In publica commoda

Latin (B.A.) (2-subject-scheme, course profile: teaching qualification)

Bringing ancient languages to life: Study Latin at Göttingen in one of only three departments in Germany with a special chair of teacher training. You will gain well-founded language training and the necessary philological know-how to make Latin texts accessible to you: Who created the text? Who read it? Who heard it? Who saw it? What message does the text convey? What does it reveal about the world (view) of the Romans? The programme is expanded by numerous possibilities for field trips and a close connection to neighbouring studies such as History, Greek and Archaeology.


Program: Latin (B.A.) (2-subject-scheme, course profile: teaching qualification)
Final Award: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Course Length: 6 terms
Enrolment: winter term only
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: limited admission (application to the University)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): limited admission (application to International Student Services)



Subject Details
Students are to develop an appropriate level of proficiency and accuracy in the usage of Latin grammar and language, enabling them to translate a) Latin poetry and prose of medium difficulty into German and b) German prose of low or medium difficulty into Latin, both without recourse to auxiliary references. They will further obtain a survey of the genres and history of Latin literature from its beginnings in the archaic to the imperial period, including an introduction to the most important meters of Latin verse. Students will also acquire knowledge and mastery of the basic hermeneutic tools of Classical Philology in order to develop the ability to read with discrimination, interpret and evaluate the Latin originals. The program further provides its students with insights into the most relevant auxiliary and neighboring disciplines of Latin studies, especially into ancient Greek literature.


Latin in Goettingen, Research focus
In addition to Greek and Latin literature of the classical period the Classical Department of Goettingen has further specialized in literature of the imperial period and late antiquity as well as in subject-related didactics.


Degree Scheme
The structure of the degree programme matches the guidelines in the regulations for 2-subject-scheme degree programmes; it comprises 9 compulsory modules and an elective module:

  • 1: Introduction to Latin Literature and Philology - Basic Module
  • 2-1: Latin Language I - Basic Module
  • 2-2: Latin Language II - Basic Module
  • 3: Latin Literature I: Poetry - Basic Module
  • 4: Latin Literature II: Prose - Basic Module
  • 5: Greek Literature for Students of Latin - Basic Module
  • 7: Latin Literature III
  • 8: Latin Language - Intermediate Module
  • 9: Didactic Competence
  • Elective Module: Classics (Ancient history, Archaeology, Linguistics, or Latin Literature of the Middle Ages)



Language Requirements (to be met early into program)
Graecum and Latinum. If you only have an intermediate Latin certificate, you will have to obtain the Latinum in the first subject semester. Additionally, contacting the academic advisor prior to your studies is highly recommended. If you don't have the Graecum, you will have to obtain it up to attaining the module 5 (Greek Literature for Latinists).

Combination of Subjects
Latin can be combined with all other teacher training courses partaking in the 2-subject B.A. program.

In publica commoda

Latein (B.A.) (2-Fächer/Profil Lehramt)

Alte Sprachen lebendig: Studieren Sie Latein in Göttingen, an einem von nur drei Seminaren in Deutschland mit einer speziellen Professur für Lehramtsausbildung! Sie erlangen eine fundierte Sprachausbildung und das nötige philologische Know-How, um sich lateinische Texte selbst zu erschließen: Wer hat den Text verfasst, wer ihn gelesen gehört, gesehen? Welche Botschaft sendet der Text? Was verrät er uns über die Welt(sicht) der Römer? Ergänzt wird das Studium durch ein vielfältiges Exkursionsangebot und eine enge Anbindung an Nachbarwissenschaften wie Geschichte, Griechisch und Archäologie.


Name des Studienfachs: Latein (B.A.) (2-Fächer, Profil Lehramt)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: nur Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn: Nachweis des Kleinen Latinums

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2017/18:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienfachs
Die Absolventen erwerben eine gute passive und gewisse aktive Sprachkompetenz, die sie befähigt, leichte bis mittelschwere Originaltexte der lateinischen Prosa und Dichtung auch ohne Hilfsmittel angemessen ins Deutsche zu übersetzen. Sie erhalten ferner einen Überblick über die Geschichte und Gattungen der lateinischen Literatur von ihren Anfängen in der Archaik bis in die Kaiserzeit, der auch die Kenntnis der wichtigsten Versmaße der jeweiligen poetischen Gattungen einschließt. Auf methodischer Ebene erwerben die Absolventen die Kenntnis des maßgeblichen hermeneutischen Instrumentariums der Klassischen Philologie zur angemessenen Interpretation lateinischer Originaltexte. Der BA-Abschluss in lateinischer Philologie vermittelt schließlich einen Einblick in die wichtigsten Nachbardisziplinen der Latinistik, besonders der Gräzistik.

Das Fach in Göttingen, Fachgebiete, Forschungsschwerpunkte: Das Göttinger Seminar für Klassische Philologie weist neben der klassischen griechischen und lateinischen Literatur einen besonderen Forschungsschwerpunkt im Bereich der kaiserzeitlichen und spätantiken Literatur sowie der Fachdidaktik der alten Sprachen auf.

Aufbau des Studiums
Der Aufbau des Studiengangs entspricht grundsätzlich den Vorgaben der Prüfungsordnung für den 2-Fächer-Bachelorstudiengang; der Studiengang umfasst 9 Pflicht-Module sowie ein Wahlpflicht-Modul:

  • 1: Basismodul "Grundlagen des Lateinstudiums"
  • 2-1: Basismodul "Lateinische Sprache I"
  • 2-2: Basismodul "Lateinische Sprache II"
  • 3: Basismodul "Lateinische Literatur I: Poesie"
  • 4: Basismodul "Lateinische Literatur II: Prosa"
  • 5: Basismodul "Griechische Literatur für Latinisten"
  • 7: Aufbaumodul "Lateinische Literatur: Vorklassik / Klassik oder Nachklassik"
  • 8: Aufbaumodul "Lateinische Sprache"
  • 9: "Vermittlungskompetenz"


  • Wahlpflichtmodul "Altertumskunde"

  • Sprachanforderungen, die während des Studiums zu erfüllen sind:
    Graecum und Latinum. Liegt nur das Kleine Latinum vor, muss im Verlauf des ersten Fachsemesters das Latinum erlangt werden. Zudem ist vor Aufnahme des Studiums eine Beratung durch die Fachstudienberatung des Faches dringend empfohlen. Liegt bei Studienbeginn das Graecum nicht vor, muss es im Verlauf des Studiums, spätestens aber bis zur Belegung des Moduls 5 "Griechische Literatur für Latinisten" nachgeholt werden.

    Fächerkombinationen
    Latein kann mit allen anderen Lehramtsfächern im 2-Fächer-Bachelor kombiniert werden

    Kontakt

    Studien- und Prüfungsberatung
    Philosophische Fakultät

    Eva Wolff, Thale Hapke
    Humboldtallee 17
    37073 Göttingen

    Tel.: +49-551 39 10664
    Fax: +49-551 39 4010

    E-Mail

    Homepage


    Spezifische Fachberatung
    Nils Jäger
    Humboldtallee 19
    37073 Göttingen

    Tel. +49 551 39 4744
    Fax. +49 551 39 4682

    nils.jaeger@phil.uni-goettingen.deHomepage


    Professionalisierungsbereich und Lehrerberuf
    Zentrale Einrichtung für Lehrerbildung
    Waldweg 26
    37073 Göttingen

    Homepage