In publica commoda

Medieval and Renaissance Studies (M.A.)

Programme name: Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Only each winter semester
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in Medieval and Renaissance Studies (78 C)
Admission requirements: Overview
Language requirements: Kleines Latinum (verification required by the end of the first year of study at the latest): Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)

Language of the programme: German

Programme description:
The programme with the degree "Master of Arts" (M.A.) in "Medieval and Renaissance Studies" gives students an interdisciplinary scientific orientation covering many epochs in the field of mediavistic research and research of the early modern period. The Master's programme builds upon the B.A. programmes "German Philology", "History", "Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and Modern Period", "English Philology", "Art History", "Romance Studies" and "Scandinavian Studies". Graduates of these seven programmes are to be further qualified interdisciplinarily; graduates may proceed with the doctoral programmes "Medieval and Renaissance Studies".

Interdisciplinary research in Göttingen:
The basis for the programme is formed by the interdisiciplinary "Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies" of the University of Göttingen, which embodies the cooperation of several disciplines that have an orientation in mediavistics and the early modern period. The broad representation of the historic-phiolological subjects and the Chair for Latin Phiolology of the Middle Ages and the Early Modern Period form the institutional anchor in Göttingen. The Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies constitute a focal point for the teaching and research activities of a large part of the humanities subjects in Göttingen. This is also observed by an interested public audience through the Centre's events (such as the open discussions in Göttingen on the Middle Ages and Early Modern Period).

Programme structure:
The interdisciplinary Master's programme "Medieval and Renaissance Studies" is comprised of seven subject areas: History (Medieval and Early Modern Period), German Philology (Germanistic Mediavistics), Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and Early Modern Period, English Philology (English Language and Literature of the Middle Ages), Art History (Middle Ages and Early Modern Period), Romance Studies (Middle Ages and Early Modern Period) as well as Scandinavian Studies (Mediavistics). Required for the selection of a specialisation is a Bachelor's degree in one of the subjects of the corresponding subject areas. The interdisciplinary specialisation "Ancient Cultures of Northern Europe" can be chosen as well.
120 credits must be acquired during the programme. 78 credits in the core stubject, 12 credits in key competencies and 30 credits with the Master's thesis; the programme is only offered as programmes with 78 credits, therefore all 78 credits must be earned through courses of the six cooperating subject areas participatin in the "Medieval and Renaissance Studies". The addition of module packets of additional subjects is not part of this programme, but a small scope (up to 6 credits) may be earned in neighbouring subjects.

Occupational fields:
Due the highly diversified education acquired in the programme, graduates are qualified for the most various non-university occupational branches (research institutions, academies, libraries, museums, archives, foundations, culture management). In addition, the programme prepares students for doctoral studies.

In publica commoda

Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien (M.A.)

Name des Studienangebots: Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: nur Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien (78 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen: Überblick
Sprachvoraussetzungen: Kleines Latinum (Nachweis spätestens bis Ende des ersten Studienjahres): Überblick
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)



Darstellung des Studienangebots:
Das Studium mit dem Abschluss "Master of Arts" (M.A.) im Studiengang "Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien" ermöglicht den Studierenden eine interdisziplinäre und epochenübergreifende wissenschaftliche Orientierung im Bereich der mediävistischen und frühneuzeitlichen Forschung. Der Master-Studiengang baut auf den B.A.- Studiengängen "Deutsche Philologie", "Geschichte", "Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit", "Englische Philologie", "Kunstgeschichte", "Romanische Philologie" und "Skandinavistik" auf. Die Absolventen dieser sieben Studiengänge sollen fachübergreifend weiterqualifiziert werden; an das Masterstudium kann sich die Promotion in einem der beteiligten Fächer oder in dem neuen Promotionsfach "Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien" anschließen.

Interdisziplinäre Forschung in Göttingen:
Die Basis für den von mehreren mediävistisch und frühneuzeitlich ausgerichteten Disziplinen in Kooperation angebotenen Studiengang bildet das interdisziplinäre "Zentrum für Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung" (ZMF) der Universität Göttingen. Für eine institutionelle Verankerung der Mittelalter- und Frühneuzeitforschung bietet Göttingen durch die breite Repräsentanz der historisch-philologischen Fächer und die Professur für Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit gute Voraussetzungen. Das ZMF stellt einen Kristallisationspunkt für die Lehr- und Forschungsaktivitäten eines Großteils der geisteswissenschaftlichen Fächer in Göttingen dar. Dies wird über die Veranstaltungen des ZMF (unter anderem die "Göttinger Streitgespräche zu Mittelalter und Früher Neuzeit") auch von einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit wahrgenommen.

Aufbau des Studiums:
Der interdisziplinäre Master-Studiengang "Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien" setzt sich aus sieben Fachgebieten zusammen: Geschichte (Mittelalter und Frühe Neuzeit), Deutsche Philologie (Germanistische Mediävistik), Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit, Englische Philologie (Englische Sprache und Literatur des Mittelalters), Kunstgeschichte (Mittelalter und Frühe Neuzeit), Romanische Philologie (Mittelalter und Frühe Neuzeit) und Skandinavistik (Mediävistik). Jeder der sieben Disziplinen entspricht ein gleichnamiger Studienschwerpunkt. Voraussetzung für die Wahl des Studienschwerpunktes ist ein Bachelor-Abschluss in einem dem jeweiligen Fachgebiet entsprechenden Fach. Zusätzlich wird der interdisziplinäre Studienschwerpunkt "Alte Kulturen des nördlichen Europa" angeboten.
Von den im Masterstudium zu erbringenden Prüfungsleistungen im Umfang von insgesamt 120 C entfallen 78 C auf das Fachstudium, 12 C auf den Bereich Schlüsselkompetenzen und 30 C auf die Masterarbeit; der Studiengang wird nur als 78-Credit-Fach angeboten. Alle 78 C müssen daher in Veranstaltungen der sechs am Studiengang "Mittelalter- und Renaissance-Studien" beteiligten Fachgebiete erbracht werden. Die Hinzunahme von Modulpaketen weiterer Fächer ist nicht vorgesehen; in geringerem Umfang (bis zu 6 C) können allerdings Prüfungsleistungen aus benachbarten Fächern eingebracht werden.

Berufsfelder:
Die Absolventen des Studiengangs sind aufgrund ihrer breit gefächerten Ausbildung für die unterschiedlichsten außeruniversitären Berufszweige (Forschungseinrichtungen, Akademien, Bibliotheken, Museen, Archive, Stiftungen, Kulturmanagement) qualifiziert. Darüber hinaus soll der Studiengang auf ein Promotionsstudium vorbereiten.