In publica commoda

Greek (B.A.) (2-subject-scheme, course profile: teaching qualification)

On the trail of Homer: Discover the beginnings of European literature and intellectual history! In the B.A. degree programme in Greek, you will gain well-founded language training (a qualification in Greek can be acquired during the programme) and the necessary philological know-how to make Greek texts accessible to you: Who created the text? Who read it? Who heard it? Who saw it? What message does the text convey? What does it reveal about the world (view) of the Greeks? The programme is expanded by numerous possibilities for field trips and a close connection to neighbouring studies such as History and Archaeology.


Program: Greek (B.A.) (2-subject-scheme, course profile: teaching qualification)
Final Award: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Course Length: 6 semesters
Enrolment: winter semester only
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)



Subject Details
Students are to develop an appropriate level of proficiency and accuracy in the usage of Greek grammar and language, enabling them to translate a) Greek poetry and prose of medium difficulty into German and b) German prose of low or medium difficulty into Greek, both without recourse to auxiliary references. They will further obtain a survey of the genres and history of Greek literature from its beginnings in the archaic to the imperial period, including an introduction to the most important meters of Greek verse. Students will also acquire knowledge and mastery of the basic hermeneutic tools of Classical Philology in order to develop the ability to read with discrimination, interpret and evaluate the Greek originals. The program further provides its students with insights into the most relevant auxiliary and neighboring disciplines of Greek studies, especially into Latin literature.


Greek in Goettingen, Research focus
In addition to Greek and Latin literature of the classical period the Classical Department of Goettingen has further specialized in literature of the imperial period and late antiquity as well as in subject-related didactics.


Degree Scheme
The structure of the degree programme matches the guidelines in the regulations for 2-subject-scheme degree programmes; it comprises 9 compulsory modules and an elective module:

  • 1: Introduction to Ancient Greek Literature and Philology - Basic Module
  • 2-1: Ancient Greek Language I - Basic Module
  • 2-2: Ancient Greek Language II - Basic Module
  • 3: Ancient Greek Literature I: Poetry - Basic Module
  • 4: Ancient Greek Literature II: Prose - Basic Module
  • 5: Latin Literature for Students of Ancient Greek - Basic Module
  • 7: Ancient Greek Literature III
  • 8: Ancient Greek Language - Intermediate Module
  • 9: Didactic Competence
  • Elective Module: Classics (Ancient history, Archaeology, Linguistics, or Latin Literature of the Middle Ages)


Language Requirements
Graecum and Latinum. If you only have an intermediate Latin certificate, you will have to obtain the Latinum in the first subject semester. Additionally, contacting the academic advisor prior to your studies is highly recommended. If you don't have the Graecum, you will have to obtain it as soon as possible, at least up to attaining the modules 2-1, 2-2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9.


Combination of Subjects
Subject combinations teacher training (pdf)

In publica commoda

Griechisch (B.A.) (2-Fächer/Profil Lehramt)

Auf den Spuren Homers: Entdecken Sie die Anfänge der europäischen Literatur und Geistesgeschichte! Im B.A.-Studiengang Griechisch erlangen Sie eine fundierte Sprachausbildung (das Graecum kann im Studium erworben werden) und das nötige philologische Know-How, um sich griechische Texte selbst zu erschließen: Wer hat den Text verfasst, wer ihn gelesen, gehört oder gesehen? Welche Botschaft sendet der Text? Was verrät er über die Welt(sicht) der Griechen? Ergänzt wird das Studium durch ein vielfältiges Exkursionsangebot und eine enge Anbindung an Nachbarwissenschaften wie Geschichte und Archäologie.


Name des Studienfachs: Griechisch (B.A.) (2-Fächer, Profil Lehramt)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: nur Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn: Nachweis des Kleinen Latinums

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2017/18:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Der Studiengang
Die Absolventen erwerben eine gute passive und gewisse aktive Sprachkompetenz, die sie befähigt, leichte bis mittelschwere Originaltexte der griechischen Prosa und Dichtung auch ohne Hilfsmittel angemessen ins Deutsche zu übersetzen. Sie erhalten ferner einen Überblick über die Geschichte und Gattungen der griechischen Literatur von ihren Anfängen in der Archaik bis in die Kaiserzeit, der auch die Kenntnis der wichtigsten Versmaße der jeweiligen poetischen Gattungen einschließt. Auf methodischer Ebene erwerben die Absolventen die Kenntnis des maßgeblichen hermeneutischen Instrumentariums der Klassischen Philologie zur angemessenen Interpretation griechischer Originaltexte. Der BA-Abschluss in Griechischer Philologie vermittelt schließlich einen Einblick in die wichtigsten Nachbardisziplinen der Gräzistik, besonders der Latinistik.

Göttinger Fachgebiete und Forschungsschwerpunkte: Das Göttinger Seminar für Klassische Philologie weist neben der klassischen griechischen und lateinischen Literatur einen besonderen Forschungsschwerpunkt im Bereich der kaiserzeitlichen und spätantiken Literatur sowie der Fachdidaktik der alten Sprachen auf.

Aufbau des Studiums
Der Aufbau des Studiengangs entspricht grundsätzlich den Vorgaben der Prüfungsordnung für den 2-Fächer-Bachelorstudiengang; der Studiengang umfasst 9 Pflicht-Module sowie ein Wahlpflicht-Modul:

  • 1: Basismodul "Grundlagen des Griechischstudiums"
  • 2-1: Basismodul "Griechische Sprache I"
  • 2-2: Basismodul "Griechische Sprache II"
  • 3: Basismodul "Griechische Literatur I: Poesie"
  • 4: Basismodul "Griechische Literatur II: Prosa"
  • 5: Basismodul "Lateinische Literatur für Gräzisten"
  • 7: Aufbaumodul "Griechische Literatur III: Archaik / Klassik oder Hellenismus / Kaiserzeit
  • 8: Aufbaumodul "Griechische Sprache"
  • 9: "Vermittlungskompetenz"
  • Wahlpflichtmodul "Altertumskunde"


Sprachanforderungen, die während des Studiums zu erfüllen sind
Graecum und Latinum. Liegt nur das Kleine Latinum vor, muss im Verlauf des ersten Fachsemesters das Latinum erlangt werden. Zudem ist vor Aufnahme des Studiums eine Beratung durch die Fachstudienberatung des Faches dringend empfohlen. Liegt bei Studienbeginn das Graecum nicht vor, sollte es möglichst im ersten Fachsemester, spätestens aber vor dem Besuch der Module 2-1, 2-2, 3, 4, 7, 8 und 9 nachgeholt werden.

Kombinationen sind im Profil Lehramt mit folgenden Fächern möglich:
Fächerkombinationen Lehramt (pdf)

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung
Philosophische Fakultät

Eva Wolff, Thale Hapke
Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49-551 39 10664
Fax: +49-551 39 4010

E-Mail
Homepage


Spezifische Fachberatung
Nils Jäger
Humboldtallee 19
37073 Göttingen

Tel. +49 551 39 4744
Fax. +49 551 39 4682

nils.jaeger@phil.uni-goettingen.deHomepage


Professionalisierungsbereich und Lehrerberuf
Zentrale Einrichtung für Lehrerbildung
Waldweg 26
37073 Göttingen

Homepage