Bioclimatology

Bioclimatology

Welcome to the Chair of Bioclimatology

Bingen

left to right:

Oleg Panferov, Alexander Knohl, Emanuel Blei, Rijan Tamrakar, Frank Tiedemann, Ashehad Ali, Edgar Tunsch, Fernando Moyano, Jonathan Juergensen, Florian Heimsch, Rahmi Ariani, Branindityo Nugroho, Yuan Yan






Research and Teaching

Terrestrial ecosystems and particular forests are important components of the global climate system as sinks or sources of water vapor and trace gases such as carbon dioxide or methane. Furthermore, terrestrial ecosystems provide essential services to society by producing food, wood, improving water quality and by shaping local and regional climate.

The Chair of Bioclimatology focuses - in research and teaching - on the interaction of forest ecosystems and atmopshere. We aims to understand the ecophysiology and biogeochemical cycles of terrestrial ecosystems and to investigate how they respond to a changing environment and to land-use management using field and laboratory measurements and models.

As key tools we use (a) micrometeorological approaches such as eddy covariance for measuring the exchange of water vapor, energy and carbon dioxide, (b) stable isotopes in carbon dioxide (13C and 18O) and water vapor (2H and 18O) using laser spectroscopy, (c) high resolution 3D models of radiative transfer and turbulence such as SPM3D und SCADIS; ecosystem models such as CANVEG, SVAT-MixedFor and regional climate models such as REMO and CLM for the analysis of feedbacks between land and atmopshere.

The Chair of Bioclimatolgy operates research sites (eddy covariance flux towers or meteo stations) in Germany (Solling, Hainich, Leinfelde, Göttinger Wald), Indonesia and Burkina Faso.

Bioklimatologie

Bioklimatologie

Willkommen in der Abteilung Bioklimatologie

Group picture small a























Von links nach rechts:

Arun Parajuli, Alexander Knohl, Christian Markwitz, Jonathan Jürgensen, Anas Emad, Nina Tiralla, Frank Tiedemann, Ashehad Ali, Emanuel Blei, Yuan Yan, Florian Heimsch, Rahmi Ariani, Fernando Moyano, Ana Meijide, Gerhard Birke, Ursula Buchholz, Mattia Bonazza, Marek Peksa, Heinrich Kreilein.






Themen in Forschung und Lehre

Waldökosysteme stellen als Senken und Quellen für Wasserdampf und Treibhausgase wie Kohlendioxid eine wichtige Komponente des globalen Klimasystems dar. Darüber hinaus sind Waldökosysteme von grundlegender Bedeutung für das lokale Klima, den Wasserkreislauf auf Landschaftsebene und für die Luftqualität. Der gegenwärtig beobachtete Klimawandel führt zu Veränderungen in diesen Waldökosystemfunktionen von noch unbekannter Größe und Richtung.

Die Abteilung Bioklimatologie beschäftigt sich in Forschung und Lehre mit der Interaktion zwischen Wald und Atmosphäre. Dabei steht das Messen, Modellieren und Analysieren von Energieflüssen und biogeochemischen Stoffkreisläufen in Waldökosystemen und deren Reaktion auf Klimaveränderungen und Landnutzungsänderungen im Vordergrund.

Methodisch verwenden wir (a) mikrometeorologische Verfahren zur Erfassung von Stoff- und Energieflüssen wie die Eddy Covariance Technik, (b) stabile Isotope in Kohlendioxid (13C und 18O) und Wasserdampf (2H und 18O) als Marker im Kohlenstoff- und Wasserkreislauf, (c) hoch aufgelöste 3D-Modelle des Strahlungstransportes und der Turbulenz wie SPM3D und SCADIS; Ökosystemmodelle wie CANVEG, SVAT-MixedFor und regionale Klimamodelle wie REMO und CLM für die Analyse von Rückkoppelungen zwischen Landoberfläche und Atmosphäre.

Die Abteilung Bioklimatologie betreibt Messeinrichtungen (Eddy-Covariance Türme oder Klimastationen) in Deutschland (Solling, Hainich, Leinfelde, Göttinger Wald), Indonesien und Burkina Faso.