Archäologisches Institut

Cast Collection of Antique Sculptures

Göttingen University's Archaeological Institute has one of the oldest cast collections belonging to a university in the world. With more than 2,000 true-to-size reproductions of antique sculptures from over 150 museums, it is still today one of the largest collections of its kind. The exhibits mainly reflect Greek and Roman culture.

The collection's beginnings can be traced back to Christian Gottlob Heyne (1729 ? 1812). Starting in 1767, the lectures he regularly held on "Ancient Studies" established archaeology as an academic discipline. For visualisation purposes, he acquired plaster casts that were displayed in the university library.

Since 1912, the collection has been located in the departmental building in Nikolausberger Weg, in a wing that was built especially for this purpose. 1,000 sculptures are displayed in 11 halls arranged by era. Several hundred heads and busts are additionally stored in cellar rooms. The collection is continually expanding. One of its focuses is the history of antique portraits and Hellenistic sculpture.

The "Göttingen Virtual Museum of Ancient Art" comprises many casts in the form of a widely arranged web-based presentation. In addition to the collection of casts, the Institute of Archaeology also houses the extensive University Coin Cabinet and a versatile collection of original archaeological art work with marble and bronze sculptures, vases, terracotta pieces and glasses, as well as - on long-term loan from the House of Hanover - the sculptures of Count Wallmoden, one of the first private antique collections in Germany, created in 1765.

Contact:
Cast Collection of Antique Sculptures
Archaeological Institute
Nikolausberger Weg 15
37073 Göttingen, Germany
Dr. Daniel Graepler
Phone +49 (0) 551 / 39-7502
Fax +49 (0)551 / 39-22062
sekretariat.archinst@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Entrance fee: 2 euros for adults, 1 euro with discount

Archäologisches Institut
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Abgussammlung 2 Stock

Archäologisches Institut und
Sammlung der Gipsabgüsse

Nikolausberger Weg 15
D−37073 Göttingen

Tel.: 0551−397502
Fax.: 0551−3922062

E-Mail:sekretariat.archinst@phil.uni-goettin
gen.de








Termine



Aktuelles

Die Sammlung der Gipsabgüsse antiker Skulpturen


Das Archäologische Institut der Universität Göttingen verfügt über die älteste universitäre Abguss-Sammlung der Welt. Mit mehr als 2.000 maßgetreuen Reproduktionen antiker Skulpturen aus über 150 Museen zählt sie auch heute noch zu den größten Einrichtungen ihrer Art. Die Exponate entstammen vor allem dem griechischen und römischen Kulturkreis.

Die Anlage der Sammlung geht auf Christian Gottlob Heyne (1729 - 1812) zurück. Mit seiner seit 1767 regelmäßig gehaltenen Vorlesung über das »Studium der Antike« begründete er die Archäologie als akademische Disziplin. Zur Veranschaulichung seiner Vorlesung erwarb er Gipsabgüsse, die in der Universitätsbibliothek aufgestellt wurden.

Seit 1912 befindet sich die Sammlung in einem eigens für ihre Zwecke errichteten Flügel des Seminargebäudes am Nikolausberger Weg. In 11 Sälen sind dort, nach Epochen gegliedert, über 1.000 Skulpturen ausgestellt. In Kellerräumen sind zusätzlich mehrere hundert Köpfe und Büsten magaziniert. Die Sammlung wird weiter kontinuierlich ausgebaut. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Geschichte des antiken Porträts und auf der Skulptur des Hellenismus.

Das »Virtuelle Antikenmuseum Göttingen« erschließt sämtliche Abgüsse in Form einer breit angelegten Internetpräsentation. Neben der Sammlung der Gipsabgüsse beherbergt das Archäologische Institut auch das umfangreiche Universitäts- Münzkabinett und eine vielseitige Sammlung archäologischer Originalwerke mit Marmor- und Bronzeplastiken, Vasen, Terrakotten und Gläsern sowie - als langfristige Leihgabe des Hauses Hannover - die Skulpturen des Grafen Wallmoden, eine der ersten privaten Antikensammlungen in Deutschland, die ab 1765 angelegt worden ist.