Institute for Astrophysics
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
History of the Universitäts-Sternwarte Göttingen

Alte Sternwarte
1773 Engraving of the observatory of J.P. Kaltenhofen

The first Observatory in Göttingen was installed in one of the southern city towers in 1750. In 1751, Tobias Mayer (1723-1762) was hired as the first notable astronomer in Göttingen. Mayer's Catalogue of stellar positions with the Bird Quadrant established new standards in precision and scope. His observations and maps of the moon were the best of his time. This etching dates from 1773. Another view of the old Observatory around 1800 is also available.

Alte Sternwarte
1816 Reproduction of a colored ink drawing by F. Besemann showing the new Observatory building including the adjacent living quarters (unsigned).

The construction of the present observatory building just outside of the city walls started in 1803 under master builder Georg-Heinrich Borheck. The initial funds were provided by King George III of England, but the Napoleanic Wars interrupted the project, and it was finally finished in 1816 under master Justus-Heirich Müller.

In 1807, Carl Friedrich Gauß (1777-1855) was made the first director of the Observatory. At that time, he had already become world-famous for his mathematical and orbital mechanics work. During his tenure as director, he continued to make major advances not only in mathematics and orbital mechanics, but also in observational astronomy, statistics, physics, geodesy, and geophysics. Gauß and Wilhelm Weber (1804-1891) constructed the world's first electrical Telegraph and connected it between the Observatory and a physics building downtown. Gauß continued to teach and do research in the observatory until his death in 1855. Views of the new observatory, showing its classical architectural beauty, are available from 1816, 1826, 1838, and 1840.

After Gauß, Ernst F. Wilhelm Klinkerfues (1827-1884) and Wilhelm Schur (1846-1901) continued the work on positional astronomy. Klinkerfues also studied meteorology: his local weather predictions must have been somewhat inadequate, however, since the locals gave him the nickname "Flunkerkies" (the first half of which means "fibber"). This is the earliest known photograph of the observatory, dating from 1865. Two decades later, the purely architectural central dome was replaced with an astronomical dome housing a 6-inch refractor.

In 1901, the most famous astronomer after Gauß became director of the observatory: Karl Schwarzschild (1873-1916). He is considered to be one of the founding fathers of modern astrophysics, and made major contributions in the fields of instrumentation, optics, relativity, and stellar atmospheres. Schwarzschild left the observatory in 1909 to take a position as director of the Potsdam Observatory.

Between the wars, Johannes Hartmann (1865-1936), Hans Kienle (1895-1975), and Paul ten Bruggencate (1901-1961) firmly established a modern astrophysical tradition in Göttingen. Kienle had the 18-inch astrograph built on the local Hainberg and added to it one of the first commercial Schmidt cameras built by Zeiss. Ten Bruggencate succeeded to build a solar observatory on the Hainberg in 1941 in order to study solar activity.

After WW II, Hans Heinrich Voigt, Rudolf Kippenhahn, and Egon-Horst Schröter led Göttingen and the Observatory to play a major role in revitalizing modern german astronomy and astrophysics. In 1960, the worldwide first Gregory-Coudé solar telescope was installed at the solar observatory near Locarno (South Swizzerland). In 1985, that telescope was transferred to the Observatorio del Teide on the island of Tenerife/Spain after major improvements at the observatory's workshop. More recently, Göttingen has assumed a major role in modern instrumentation.

In June 2005 the research institute has moved into the new building of the faculty for physics and has been renamed into Institute for Astrophysics.

Sternwarte Goettingen

1994 Foto der Sternwarte von Rolf Spindler

Institut für Astrophysik

Geschichte der Universitäts-Sternwarte Göttingen

Alte Sternwarte
1773 Stich der Sternwarte von J.P. Kaltenhofen

Die erste Sternwarte in Göttingen wurde 1750 in einem der südlichen Türme der Stadtmauer untergebracht. 1751 kam Tobias Mayer (1723-1762) als erster großer Astronom nach Göttingen. Sein Katalog von Sternpositionen - gewonnen mit dem Bird Quadrant - setzte neue Standards an Präzision und Vollständigkeit. Seine Beobachtungen und seine Mondkarten waren die besten dieser Zeit. Der abgebildete Stich stammt von 1773; ein anderes Bild des alten Observatoriums stammt von 1800.

Alte Sternwarte
1816 Reproduktion einer farbigen Tuschezeichnung von F. Besemann mit dem Gebäude der neuen Sternwarte einschließlich angrenzender Wohnquartiere (unsigniert).

Der Bau des jetzigen Sternwartengebäudes außerhalb der Stadtmauer wurde 1803 begonnen unter dem Baumeister Georg-Heinrich Borheck. Die erste Finanzierung stammt von König Georg III von England. Aber der Krieg mit Napoleon stoppte das Projekt, und es wurde erst 1816 fertiggestellt unter dem Baurat Justus-Heinrich Müller.

Carl Friedrich Gauß (1777-1855) wurde erster Direktor dieser neuen Sternwarte. Er war schon berühmt geworden mit seinen mathematischen und bahnmechanischen Arbeiten. Während seiner Zeit in Göttingen machte er weitere wichtige Entdeckungen, nicht nur in der Mathematik, sondern auch bei astronomischen Beobachtungsmethoden, Statistik, Physik, Geodäsie und Geophysik. 1833 stellten Gauß und Wilhelm Weber (1804-1891) die erste elektrische Telegraphen-Verbindung der Welt her: sie verband die Sternwarte mit einem Physikgebäude in der Innenstadt. Gauß lehrte, forschte und wohnte in der Sternwarte, bis zu seinem Tod 1855. Bilder der Sternwarte von 1816, 1826, 1838 und 1840 stellen die schöne, klassizistische Architektur dar.

Nach Gauß setzten Ernst Wilhelm Klinkerfues (1827-1884) und Wilhelm Schur (1846-1901) die Arbeit über Positionsastronomie fort. Klinkerfues arbeitete auch über Meteorologie: seine örtlichen Wettervorhersagen müssen mitunter nicht ganz zutreffend gewesen sein, da die Göttinger ihm den Spitznamen "Flunkerkies" gaben. Hier ist das erste bekannte Foto der Sternwarte dargestellt, aufgenommen im Jahre 1865. Zwanzig Jahre später wurde die zunächst nur aus architektonischen Gründen eingebaute Kuppel durch eine Beobachtungskuppel ersetzt, die einen 15-cm-Refraktor beherbergte.

1901 kam Karl Schwarzschild (1873-1916) nach Göttingen. Er wird als einer der Begründer der modernen Astrophysik angesehen und leistete große Beiträge in den Bereichen Instrumentierung, Optik, Relativistik und Sternatmosphären. Schwarzschild verließ die Sternwarte 1909, um die Direktorenstelle der Sternwarte Potsdam zu übernehmen.

Zwischen den Weltkriegen etablierten Johannes Hartmann (1865-1936), Hans Kienle (1895-1975) und Paul ten Bruggencate (1901-1961) die moderne Astrophysik in Göttingen. Kienle ließ den 45-cm-Astrographen auf dem Hainberg bauen und fügte später eine der ersten kommerziell gefertigten Schmidt-Kameras der Firma Zeiss-Jena hinzu. Paul ten Bruggencate gelang es mitten im Krieg 1941, ein Sonnenobservatorium auf dem Hainberg zu errichten, um die Sonnenaktivität zu untersuchen.

Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg machten Hans Heinrich Voigt, Rudolf Kippenhahn und Egon-Horst Schröter Göttingen zu einem bedeutenden Zentrum und förderten so den Wiederaufbau der deutschen Astronomie und Astrophysik. 1960 wurde das weltweit erste Gregory-Coudé Sonnen-Teleskop am Göttinger Sonnenobservatorium im Tessin errichtet. Dieses wurde 1985 an das Observatorio del Teide auf Teneriffa verlegt nach größeren Umbauten in der Sternwarten-Werkstatt. In letzter Zeit kommt der Sternwarte große Bedeutung bei moderner Instrumentierung zu.

Im Juni 2005 ist die wissenschaftliche Einrichtung in den Neubau der Fakultät für Physik umgezogen und wurde in Institut für Astrophysik umbenannt.