In publica commoda

East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology (M.A.)

Programme: East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology (M.A.)
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology (78 C); Joint Honours MA in East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology (42 C); module packages: Modern China as MA minor subject (36 C); Chinese (36 C)
Admission requirements for Single and Joint Honours MA: Overview
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Language requirements: English and modern Mandarin Chinese
Note for international applicants: German language skills do not have to be demonstrated for the enrolment.
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)

Language of the programme: English

Description of the degree programme
The Masters degree programme "East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology", conceived for 4 semesters in Göttingen, offers students a wide range of specialisation themes about modern China, with "modern China" being defined as including the period from the 18th century to the present. The objective of this Masters degree programme is to combine language and cultural competence relating to China with methods and theories of cultural and social science, with the aim of critically questioning the latter, expanding them and putting them in their cultural context, in order to develop research skills and analytic competence for scientific and executive positions in politics, business and society. A methodical-disciplinary, comparative approach to Chinese studies and research is offered, which enables students to analyse the structures and processes of modern and contemporary China in a systematic, structured way and put them into relationship with comparable phenomena in other regions of the world. The students are to develop the ability to formulate research questions autonomously and answer them using Chinese-language texts as primary and secondary sources.

  • Intensive, advanced training in spoken and written modern Mandarin Chinese
  • Option of a semester abroad
  • Major areas of study are the history, philosophy, religion, politics, society, economy and law of modern China
  • Expansion of knowledge and analytic abilities in a discipline of humanities or social science
  • Application of specialised scientific theories and models to the analysis of modern and contemporary China
  • Preparation for professional careers in all areas requiring excellent linguistic and cultural skills with regard to modern China, to qualify students for intercultural communication as analysts, consultants and mediators

Department content profile:
Professors and scientific staff specializing in

  • History and Philosophy of modern China
  • Society and Economics of modern China
  • Global History, focus on China
  • Didactics of Chinese as a foreign language

In addition, the module package "Modern China" is available, which can be taken as part of other Masters degree programmes and serve to further develop the qualifications acquired in the partial BA degree programme "Modern China".

Language skills during the academic programme:
German language skills (if not already present) be acquired in the electives during the academic programme.

In publica commoda

East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology (Ostasienwissenschaft/Moderne Sinologie) (M.A.)

Name des Studienfachs: East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology (Ostasienwissenschaft/Moderne Sinologie) (M.A.)
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Ostasienwissenschaft/Moderne Sinologie (78 C); Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Ostasienwissenschaft/Moderne Sinologie (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpaket: Modernes China (36 C); Chinesisch (36 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen für Masterstudiengang: Übersicht
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Sprachvoraussetzungen: Englisch und modernes Hochchinesisch
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Der Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen ist für die Zulassung nicht erforderlich.
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)

Sprache des Studienangebots: Englisch

Darstellung des Studiengangs
Der in Göttingen auf 4 Semester angelegte Master-Studiengang "East Asian Studies/Modern Sinology" bietet den Studierenden eine breite Palette an thematischen Spezialisierungen zum modernen China, wobei unter "modernem China" die Zeit ab dem 18. Jahrhundert verstanden wird. Der Master-Studiengang richtet sich auf die Kombination von auf China bezogener Sprach- und Kulturkompetenz mit kultur- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Methoden und Theorien mit dem Ziel, letztere kritisch zu hinterfragen, sie kulturell zu kontextualisieren und zu vertiefen, und so für wissenschaftliche wie leitende Funktionen in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft Forschungs- und Analysekompetenz aufzubauen. Angeboten wird ein methodisch-disziplinärer und komparativer Ansatz der Chinaforschung, der die Studierenden dazu befähigt, die Strukturen und Prozesse des modernen und gegenwärtigen China systematisch und strukturiert zu analysieren und mit vergleichbaren Phänomenen in anderen Regionen der Welt in Beziehung zu setzen. Die Studierenden sollen in die Lage versetzt werden, Forschungsfragen selbstgeleitet zu formulieren und diese unter Heranziehung chinesischsprachiger Primär- und Sekundärquellen zu beantworten.

  • Intensive Ausbildung für Fortgeschrittene in Sprache und Schrift des modernen Hochchinesisch
  • Möglichkeit eines Auslandssemesters
  • inhaltliche Schwerpunkte sind Geschichte, Philosophie, Religion, Politik, Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Recht des modernen China
  • Vertiefung von Kenntnissen und Analysefähigkeiten in einer geistes- oder sozialwissenschaftlichen Fachdisziplin
  • Anwendung von Theorien und Modellbildungen der Fachwissenschaften auf die Analyse des modernen und gegenwärtigen China
  • Vorbereitung für berufliche Tätigkeiten in allen Bereichen, die sehr gute Sprach- und Kulturkenntnisse im Bereich des modernen China voraussetzen und daher zur interkulturellen Kommunikation als Analysten, Berater und Mediatoren befähigen


Inhaltliches Profil des Seminars:
Professuren und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter mit den Schwerpunkten

  • Geschichte und Philosophie Chinas
  • Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft Chinas
  • Globalgeschichte, Schwerpunkt China
  • Didaktik des Chinesischen als Fremdsprache


Zudem wird das Modulpaket "Modernes China" angeboten, das im Rahmen anderer Master-Studiengänge belegt werden kann und der Vertiefung der im BA-Teilstudiengang "Modernes China" erworbenen Qualifikationen dient.

Sprachkenntnisse während des Studiums:
Deutsche Sprachkenntnisse (soweit noch nicht vorhanden) werden während des Studium im Wahlbereich erworben.