Graduation Ceremony of the Faculty of Economic Sciences, Spring 2011

The Faculty of Economic Sciences at the University of Göttingen bid farewell to Spring graduates on Friday 8, April 2011: 212 students received their degrees and eight doctorates received their doctoral diplomas. The Faculty's Dean of Studies, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Rübel, welcomed the participants to the festive event. Prof. Dr. Jörg-Markus Hitz, member of the Board of Examiners of the Economic Sciences then spoke as well as student representative Manuela Kloiber. Six graduates were awarded prizes for excellent academic performance.

49 students graduated from the “diploma” programme that is being phased out. 107 students received degrees in the Bachelor's programmes and 48 students successfully completed a Master's programme.

Get the flash player here:

Foto: Fotostudio Wilder (all photos you can download from the online-platform flickr)

Awards for outstanding graduates from the Faculty of Economic Sciences in the amount of 1,000 Euros each were also given. For the third time, the internationally active laboratory and process technology provider Sartorius donated the prize for graduates that is named after the founder of the company. The "Florenz Sartorius-Preis" is awarded to the best graduates in the discipline of Business Administration, Economics, Business Information Systems, and Business and Human Resource Education as well as two distinguished doctoral theses.

The recipients of the graduate prizes in April 2011 are Bernd Stegmann (Bachelor of Science in Business), Florian Steinmeyer (Master of Arts in International Economics), Florian Demitz (Master of Science in Business Information Systems) and Manuela Kloiber (Master of Science in Business and Human Resource Education). Dr. Reinald Koch and Dr. Michael Kühl were awarded for their doctoral theses.

The Festo Award for “Innovation in Information Processing”, which honours excellent theses in the discipline of Business Information Studies, was awarded for the fourth time. The prize distinguished the Diploma thesis written by Christian Tornack. The winner received 1.500 Euros. The award for students of the Faculty of Economic Sciences is offered by the Festo company.

Absolventenfeier April 2011 Preisträger groß
Foto: Fotostudio Wilder

(f.l.t.r.) Dr. Michael Kühl, Manuela Kloiber, Prof. Dr. Jörg-Markus Hitz, Prof. Dr. Gerhard Rübel, Dr. Reinald Koch, Christian Tornack, Florian Demitz, Bernd Stegmann, Petra Kirchhoff, Prof. Dr. Matthias Schumann