Althistorisches Seminar

Sammlung Stern - Altertumswissenschaftliches Filmarchiv


The Sammlung Stern originates in the work of archaeologist, film researcher and museum educationalist Tom Stern (1958-2016).

  • Collector’s biography

  • The Sammlung Stern comprises the probably largest private collection of educational and documentary films on prehistoric, archaeological and ancient historical topics. A smaller second part of the archive contains movies and series with a similar thematic focus, but also unpublished cuts, copies entered into (and recordings of) film festivals as well as accompanying material and projection equipment. The productions date from the 1920s up to the early 2010s, preserved on a combination of different data carriers from 16mm reels to DVDs. The collection - with approximately 800 films as its core - was transferred to the Göttingen Department of Ancient History in August 2017.

    Our medium-term aim is to digitalize all films of specific importance and/or affected by data degradation. As a long-term aim, we wish to preserve the full content of the Sammlung Stern in digital form and make it available for research via the Göttingen Library Catalogue. In the upcoming years, students will have the chance to witness at first hand the formation of the archive by participating in junior research groups. In addition, the Sammlung Stern will be developed into a space for education and learning to be used at all stages of our ancient history curriculum. In February 2018, we moved to our new rooms providing permanent storage for our collection; working space for individual researchers and small groups will be completed in the course of the following semester. Since January 2019, external researchers can also access the archive by individual arrangement. In addition, the Sammlung Stern participates in several outreach activities, such as the International Museum Day or the upcoming University Museum (see "News" column).

    Thanks to a generous donation by Dr. Kurt Denzer (Kiel), the Sammlung Stern is now the owner of library containing ca. 1.500 books and magazines on the history of film, film theory and national cinematic traditions. The library is open for all visitors of the film archive and can be consulted by individual arrangement. The Sammlung Stern welcomes additions of film stock, literature and equipment. If you are thinking about donating your collection, please contact the curator, Dr. Martin Lindner.

Sammlung Stern - Altertumswissenschaftliches Filmarchiv


Die Sammlung Stern geht zurück auf eine Stiftung aus dem Nachlass des Archäologen, Filmforschers und Museumspädagogen Tom Stern (1958-2016).

  • Zur Biographie des Sammlungsgebers

  • Bei den Beständen handelt es sich um die wohl umfangreichste Privatsammlung an Schul- und Dokumentarfilmen zu althistorischen und archäologischen Themen. Ein kleinerer zweiter Sammlungsteil besteht aus thematisch verwandten Spielfilmen und Serien. Hinzu kommen unpublizierte Schnittfassungen, Festivalbeiträge und -mitschnitte sowie begleitendes Material und Projektionstechnik. Die Filme stammen aus den 1920er bis in die frühen 2010er Jahre. Das Material liegt auf einer Vielzahl von Medien von der originalen Filmrolle bis zur DVD vor. Das Althistorische Seminar der Universität Göttingen hat die rund 800 Filme und anderen Bestände im August 2017 übernommen.

    Mittelfristiges Ziel ist eine Digitalisierung der besonders erhaltenswerten und/oder gefährdeten Exemplare. Langfristig sollen die kompletten Bestände derart gesichert und über den Göttinger Universitätskatalog als Medien sichtbar werden. In den kommenden Jahren ist dafür eine Erschließung unter anderem im Rahmen studentischer Projektgruppen-Arbeit vorgesehen. Daneben wird die Sammlung Stern als Lehr- und Lernarchiv für altertumswissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen ausgebaut. Unsere Räumlichkeiten für die Erschließung und dauerhafte Konservierung wurden im Februar 2018 bezogen; inzwischen wurden auch Arbeitsmöglichkeiten für Einzelpersonen und Kleingruppen eingerichtet. Die Eröffnung für externe Nutzerinnen und Nutzer erfolgte mit einem Kolloquium am 11. Januar 2019. Zusätzlich ist die Sammlung Stern bei verschiedenen Aktivitäten präsent, so etwa zum Internationalen Museumstag und beim Tag der offenen Sammlung (siehe rechts).

    Inzwischen verfügt die Sammlung Stern dank einer Zuspende von Dr. Kurt Denzer (Kiel) über eine Handbibliothek von knapp 1.500 Büchern und Zeitschriften zur Filmgeschichte, Theorie des Films und nationalen Filmtraditionen. Diese Bestände sind im neuen Nutzerraum aufgestellt und stehen allen Besucherinnen und Besuchern des Filmarchivs zur Verfügung. Auch die Zahl der Filme liegt dank weiterer Zuspenden inzwischen jenseits der 1.000er Grenze. Die Sammlung Stern nimmt gerne weitere Bestände in Form von Filmen, einschlägiger Literatur oder Projektionstechnik entgegen. Sollten Sie eine derartige Spende in Erwägung ziehen, sprechen Sie bitte den Sammlungsverantwortlichen, Dr. Martin Lindner, an.