In publica commoda

Intercultural German Studies Germany - China (M.A./double degree)

Degree programme title: Intercultural German Studies Germany - China
Final degree: M. A. (double degree from the universities of Göttingen and Nanjing, or from Göttingen University and the Beijing Foreign Studies University)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in Intercultural German Studies Germany - China (Double Degree)
Admission: Limited admission (application to the Faculty)
Admission requirements:

  • B.A. degree or one equivalent
  • Letter of motivation
  • Selection interview

Language requirements:

  • For non-German native speakers: German Language University Entrance Examination for Foreign Applicants (DSH)/Test of German as a Foreign Language (TestDaF)
  • English proficiency (B2)
  • Chinese proficiency (80 class hours for non-Chinese native speakers)

Language of the programme: German
Application deadline: July 15th
Application: Application procedure

Degree programme description
The concept behind the degree programme combines a specialised education in German studies with a job-related professionalization while teaching practice-related key competencies. The linguistic and literature sections teach intercultural and culturological perspectives. Students are educated to become linguistic and cultural experts.

The participating universities determine their own academic and job-qualifying foci. These foci are incorporated into the specific educational objectives and traditions of their respective German departments. They are tailored to the appropriate professional fields in Germany and China. At University of Nanjing, these foci cover the areas of education and knowledge transfer; The Beijing Foreign Studies University places emphasis on ?translating? cultures alongside law and economics, while Göttingen University focuses on culture transfer.

Degree programme structure
The degree programmes is structure so as to integrate the structural prerequisites of the German and Chinese university systems in equal measure. That means that Chinese students are required to complete a 5-semester degree programme earning 120 credits, while German students must complete 4 semesters in which they also earn 120 credits. The number of students is limited to a total of 20 to 25 students, distributed over an equal number of places for German and Chinese students. This means that the Universities of Nanjing and Beijing each accept five to seven students; commensurate with the number of Chinese accepted, Göttingen University would then admit 10 to 15 students.

The study curriculum envisions that Chinese and German students learn as much in tandem as possible and mutually complete their degree programme. The plan is that Chinese students spend their first year of study together with German students at Göttingen University. All students will then spend their second year in China where the German students will be distributed among the University of Nanjing and the Beijing Foreign Studies University. The German students write their Master?s thesis in the 4th semester and will be supervised by Chinese and German teachers collaboratively. The Chinese students will complete their Master?s thesis in their 5th semester and will likewise be supervised by Chinese and German teachers collaboratively.

The degree programme is modularised. It contains modules taken by German and Chinese students together, alongside modules that satisfy the specific formal specialisation requirements and educational objectives of each individual university. Most courses are taught in German. Throughout of their entire degree programme, German students complete Chinese modules that combine language and cultural education. The interactive language exchange counts as a mandatory basis for the year abroad given that the degree programme requires all German students to do a work placement in China and, analogously, all Chinese students to do a work placement in Germany.

Educational objectives of the degree programme
The main objective of this educational training is to teach specialised knowledge and competencies that are interculturally sound and have an interdisciplinary alignment. This degree programme qualifies graduates to be cultural liaisons on the rapidly growing German-Chinese job market. Potentially professional fields for graduates include cultural, academic and educational institutions with a global scope alongside political institutions and businesses involved in German-Chinese joint ventures.

In publica commoda

Interkulturelle Germanistik Deutschland - China (M.A./Doppelabschluss)

Name des Studienfachs: Interkulturelle Germanistik Deutschland - China
Abschluss: M. A. (Doppelabschluss Universität Göttingen und Universität Nanjing bzw. Universität Göttingen und Beijing Foreign Studies University)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Interkulturelle Germanistik Deutschland - China mit Doppelabschluss
Zulassung: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Fakultät)
Zulassungsbedingungen:

  • BA-Abschluss oder Äquivalent
  • Motivationsschreiben
  • Auswahlgespräch


Sprachvoraussetzungen:

  • DSH/TestDaF (für nichtdeutsche Muttersprachler)
  • Englischkenntnisse (B2)
  • Chinesischkenntnisse (80 Unterrichtsstunden für nichtchinesische Muttersprachler)


Bewerbungsfrist: 15. Juli
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren



Der Studiengang
Das Konzept des Studiengangs verbindet eine fachwissenschaftliche germanistische Ausbildung mit einer berufsbezogenen Schwerpunktbildung und der Vermittlung von praxisrelevanten Schlüsselkompetenzen. Die sprach- und literaturwissenschaftlichen Seminare vermitteln interkulturelle und kulturwissenschaftliche Sichtweisen. So werden Studierende zu Sprach- und Kulturkennern ausgebildet.

Die beteiligten Universitäten setzen dabei eigene wissenschaftliche und berufsqualifizierende Schwerpunkte. Diese Schwerpunkte nehmen die speziellen Ausbildungsziele und -traditionen ihrer jeweiligen Deutsch-Abteilungen auf. Sie sind auf entsprechende Berufsfelder in Deutschland und China zugeschnitten. Für die Universität Nanjing sind dies die Gebiete von Bildung und Wissenstransfer; die Beijing Foreign Studies University setzt die Schwerpunkte Kulturen „übersetzen“ sowie Recht und Wirtschaft und die Universität Göttingen fokussiert Kulturtransfer.

Struktur des Studiengangs
Die Struktur des Studiengangs integriert gleichberechtigt die Strukturvorgaben des deutschen und des chinesischen Hochschulsystems. Das bedeutet, dass für die chinesischen Studierenden ein 5-semestriges Studium mit einem Umfang von 120 Credits (Anrechnungspunkte) und für die deutschen Studierenden eine Dauer von 4 Semestern, in denen ebenfalls 120 Credits erworben werden müssen, vorgesehen sind. Die Zahl der Studierenden ist auf eine Gesamtzahl von 20 bis 25 Studierende beschränkt, wobei eine gleiche Anzahl von Zulassungen für deutsche und chinesische Studierende vorgesehen ist. Für die Universitäten Nanjing und Beijing bedeutet dies eine Aufnahme von jeweils fünf bis sieben Studierenden, in Göttingen würden – in Abstimmung mit der chinesischen Bewerberzahl – zehn bis fünfzehn Studierende zugelassen.

Für den Ablauf des Studiums ist vorgesehen, dass die chinesischen und deutschen Studierenden möglichst im Tandem lernen und so weit wie möglich ihr Studium gemeinsam absolvieren. Vorgesehen ist, dass die chinesischen Studierenden das erste Studienjahr zusammen mit den deutschen Studierenden an der Universität Göttingen verbringen. Das zweite Studienjahr werden alle Studierenden in China verbringen, wobei sich die deutschen Studierenden auf die Universität Nanjing und die Beijing Foreign Studies University verteilen. Die deutschen Studierenden schreiben ihre Masterarbeit im 4. Semester und werden dabei von chinesischen und deutschen Lehrenden in Kooperation betreut. Die chinesischen Studierenden fertigen ihre Masterarbeit im 5. Semester an und werden ebenfalls von chinesischen und deutschen Lehrenden in Kooperation betreut.

Der Studiengang ist modular aufgebaut. Er enthält Module, die von den deutschen und den chinesischen Studierenden gemeinsam absolviert werden, sowie Module, die den spezifischen Studienschwerpunkten und Ausbildungszielen der einzelnen Universitäten entsprechen. Die Unterrichtssprache ist überwiegend Deutsch. Die deutschen Studierenden absolvieren im Rahmen ihres Studienprogramms während der gesamten Studiendauer Chinesisch-Module, die Spracherwerb und Kulturvermittlung verbinden. Die wechselseitige Sprachkenntnis wird als unabdingbare Grundlage für das jeweilige Auslandsstudienjahr angesehen, zumal für alle Studierenden im Rahmen des Studienprogramms ein Praktikum in China (für deutsche Studierende) bzw. in Deutschland (für chinesische Studierende) verpflichtend ist.

Ausbildungsziele des Studiengangs
Im Zentrum der Ausbildung steht die interkulturell fundierte und interdisziplinär ausgerichtete Vermittlung von fachwissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen und Kompetenzen. Die Absolventen sind qualifizierte Kulturmittler für den immer stärker wachsenden deutsch-chinesischen Arbeitsmarkt. Künftige Betätigungsfelder der Absolventen sind international agierende Kultur-, Wissenschafts- und Bildungsinstitutionen beziehungsweise politische Einrichtungen und Wirtschaftsunternehmen im Rahmen der deutsch-chinesischen Zusammenarbeit.

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung
Philosophische Fakultät

Eva Wolff, Thale Hapke
Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel. +49-551 39 21888
Fax. +49-551 39 4010

E-Mail
Homepage


Spezifische Fachberatung
Barbara Dengel
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 6, 37073 Göttingen

Tel. +49-551 39 10218
Fax +49- 551 39 10219

barbara.dengel@phil.uni-goettingen.de