Nano-Optics and Ultrafast Dynamics

We investigate ultrafast electronic and structural dynamics in solids, nanostructures and surfaces. In particular, the group develops and applies new experimental techniques based on imaging and diffraction with ultrashort electron pulses. We operate unique instruments combining high spatial and temporal resolution, such as an Ultrafast Transmission Electron Microscope (UTEM) and Ultrafast Low-Energy Electron Diffraction (ULEED) setups.
In further activities, we study highly nonlinear optical processes in metallic nanostructures and their control by intense optical fields. Moreover, we have recently established laboratory-scale magnetic imaging using extreme-ultraviolet radiation from high-harmonic generation.

Ultrafast Transmission Electron Microscopy

The Göttingen Ultrafast Transmission Electron Microscope (UTEM) is based on a laser-driven field emission photocathode generating electron pulses with femtosecond to attosecond durations. The high spatial coherence and ultrashort duration of the electron beam allows for investigations of structural, electronic and spin dynamics in solid-state systems.

Ultrafast Low-Energy Electron Diffraction

Ultrafast Low-Energy Electron Diffraction (ULEED) enables the study of structural dynamics with ultimate surface sensitivity. Our ULEED setup features a laser-triggered tip emitter in a nanofabricated electron gun environment, providing for high momentum resolution in diffraction.

High Harmonics Generation Spectroscopy

High Harmonic Generation (HHG) delivers extreme-ultraviolet femtosecond light pulses, which are suitable for time-resolved measurements in solids. Our polarization-controlled HHG sources are employed in the ultrafast imaging of magnetic structures and the spectroscopy of correlated materials.

Project funding and collaborations

ULEED: Observing structural dynamics at surfaces with Ultrafast Low-Energy Electron Diffraction

ERC Starting Grant within "Horizon 2020"
Project duration: 2015-2020

SFB 1073 "Atomic Scale Control of Energy Conversion"

SFB projects A05, C04
(First and second funding period: 2013-2021)

SFB 755 "Nanoscale Photonic Imaging"

SFB project C08
(Project duration: 2011-2019)

DFG Priority Programme 1840 "Quantum Dynamics in Tailored Intense Fields"

Project "Coherent interactions of strong optical near-fields with free and weakly bound electrons"
(First funding period: 2015-2018)

Nano-Optik und ultraschnelle Dynamik

Wir untersuchen die strukturelle und elektronische Dynamik in Festkörpern, Nanostrukturen und Oberflächen. Hierfür entwickeln wir neuartige experimentelle Werkzeuge auf der Basis kurzer, laserinduzierter Elektronenpulse. Wir betreiben anspruchsvolle Experimente, die hohe räumliche und zeitliche Auflösung verbinden, wie ein Ultraschnelles Transmissionselektronenmikroskop (UTEM) und Ultraschnelle Niederenergie-Elektronenbeugung (ULEED).
Weiterhin beschäftigen wir uns mit der Beobachtung und optischen Kontrolle stark nichtlinearer Prozesse in metallischen Nanostrukturen sowie der ultraschnellen magnetischen Abbildung mittels extrem ultravioletter Strahlung.

Ultraschnelle Transmissions­elektronen­mikroskopie

Das Göttinger Ultraschnelle Trans­missions­elektronen­mikroskop (UTEM) basiert auf einer lasergetriebenen Feldemitter-Photokathode, die Elektronenpulse einer Dauer von Femto- bis Attosekunden erzeugt. Das UTEM ermöglicht Untersuchungen der nanoskaligen strukturellen, elektronischen und magnetischen Dynamik in Festkörpern auf ultraschnellen Zeitskalen.

Ultraschnelle Niedrig­energie-Elektronen­beugung

Die Ultraschnelle Niederenergie-Elektronen­beugung (Ultrafast Low-Energy Electron Diffraction, ULEED) erlaubt die Beobachtung ultraschneller Strukturdynamik mit hoher Ober­flächen­empfindlichkeit. Die nano­strukturierte Elektronen­quelle unseres ULEED-Aufbaus ermöglicht eine besonders hohe Impulsauflösung des Beugungssignals.

Spektroskopie mit hoher harmonischer Strahlung

Die Erzeugung hoher Harmonischer (High Harmonic Generation, HHG) stellt extrem-ultraviolette Femtosekunden-Lichtimpulse für zeitaufgelöste Messungen in Festkörpern bereit. Unsere polarisationskontrollierten HHG-Quellen werden genutzt für die ultraschnelle Abbildung magnetischer Strukturen sowie die Spektroskopie korrelierter Materialien.

Projektförderung und Zusammenarbeit

ULEED: Observing structural dynamics at surfaces with Ultrafast Low-Energy Electron Diffraction

ERC Starting Grant within "Horizon 2020"
Projektdauer: 2015-2020

SFB 1073 "Atomic Scale Control of Energy Conversion"

SFB Projekte A05, C04
(Erste und zweite Förderperiode: 2013-2021)

SFB 755 "Nanoscale Photonic Imaging"

SFB Projekt C08
(Projektdauer: 2011-2019)

DFG Schwerpunktprogramm 1840 "Quantum Dynamics in Tailored Intense Fields"

Projekt "Coherent interactions of strong optical near-fields with free and weakly bound electrons"
(Erste Förderperiode: 2015-2018)