In publica commoda

Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era (M.A.)

NOTE: This module package can only be selected after enrolment in a suitable Master's degree programme in the Faculty of Humanities or the Faculty of Social Sciences. It is possible to write a Master's thesis in this 36 credit module package if the Master's course studied is subject-related and additional 6 C are completed in Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era.

Programme name: Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era (M.A. module package)
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A. module package)
Standard duration of study: 4 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Degree programme options: Module packages: Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era as MA minor subjects (36 C/ 18 C)
Special regulation: It is possible to write a Master's thesis within a 36-credit package of modules. If the Master's thesis is to be written in the field of mediaeval and modern Latin philology, the following additional 6 C module must be completed successfully:

  • M.MNL.11 Research trends and topics in the area of mediaeval and modern Latin philology (6 C).


If the examination candidate is already required to complete another module in conjunction with the Master's thesis as part of the degree programme in which the candidate is enrolled, the module M.MNL.11 is replaced by the module

  • M.MNL.10 Reading of central texts from mediaeval and modern Latin literature (6 C).


Admission requirements: see the overview of the entrance requirements for module packages (pdf)

Prerequisites for admission to submit a master's thesis: The admissibility to submission of a Master's thesis in the subject of Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era is decided upon by the examination board of the Master's degree programme in which the student is enrolled. The admission itself is decided upon by the examination board responsible for the subject Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era (see also §9 of the Examination Regulations Framework for M.A. degree programmes of the Faculty of Humanities).
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: Application process (application to the faculty of humanities)


Programme description

Objectives
Graduates will demonstrate an advanced and well-founded knowledge of the analytical methods involved in Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era. They will also display the ability to carry out independent, subject-specific and interdisciplinary academic work in the area of medieval and early modern research.
On the basis of their comprehensive knowledge of the characteristics of the Latin language in the Middle Ages and the Modern Era and knowledge about the medial circumstances of the records handed down, they will be in a position to refine Latin literature and other writings from various original sources putting them into their literary and cultural context to make them accessible to the general academic community.

Registration
Admission into the Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era module package (36 C) must be applied for in writing along with proof of the qualifications for entry (see the overview). This application must be made to the Latin Philology of the Middle Ages and the Modern Era Examination Board. In the application for admission, the applicability of subjects studied during the Bachelor's degree must be documented. In particular, any prior available relevant academic knowledge must be documented. Receipt of study advice must also be proven. Following the fulfilment of these qualifications for entry, admission to and registration for the module package will take place.

In publica commoda

Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit (M.A.-Studiengebiet)

HINWEIS: Dieses Modulpaket kann nur nach Immatrikulation in einen geeigneten Master-Studiengang der Philosophischen oder Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät gewählt werden. Es ist möglich, in diesem 36-Credit-Modulpaket die Masterarbeit zu schreiben, wenn der studierte Master-Studiengang fachlich verwandt ist und zusätzliche 6 C im Studiengebiet Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit absolviert werden.

Name des Studienangebots:Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit (M.A.-Modulpaket)
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.-Modulpaket)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Nebenfach/Modulpaket Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit (36 C/18 C)
Sonderregelung: Es ist möglich, eine Masterarbeit im 36-Credit-Modulpaket zu schreiben. In diesem Fall muss zusätzlich ein Modul im Umfang von 6 C auf dem entsprechenden Fachgebiet erfolgreich absolviert werden:

  • M.MNL.11 „Themen und Tendenzen der Forschung im Bereich der Lateinischen Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit“ (6 C)


Soweit die oder der zu Prüfende im Rahmen desjenigen Master- Studiengangs, in den sie oder er immatrikuliert ist, bereits ein die Master- Arbeit begleitendes Modul zu absolvieren hat, tritt folgendes Modul an die Stelle von M.MNL.11:

  • M.MNL.10 „Lektüre zentraler Texte der Lateinischen Literatur des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit“ (6 C)


Der Umfang dieses Modulpaketes beträgt dann abweichend 42 C (=Umfang eines Fachstudiums). Die 6 zusätzlichen Credits können als Schlüsselkompetenz angerechnet werden. Eine Bewerbung erfolgt über das gewählte Fachstudium im Umfang von 42 C, nicht über das Modulpaket.
Zulassungsbedingungen: Siehe Übersicht Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete (pdf)

Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zur Masterarbeit
Über die Zulässigkeit der Anfertigung der Master-Arbeit im Studiengebiet Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit entscheidet jeweils die Prüfungskommission desjenigen Master-Studiengangs, in dem die oder der zu Prüfende immatrikuliert ist. Über die Zulassung entscheidet die für das Studiengebiet Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit zuständige Prüfungskommission (s. auch § 9 der Rahmenprüfungsordnung für M.A.-Studiengänge der Philosophischen Fakultät).
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)


Darstellung des Studienangebots

Studienziele
Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen sollen über vertiefte und reflektierte Kenntnisse analytischer Methoden der Lateinischen Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit und über die Fähigkeit zur selbständigen fachspezifischen und interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Arbeit auf dem Gebiet der mediävistischen und frühneuzeitlichen Forschung verfügen.
Sie sollen auf der Basis umfassender Kenntnisse zu den Besonderheiten der lateinischen Sprache des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit sowie zu den medialen Gegebenheiten der Überlieferung insbesondere in der Lage sein, Zeugnisse lateinischer Literatur und anderen Schrifttums aus Mittelalter und Neuzeit aus den Quellen heraus für die wissenschaftliche Allgemeinheit aufzubereiten und sie in ihren literarischen und kulturellen Kontext einzuordnen.

Anmeldung
Die Zulassung zum Modulpaket „Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit“ im Umfang von 36 C ist schriftlich unter Nachweis der Zugangsvoraussetzungen (siehe Übersicht) bei der Prüfungskommission des Studiengebietes Lateinische Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit zu beantragen. Im Zulassungsantrag sind weiterhin die fachliche Nähe der Fächer des Bachelorabschlusses bzw. vorhandene einschlägige fachliche Vorkenntnisse zu dokumentieren sowie die Teilnahme an einer Fachstudienberatung nachzuweisen. Bei Erfüllung der Zugangsvoraussetzungen erfolgt die Zulassung und Anmeldung zum Modulpaket.