Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
Aula 7305

Abteilung Forschung
Bereich Strategische Maßnahmen
Von-Siebold-Str. 4
37075 Göttingen
Tel. 0551 39-10950

Free Floater Groups

Former Free Floater Groups

Free Floater

The University of Göttingen has established eight Free Floater junior research groups as a key measure of its Institutional Strategy funded in the first program phase of the German Excellence Initiative. The university has thereby broken new ground to recruit excellent junior researchers.

Proposals for the independent Free Floater junior research groups were made irrespective of their topics. Scientific excellence and the potential to make a significant contribution to the university’s research profile were given primary consideration in the multistage selection process, supervised by the Göttingen Research Council (GRC).

Junior research group leaders are offered junior professorships with tenure-track options. A reliable career path, support for dual career couples and measures designed to better reconcile work and family life added to the intense international appeal and competition over these positions. The university received around 500 applications during two rounds of the selection process. More than 40% originated from abroad. In the meantime, two former junior research group have been offered and accepted professorships at other universities.

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Aula 7305

Kontakt
Abteilung Forschung
Bereich Strategische Maßnahmen
Von-Siebold-Str. 4
37075 Göttingen
Tel. 0551 39-10950
zukunftskonzept@uni-goettingen.de





Free Floater Gruppen



Frühere Free Floater Gruppen

Free Floater - Nachwuchsgruppen


Die Universität Göttingen hat im Rahmen ihres Zukunftskonzepts acht so genannte Free Floater-Nachwuchsgruppen mit Fördermitteln aus der ersten Programmphase der Exzellenzinitiative eingerichtet. Sie hat damit einen neuen Weg zur Rekrutierung herausragender Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler eingeschlagen.

Die Free Floater-Positionen wurden thematisch offen ausgeschrieben. Ihre Besetzung erfolgte in einem mehrstufigen Auswahlprozess unter Federführung des Göttingen Research Council. Die wissenschaftliche Qualifikation und der erwartete individuelle Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung des Forschungsprofils der Universität standen dabei im Vordergrund.

Die Leiterinnen und Leiter der Nachwuchsgruppen werden auf Juniorprofessuren berufen und erhalten die Option auf eine unbefristete Professur (tenure track). Eine sichere Karriereperspektive, Maßnahmen zur verbesserten Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf sowie ein Dual Career-Angebot haben diese Professuren international attraktiv gemacht. Von den in zwei Auswahlrunden eingegangenen rund 500 Bewerbungen kamen mehr als 40 Prozent aus dem Ausland. Zwei der Nachwuchsgruppenleiterinnen sind inzwischen auf Professuren an anderen Universitäten berufen worden.