In publica commoda

History of Global Markets (M.A.)

Corporations - Globalization - Mass Consumption: How did modern economies and consumer societies emerge? Such questions are investigated at the Institute for Economic and Social History. This interdisciplinary programme, with a historical core, uses a wide variety of explanatory approaches from economics, history and the social sciences.


Subject: Economic and Social History
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Enrolment: summer and winter semester
Admission limited admission (applications to the faculty)
Admission Deadline April 1st to May 15th (for the winter semester) October 1st to November 15th (for the winter semester)
Application: application and admission procedures
Language of the programme: German or English (proficiency in both English and German is recommended)


Economic and social history studies the impact of past economic and social developments on our present and thereby offers fresh perspectives on current issues. The programme offers students the opportunity to study and analyze the major trends of economic and social developments in the 19th and 20th centuries. Aspects of economic, political and sociocultural change from mercantilism through industrialization to the constitution of our modern service and communication-oriented society are examined.

The degree programme seeks to teach a combination of historical and economic, theoretical and methodological skills and to enable students to carry out interdisciplinary work independently. At Göttingen University, there are three thematic areas of emphasis in teaching and research, business history, consumer history and the history of globalization, which also underscore the interdisciplinary and international orientation of the programme.


The objective of the master's degree programme is the systematic, in-depth study of the subject of economic and social history. The curriculum consists of a "convergence area" (18 credits), a "compulsory area" of economic and social history (30 credits), an "elective area" of economic and social history/ history of global markets (12 credits) and, finally, a "profile area" (30 credits). In addition, students have to write a master's thesis within a period of 20 weeks. The written master's thesis (30 credits) is prepared by participating in a project seminar (6 credits, part of the compulsory area).

In the convergence area, the students´ different backgrounds and qualifications will be taken into account: graduates of bachelor programmes in history will attend basic courses economics, while graduates with bachelor degrees in economics will attend courses with a historical emphasis.

Specialisation takes place within the "profile area" by developing theoretical and methodological profiles in conjunction with other disciplines that are closely related to economic and social history. Students with an "Economy & Institutions" profile will focus on (macro) economics modules. Students with a "Business & Management" profile will concentrate on business management modules and students with the "Society & Culture" profile will place their focus on historical and sociological modules. Students in the "Globalization" profile, finally, will work closely with area specialists for economic development in Asia and other regions outside Europe.


Proficiency in German or English is required. A good knowledge of both English and German is recommended.


A Master's degree in economics and social history (History of Global Markets) offers numerous career opportunities for graduates. These include, for example, subject-related activities in the (historical) communications of corporate entities and banks, in business journalism, in (historical) marketing and public relations, in economic research institutes and consulting firms, in museums and exhibitions, and in archiving (especially economic and corporate archiving).

In publica commoda

Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte (M.A.)

Unternehmen – Globalisierung – Massenkonsum: Wie sind die moderne Wirtschaft und die modernen Gesellschaften entstanden? Am Institut für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte werden diese Fragen erforscht. Das interdisziplinäre, im Kern historische Fach nutzt vielfältige Erklärungsansätze aus den Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften.


Name des Studienfachs: Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: jedes Winter- und Sommersemester
Zulassung: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Fakultät)
Bewerbungsfrist 1. April bis 15. Mai (Wintersemester)
1. Oktober bis 15. November (Sommersemester)
Bewerbung: Bewerbungs- und Zulassungsverfahren


Wirtschaft- und Sozialgeschichte fragt nach der Prägung unserer Gegenwart durch ökonomische und soziale Entwicklungen in der Vergangenheit und nimmt damit auch aktuelle Fragestellungen in den Blick. Der Studiengang bietet die Möglichkeit zur Auseinandersetzung mit den wichtigsten Trends der wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert. Analysiert werden Aspekte des ökonomischen, politischen und soziokulturellen Wandels vom Merkantilismus über die Industrialisierung bis hin zur Konstituierung unserer heutigen modernen Dienstleistungs- und Kommunikationsgesellschaft.

Dabei werden eine kombinierte geschichts- und wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Theorie- und Methodenkompetenz sowie die Fähigkeit zum selbständigen interdisziplinären Arbeiten vermittelt. Im Mittelpunkt von Lehre und Forschung stehen in Göttingen drei thematische Schwerpunkte: Unternehmensgeschichte, Konsumgeschichte und die Geschichte der Globalisierung, die zugleich die Interdisziplinarität und internationale Orientierung des Studiums unterstreichen.


Die Zielsetzung des Masterstudiums ist die wissenschaftliche Durchdringung des Fachgebiets Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte. Der Studiengang setzt sich zusammen aus einem Konvergenzbereich (18 Credits), einem Pflichtbereich Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte (30 Credits), einem Wahlpflichtbereich Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte (12 Credits) und einem Profilbereich (30 Credits). Darüber hinaus müssen die Studierenden innerhalb von 20 Wochen eine Masterarbeit schreiben. Die schriftliche Masterarbeit (30 Credits) wird durch die Teilnahme an dem Projektseminar (6 Credits, Teil des Pflichtbereichs) vorbereitet.

Im Konvergenzbereich werden die unterschiedlichen fachlichen Vorqualifikationen der Studierenden berücksichtigt und Lücken geschlossen: Absolventinnen und Absolventen historischer Bachelorstudiengänge besuchen ökonomische Grundlagenveranstaltungen. Absolventinnen und Absolventen ökonomischer Bachelorstudiengänge besuchen historische Grundlagenveranstaltungen.

Im Profilbereich erfolgt eine Spezialisierung durch den gezielten Aufbau von Kompetenzen in einer der theoretisch-methodisch mit der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte eng verbundenen Nachbardisziplinen. Studierende mit Profil „Historische Wirtschaftsforschung“ legen einen Schwerpunkt auf volkswirtschaftliche Module, Studierende mit Profil „Historische Unternehmensforschung“ auf betriebswirtschaftliche Module und Studierende mit Profil „Historische Gesellschaftswissenschaft“ auf geschichtswissenschaftliche und soziologische Module.


Deutschkenntnisse müssen nachgewiesen werden, gute Englischkenntnisse werden empfohlen.


Als Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Masterstudiengangs in Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte eröffnen sich Ihnen zahlreiche Berufsfelder. Dazu gehören fachbezogene Tätigkeiten zum Beispiel in der (Historischen) Kommunikation von Unternehmen und Banken, im Wirtschaftsjournalismus, im (Geschichts-)Marketing und in Public Relations, in Wirtschaftsforschungsinstituten und Unternehmensberatungen, im Museums- und Ausstellungswesen sowie im Archivbereich (insbesondere Wirtschafts- und Unternehmensarchive).