In publica commoda

Physics (M.Sc./Joint Degree)

Experience research-oriented learning!
Göttingen has an internationally renowned and long-standing faculty with the latest facilities and a competent study advisory service. The M.Sc. in Physics offers the possibility to specialise in one of four foci: Astrophysics and Geophysics, Biophysics and the Physics of Complex Systems, Solid State and Material Physics and finally Nuclear and Particle Physics. Students will be integrated into existing research groups at the latest at the beginning of the Master's thesis phase of the programme in the third semester. Here, they will experience everyday research up close.

Programme name: Physics (M.Sc.)
Degree: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Starting semester: Winter semester and summer semester
Admission: Limited admission (application to the faculty)
Admission requirements: Bachelor’s degree in physics
Language requirements: predominant English, English C1 or English B2 and German, DSH 2
Application Deadline:
Non-EU applicants:
15 April for the following winter semester, 15 October for the following summer semester;
EU applicants:
15 June for the following winter semester, 15 December for the following summer.
Application: Application procedure (application to the Faculty of Physics)

Language of the Programme: English

Programme description
The master’s programme aims to convey scientific competence, to enable graduates to solve problems with the methods of physics in the different areas of technology, business, finance and research. Successful graduates have many career opportunities, beginning with the application and development of physical methods in the area of high technology and medicine, to complex organisation and planning tasks, up to basic research at research institutes and universities.

The bachelor’s and master’s programmes have a completely modular structure. Each thematic area comprises several modules in which the students acquire specific knowledge and skills. These modules are divided into compulsory, optional compulsory and optional modules. All students must complete the compulsory modules, necessary for basic education and professionalization. Students can choose optional compulsory modules from a given set of modules; this is a first specialisation in current research areas. Optional modules further individually form the studies (profiling). (Credits C). Modules must be selected totalling the amount of credits required for the degree.

The standard period of study of the master’s programme is 4 semesters (2 years). The entire scope of the programme, including the master’s thesis, comprises 120 credits. Upon proof of having earned the required credits, the master’s programme is concluded with the conferral of the Master of Science, M.Sc.

In the master’s programme, a specialisation must be built up in an area of research (research specialisation). For this purpose, the students are introduced to the current status of the respective area in a phase of in-depth studies and research. This scientific-oriented study profile builds the basis for successful entry into several fields of work, all related to physics. It also creates the basis for doctoral studies in the selected area of research

Possible study profiles: Astro and geophysics, biophysics and physics of complex systems, solid state and material physics, nuclear and particle physics.