In publica commoda

Scandinavian Studies (M.A.)

Programme: Scandinavian Studies
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Winter and summer semester
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in Scandinavian Studies (78 C); Joint Honours MA in Scandinavian Studies (42 C); module packages: Scandinavian Studies as MA minor subjects (36 C/18 C); Modern Scandinavian Studies or Ancient Scandinavian Studies as MA minor subjects (18 C); Scandinavian Languages as MA minor subject (18 C; only in winter semester)
Admission requirements for Single and Joint Honours MA: Overview
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)

Language of the programme: German

Structure of the degree programme:
The Master's degree programme in Scandinavian Studies can be selected either as a 78-credit single-subject degree programme or as a 42-credit degree programme in combination with an external module package. Students of the 78 C core subject course of Scandinavian Studies must study the third subject semester either at the Aarhus Universitet in Denmark or at the Norges teknisk-naturvitenskapelige Universitet (NTNU) in Trondheim/Norway, or at the Göteborgs Universitet in Sweden.
The core subject curriculum in Scandinavian Studies consists of two modules, in which the students are engaged in in-depth study of the historical, theoretical and systematic perspectives of the subject, including knowledge required for the preparation of scientific papers in the foreign language; one module to expand the students' foreign language competency; two modules covering scientific discussion, in which the students discuss their own working projects with each other, as well as latest subject-related scientific topics and theories. The 78 C core subject programme includes an additional basic module of Comparative Literature Studies and further modules of at least 27 C to be studied at a partner university.

Subject description:
The programme conveys in-depth, comprehensive knowledge of the languages, literature and cultures as well as history and society of Scandinavia. Students will learn to apply literary and cultural-scientific terms, theories and methods differentiatedly and selectively enabling them to independently and scientifically work on matters related to Scandinavian Studies and to competently convey their research results. In addition, graduates will have received extensive experience and skills in the most important work forms of the humanities (discussion, oral report, written papers). They will have mastered a modern Scandinavian language so well that they will be able to express themselves orally and in writing in daily situations as well as in a scientific context. In addition, they should have attained good passive knowledge in a two additional Scandinavian languages.

Students will also receive knowledge in a subject area outside of Scandinavian Studies or two additional other subjects from the Faculty of Humanities or another faculty as is defined in the corresponding programme and examination regulations.

Research foci in Göttingen
The research profile of the Department of Scandinavian Studies lies, on the one hand, in the area of modern Scandinavian literature with the concentrations drama, translation, topic and motif research, “Internationality of National Literature” and 17th/18th century, and biographical research as well as intermediality of literature and music. On the other hand, the profile also focuses on the area of old Nordic literature and culture with a concentration on medieval Icelandic literature and its reception as well as runology. An additional research concentration is the history of science and reception. A fundamental component of the research profile is the comparative examination of Scandinavian literature and culture from an outside view. The dissertations and habilitation papers that have originated here play a large role as well.

Occupational fields:
The degree „Master of Arts“ (M.A.) in Scandinavian Studies prepares students for work in the area of cultural mediation (foreign institutes that deal with cultural issues, foreign lectorates),publishing (lectorate and editorial work), printed and visual media (press, radio, television, new media) as well as in private and public research institutes that deal with Scandinavian literature and culture from the Middle Ages to the present. The degree also enables graduates to continue on with doctoral studies.

In publica commoda

Skandinavistik (M.A.)

Name des Studienangebots: Skandinavistik
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Winter- und Sommersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Skandinavistik (78 C); Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Skandinavistik (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpakete: Skandinavistik (36 C/18 C); Ältere Skandinavistik/Neuere Skandinavistik (18 C); Skandinavische Sprachen (18 C; nur zum Wintersemester)
Zulassungsbedingungen für Masterstudiengang: Überblick
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)


Aufbau des Studiums:
Der Masterstudiengang Skandinavistik kann als Monofach-Studiengang zu 78 Anrechnungspunkten oder als Studiengang zu 42 Anrechnungspunkten in Verbindung mit einem externen Modulpaket gewählt werden. Studierende des Fachstudiums Skandinavistik im Umfang von 78 C müssen das dritte Fachsemester an der Aarhus Universitet in Dänemark oder an der Norges teknisk-naturvitenskapelige Universitet (NTNU) in Trondheim in Norwegen oder an der Göteborgs Universitet in Schweden absolvieren.
Das Curriculum im Fachstudium Skandinavistik besteht aus zwei Modulen, in denen sich die Studierenden intensiv mit Historischen und mit Theoretischen und systematischen Perspektiven des Faches auseinandersetzen, darunter auch Kenntnisse zum Erstellen wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten in der Fremdsprache; einem Modul zur Vertiefung der Fremdsprachenkompetenz; zwei Modulen zur wissenschaftlichen Diskussion, in denen sich die Studierenden über ihre eigenen Arbeitsprojekte sowie über aktuelle fachwissenschaftliche Themen und Theorien austauschen. Beim Fachstudium im Umfang von 78 C werden darüber hinaus ein Grundlagenmodul zur Komparatistik sowie weitere Module im Umfang von wenigstens 27 C an einer Partnerhochschule absolviert.

Darstellung des Studienangebots:
Das Studium vermittelt vertiefte, umfassende Kenntnisse zu den Sprachen, Literaturen und Kulturen sowie zur Geschichte und Gesellschaft Skandinaviens. Die Absolventen können literatur- und kulturwissenschaftliche Begriffe, Theorien und Methoden differenziert und gezielt anwenden. Damit sind sie in der Lage, selbständig über Gegenstände der Skandinavistik wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten und ihre Forschungsergebnisse kompetent zu vermitteln. Zudem haben sich die Absolventen umfangreiche Erfahrungen und Kompetenzen in den wichtigsten geisteswissenschaftlichen Arbeitsformen (Diskussion, mündlicher Vortrag, schriftliche Abhandlung) erarbeitet. Sie beherrschen eine neuskandinavische Sprache so sicher, dass sie sich sowohl in Alltagssituationen wie auch im wissenschaftlichen Kontext mündlich wie schriftlich korrekt und adäquat ausdrücken können. Außerdem sollen sie über gute passive Kenntnisse in zwei weiteren skandinavischen Sprachen verfügen.

Die Absolventen verfügen außerdem über Kenntnisse in einem fachexternen Fachgebiet oder zwei weiteren fachexternen Fachgebieten der Philosophischen oder einer anderen Fakultät, wie sie in den jeweiligen Studien- und Prüfungsordnungen dieser Fächer definiert werden.

Forschungsschwerpunkte in Göttingen:
Das Forschungsprofil des Skandinavischen Seminars liegt einerseits im Bereich der neueren skandinavischen Literaturen mit den Schwerpunkten Dramen-, Übersetzungs-, Themen- und Motivforschung, "Internationalität nationaler Literaturen" und 17./18. Jahrhundert, Biographieforschung sowie Intermedialität von Literatur und Musik; und andererseits im Gebiet der altnordischen Literatur und Kultur mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der mittelalterlichen Literatur Islands und deren Rezeption sowie Runologie. Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Wissenschafts- und Rezeptionsgeschichte. Auch die komparatistische Betrachtung der skandinavischen Literaturen und Kulturen aus der Außenperspektive kann als grundlegend gelten. Einen wesentlichen Anteil am Forschungsprofil des Seminars haben die hier entstandenen Dissertationen und Habilitationsschriften.

Berufsfelder:
Das Studium mit dem Abschluss „Master of Arts“ (M.A.) im Studiengang „Skandinavistik“ bereitet auf die Tätigkeit im Bereich der Kulturvermittlung (Auslandsinstitute, die sich mit kulturellen Fragen beschäftigen, Auslandslektorate), des Verlagswesens (Lektorats- und Redaktionsarbeit, „Scout“-Tätigkeiten, Übersetzung), der Print- und Bildmedien (Presse, Rundfunk, Fernsehen, neue Medien) sowie in privaten und öffentlichen Forschungseinrichtungen, die sich mit skandinavischen Sprachen sowie skandinavischer Literatur und Kultur vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart befassen, vor. Es ermöglicht außerdem die wissenschaftliche Weiterqualifikation im Rahmen einer Promotion.