Forest Inventory and Remote Sensing

Forest Inventory and Remote Sensing

AWF | www.uni-goettingen.de/Forest-Inventory



Forest Inventory · Forest Mensuration · Remote Sensing · GIS · Surveying



Informed and transparent decisions in both management and policy making require data and information. This is particularly true when the object of management and policy making are renewable natural resources and complex ecosystems (such as forests), where sustainability is among the most relevant goals.

Sustainability can not be enacted nor monitored without intelligent information procurement, information processing and information presentation.

These are exactly the field in which the Chair of Forest Inventory and Remote Sensing sees its central role in academic teaching and in research:

In academic teaching, the students learn the relevant techniques of data collection and information generation by sampling, remote sensing and modelling. And we wish to generate awareness among the students for the role scientifically sound data and information in decision processes and how to deal with the unavoidable sources of errors.

In research, further development and optimization of data and information collection is our goal, and this refers to both to production forestry (wood and non-wood forest products, biomass and carbon) and to conservation (indicators of biodiversity, monitoring of protected areas, habitat suitability analysis).


Contact

Head:
Prof. Dr. Christoph Kleinn  |  CKleinn@gwdg.de
Room 1.117  |  +49 [0]551 39-33473
Office hours: by appointment

Administration / Secretariat:
Silvia Wagner  |  SWagner3@gwdg.de
Room 1.113  |  +49 [0]551 39-33472

Office Hours:   Mon  08:00 - 12:00
  Tue 13:30 - 16:30
  Wed 13:30 - 16:30
  Thu 08:00 - 12:00

Waldinventur und Fernerkundung

Waldinventur und Fernerkundung


Waldinventur · Waldmeßlehre · Fernerkundung · GIS · Vermessung



Begründete und transparente Entscheidungsgrundlagen für ein angemessenes Management sowie politische Prozesse bedürfen zuverlässiger Informationen und Datengrundlagen. Dies trifft insbesondere auf natürliche Ressourcen und komplexe Ökosysteme (wie Wälder) zu, für die unter anderem die nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung ein Hauptziel ist.

Eine nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung dieser Ressourcen kann ohne eine angemessene Beschaffung, Aufbereitung und Präsentation von Informationen nicht gewährleistet oder überprüft werden.

Genau in diesem Spannungsfeld sieht der Lehrstuhl für Waldinventur und Fernerkundung seine zentrale Rolle in der akademischen Lehre sowie wissenschaftlicher Forschung.

In der akademischen Lehre werden relevante Techniken der Datenaufnahme und Ableitung statistisch abgesicherter Ergebnisse aus Stichproben, Fernerkundungsdaten und Modellierung vermittelt. Unser Hauptanliegen in diesem Bereich ist die Sensibilisierung der Studenten für die Bedeutung wissenschaftlich und statistisch abgesicherter Daten und Informationen als Grundlage für Entscheidungsprozesse sowie den Umgang mit unvermeidlichen Fehlerquellen zu demonstrieren.

Forschungsschwerpunkte des Lehrstuhls sind die Entwicklung neuer Ansätze sowie die Optimierung vorhandener Verfahren zur Datenerfassung im Rahmen von Waldinventuren mit unterschiedlichsten Zielsetzungen. Hierunter fallen forstliche Produktionssysteme (Holz- und Nicht-Holz Produkte, Biomasse und Kohlenstoffspeicherung) ebenso wie naturschutzfachliche Fragestellungen (Indikatoren für Biodiversität, die Beobachtung von Schutzgebieten, Habitatanalysen).


Kontakt

Abteilungsleiter:
Prof. Dr. Christoph Kleinn  |  CKleinn@gwdg.de
Zimmer 1.117  |  +49 [0]551 39-33473
Sprechzeit: nach Vereinbarung

Verwaltung / Sekretariat:
Silvia Wagner  |  SWagner3@gwdg.de
Zimmer 1.113  |  +49 [0]551 39-33472

Sprechzeiten:   Mo  08:00 - 12:00 Uhr
  Di 13:30 - 16:30 Uhr
  Mi 13:30 - 16:30 Uhr
  Do 08:00 - 12:00 Uhr



AWF  |  www.uni-goettingen.de/Waldinventur