Seminar für Ägyptologie und Koptologie

Mentoring

The concepts of one-to-one mentoring and peer mentoring have been introduced into our seminar recently. This website provides further information on the mentoring programme.

If participating in the one-to-one mentoring programme, beginning students in the field of Egyptology and Coptic Studies will be invited to a counseling session with an assigned lecturer at the beginning and in the end of their first semester. This will establish a first personal connection that, if necessary, can be extended during the course of studies.

The below listed peer mentors are advanced students and doctoral candidates who were able to gather wide-ranging experience during their course of studies and are willing to share these with fellow students. Several topics can be addressed during a counseling session, e.g. academical writing, confident appearance and behaviour in seminars, presentations and exams, everyday life in university, studIP and Flex Now, switching study subjects, excavations, studying abroad, internships in museums and editorial department, career planning, scholarships and financing, doctorate.

To arrange an appointment, you can write an email to the mentors' shared email address (see contact form). If you want to talk to a particular mentor, please make sure to mention their name in the subject heading.

Seminar für Ägyptologie und Koptologie

Mentoring

Das Seminar hat für die Studierenden der Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge "Ägyptologie und Koptologie" One-to-one-Mentoring und Peer-Mentoring eingeführt. Nähere Informationen zum Mentoring-Programm der Philosophischen Fakultät finden Sie hier.

One-to-one-Mentoring wird an unserem Seminar so umgesetzt, dass die StudienanfängerInnen der Fächer Ägyptologie und Koptologie zu Beginn und Ende des ersten Semesters zu einem Gespräch mit einer/m ihnen zugeordneten Dozenten/in eingeladen werden. Auf diese Weise wird ein persönlicher Kontakt hergestellt, an den bei Bedarf angeknüpft werden kann.

Die unten aufgelisteten Peer-MentorInnen sind fortgeschrittene Studierende und Promovierende, die während ihres Studiums bereits weitreichende Erfahrungen gesammelt haben und diese gerne teilen. Die Themen, bei denen sie weiterhelfen können, sind u.a.: wissenschaftliches Arbeiten; sicheres Auftreten in Seminaren, Referate und Prüfungen; Universitätsalltag; Praxis des Bachelor-Master-Studiums (insbesondere StudIP und Flex Now); Quereinstieg und Wechsel; Grabungsmitarbeit; Auslandssemester; Praktika im Museum oder in einer Redaktion; Berufsplanung; Stipendien und Mitteleinwerbung; Promotion.

Für Terminvereinbarungen sind die MentorInnen über eine gemeinsame E-Mail erreichbar (siehe Kontaktformular, in die Betreffzeile ggf. den Namen der/s Wunschmentors/in eingeben).