät für Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie tätig. Vorlesungen und Kurse umfassen Gebiete wie Forstbotanik, Mykologie und Forstpathologie, Biodiversität der Pilze, Grundlagen der Biotechnologie, Holzbiotechnologie, Umweltschutz in der Forstprodukteindustrie, Molekulargenetik und Mikrobiologie.