Specialization in „International Agribusiness and Rural Development Economics“

The profile “International Agribusiness and Rural Development Economics” within the MSc program “Sustainable International Agriculture” trains students to analyse socio-economic interactions between individuals, resources and markets in agriculture using up-to-date quantitative and qualitative methods. Students acquire the tools they need to contribute to the provision of answers to vital questions ranging from the macro-level (e.g. global hunger, the world trade system) to the meso-level (e.g. the structure and performance of national and international food chains; food safety and quality issues) and the micro-level (e.g. the efficiency of agricultural production, participation and poverty at the household level) in agricultural systems.

You are taught by staff from Göttingen and Kassel-Witzenhausen who are representing the largest group of internationally recognised and internationally active agricultural economists in Germany (14 professors and many post-docs and lecturers). This enables us to provide you with specialised, cutting-edge teaching and supervision, and thus prepare you for exciting careers in research, business, national and regional governments and administration, and international organisations.

Please note that this specialisation does not require that you have a background in economic theory and quantitative methods as a prerequisite. However, the compulsory courses do include several modules that emphasize theory and methods (e.g. World Agricultural Markets and Econometrics) at an advanced MSc level.

    Compulsory modules

    The following four compulsory modules must be taken:

    For a detailed module description, please refer to the current module catalogue.

    Winter Term (WiSe)
  • M.SIA E11 Socioeconomics of rural development and food security
    (Göttingen, Prof. Dr. M. Qaim)
  • M.SIA. I12 Sustainable International Agriculture: basic principles and approaches
    (Witzenhausen, Prof. Dr. Eva Schlecht )

  • Summer Term (SoSe)
  • M.Agr.0086 World agricultural markets and trade
    (Göttingen, Prof. Dr. B. Brümmer)

  • Winter or Summer Term (WiSe/SoSe)
  • M.WIWI-QMW.004 Econometrics I
    (Göttingen, Prof. Dr. H. Herwartz)


  • Mandatory modules

    Five mandatory modules must be chosen (among these, at least one methodological module). Click here for a list of the mandatory modules.

    Elective modules

    Six elective modules are to be chosen. You can also chose elective modules from the list of so far not attended mandatory modules. Click here for the list of elective modules.


    Back to studies

Studienschwerpunkt „International Agribusiness and Rural Development Economics“

Der Studienschwerpunkt "International Agribusiness and Rural Development Economics" im Masterkurs "Sustainable International Agriculture" befähigt die Studierenden sozio-ökonomische Interaktionen und Verhältnisse zwischen Individuen, Ressourcen und Märkten mithilfe von modernen quantitativen und qualitativen Methoden der Landwirtschaft zu analysieren. Die Studierenden erlernen Methodiken mithilfe derer sie in der Lage sind, wichtige Fragestellungen jeglichen Niveaus zu behandeln. So können die Studierenden Fragen des Makroniveaus (z.B.: Globaler Hunger, Welthandel), des Mesoniveaus (z.B.: Struktur und Leistung nationaler und internationaler Nahrungsketten, Nahrungssicherheit und Qualitätskontrolle) und des Mikroniveaus (z.B.: Effizienz der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion, Partizipation und Armut auf Haushaltsniveau) in landwirtschaftlichen Systemen kompetent beantworten.

Sie werden von den Professoren und Mitarbeitern der Universitäten Göttingen und Kassel-Witzenhausen betreut, welche die größte international anerkannte Gruppe von Agragökonomen (14 Professoren und viele post-docs und Lehrkräften) in Deutschland bilden. Dies versetzt uns in die Lage, Sie mit einer spezialisierten, hochmodernen Lehre zu fördern, welche für Sie beste Starbedingungen bietet, aufregende Karrieren in der Forschung, Wirtschaft, nationaler und regionaler Politik, im öffentlichen Dienst und in internationalen Organisationen anzustreben.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Spezialisierung nicht voraussetzt, dass Sie über einen Hintergrund in Wirtschaftstheorie und quantitativen Methoden verfügen. Die Pflichtveranstaltungen umfassen jedoch mehrere Module, die Theorie und Methoden (z.B. Weltagrarmärkte und Ökonometrie) auf fortgeschrittenem MSc-Niveau vermitteln.

    Pflichtmodule
    Folgende vier Pflichtmodule müssen absolviert werden:

    Für eine genaue Modulbeschreibung schauen Sie bitte in den aktuellen Modulkatalog.

    Wintersemester (WiSe)
  • M.SIA E11 Socioeconomics of rural development and food security
    (Göttingen, Prof. Dr. M. Qaim)
  • M.SIA. I12 Sustainable International Agriculture: basic principles and approaches
    (Witzenhausen, Prof. Dr. Eva Schlecht )

  • Sommersemester (SoSe)
  • M.Agr.0086 World agricultural markets and trade
    (Göttingen, Prof. Dr. B. Brümmer)

  • Winter- oder Sommersemester (WiSe/SoSe)
  • M.WIWI-QMW.004 Econometrics I
    (Göttingen, Prof. Dr. H. Herwartz)


  • Wahlpflichtmodule

    Fünf Wahlpflichtmodule (davon mindestens ein Modul zur Schulung des methodischen Arbeitens mit einem Code M) müssen absolviert werden. Die Liste der angebotenen Wahlpflichtmodule finden Sie hier.

    Wahlmodule

    Sechs Wahlmodule müssen absolviert werden. Es können auch die bislang nicht gewählten Wahlpflichtmodule des Studiengangs gewählt werden. Zur Liste der angebotenen Wahlmodule gelangen Sie hier.


    Zurück zu Studium