Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
weco_bescheid_206

Grant notice handed over: Olaf Lies, Lower Saxony Minister for Economics, Labour and Transportation; Professor Ulrike Beisiegel, University President and Professor Hiltraud Casper-Hehne, University Vice President (from left to right).

Click here to download print quality
photo.


weco_gruppe_206

The Welcome Centre project for the Göttingen Campus and the region of South Lower Saxony is backed by more than 40 cooperation partners.

Click here to download print quality
photo.





Messages

Search | Display all





Use filter






Press release: Setting course for the future


Nr. 71/2017 - 20.04.2017


Niedersachsen is funding a Welcome Centre for the region – backed by more than 40 cooperation partners

(pug) Welcoming researchers and qualified professionals to Southern Lower Saxony – that’s the core mission of the region’s future Welcome Centre. The project is backed by more than 40 partners, including universities, commercial enterprises, central associations and municipalities from the districts of Göttingen and Northeim as well as the districts themselves. This innovative research and development project aims to combine and expand on existing concepts offered by the University of Göttingen and the Southern Lower Saxony Foundation “SüdniedersachsenStiftung”, as well as to develop, test and evaluate new opportunities for support and collaboration. Scientists, scholars, trained professionals and executives arriving in the region should be more specifically tended to. The state of Lower Saxony will be funding the project for the next two years with around € 350,000 earmarked from the European Social Fund. The partner network will be contributing over € 600,000 in equity capital to the project.

“As a poster child project, the Welcome Centre can make an important contribution to sustainably attracting and retaining qualified professionals for the Göttingen Campus and the region of Southern Lower Saxony,” says Olaf Lies, Lower Saxony Minister for Economics, Labour and Transportation. “The project will foster the region’s welcoming culture and gain excellent brains from Germany and abroad for the region. This is even more important given the lack of specialists in individual industries; this situation has particularly applied to small- and medium-sized businesses for a while now and will continue to be exacerbated by demographic changes.”

“By establishing a region-based Welcome Centre, we are creating an important foundation to build on the accommodating and welcoming programmes already available in Southern Lower Saxony,” explains project manager Professor Hiltraud Casper-Hehne, Vice President for International Affairs at Göttingen University. “By offering services and support to qualified professionals, researchers, scientists and scholars from Germany, Europe and all over the world, we are setting an important course for the future, whilst counteracting certain demographic changes Southern Lower Saxony is undergoing.“

“The University of Göttingen and the SüdniedersachsenStiftung have a long track record of fostering relations with incoming qualified professionals and executives to the region,” states Klaus Hoffmann, Chairman of the SüdniedersachsenStiftung. “Through the direct participation of nearby mid-level and basic centres, the Welcome Centre currently under development and financed by the federal state with the help of the “Fachkräftebündnis” – a regional alliance of qualified professionals in Southern Lower Saxony coordinated by the foundation – combines these activities and closely ties them with the entire region. The main aim is to support small- and medium-sized businesses and institutions of higher education and science in efficiently attracting new professionals with all levels of qualifications leading into the future.“

Alongside Casper-Hehne and Hoffmann, the project’s steering team is constituted of Dr. Martin Rudolph, Manager of the Göttingen Business Offices of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK) Hannover. The Welcome Centre will offer services like help with contacting governmental offices and authorities, finding a flat, a workplace for a spouse or childcare. The offerings in Göttingen will be linked with and expanded by those of companies and municipalities as well as decentralised contact persons at the mid-level centres in the region. Over the long term, the Welcome Centre’s facilities will move to the Göttingen train station, where a “Welcome Lounge” will be set up as the first point of contact.

Further information is available at www.welcome-to-suedniedersachsen.de.

Contact:
Professor Hiltraud Casper-Hehne
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Vice President for International Affairs
Wilhelmsplatz 1, 37073 Göttingen, Germany
Phone +49 (0)551 39-13110
Email: hiltraud.casper-hehne@zvw.uni-goettingen.de
Website: www.uni-goettingen.de/en/vizepraesidentin-fuer-internationales-prof-dr-hiltraud-casper-hehne-/110984.html

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
weco_bescheid_206

Übergabe des Förderbescheids: Olaf Lies, Niedersächsischer Minister für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Verkehr, Universitätspräsidentin Prof. Dr. Ulrike Beisiegel und Vizepräsidentin Prof. Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne (v.l.).

Klicken Sie bitte hier, um das Bild in
Druckqualität herunterzuladen.


weco_gruppe_206

Hinter dem Projekt Welcome Centre für den Göttingen Campus und die Region Südniedersachsen stehen mehr als 40 Kooperationspartner.

Klicken Sie bitte hier, um das Bild in
Druckqualität herunterzuladen.





Meldungen

Suche | Zur Gesamtübersicht





Filter anwenden






Presseinformation: Weichen für die Zukunft stellen


Nr. 71/2017 - 20.04.2017


Land fördert Aufbau eines Welcome Centres für die Region – Mehr als 40 Kooperationspartner

(pug) Forschende und Fachkräfte in Südniedersachsen willkommen heißen – so lässt sich die Kernaufgabe des künftigen Welcome Centres für die Region zusammenfassen. Mehr als 40 Partner stehen hinter dem Projekt, darunter Hochschulen, Wirtschaftsunternehmen, zentrale Verbände und Kommunen aus den Landkreisen Göttingen und Northeim sowie die Landkreise selbst. In diesem innovativen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt sollen bestehende Angebote der Universität Göttingen und der SüdniedersachsenStiftung zusammengeführt und ausgebaut sowie neue Möglichkeiten der Betreuung und Zusammenarbeit erarbeitet, erprobt und evaluiert werden. Damit sollen in der Region ankommende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie Fach- und Führungskräfte gezielt unterstützt werden. Das Land Niedersachsen fördert das Projekt in den kommenden zwei Jahren mit insgesamt rund 350.000 Euro aus dem Europäischen Sozialfonds. Aus dem Partnernetzwerk kommen über 600.000 Euro Eigenmittel für das Projekt hinzu.

„Das Projekt Welcome Centre für den Göttingen Campus und die Region Südniedersachsen ist ein Aushängeschild für die Region und kann dauerhaft einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Fachkräftesicherung leisten“, so Olaf Lies, Niedersächsischer Minister für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Verkehr. „Das Projekt wird die Willkommenskultur in der Region stärken und soll exzellente Fach- und Führungskräfte aus dem In- und Ausland für die Region gewinnen. Dies ist umso wichtiger, als der Fachkräftemangel in einzelnen Branchen gerade in kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen bereits heute groß ist und sich mit dem demografischen Wandel weiter verschärfen wird.“

„Mit dem Aufbau eines Welcome Centres für die Region schaffen wir eine wichtige Grundlage für die Erweiterung der Aufnahme- und Willkommensangebote in Südniedersachsen“, erläutert Projektleiterin Prof. Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne, Vizepräsidentin für Internationales der Universität Göttingen. „Mit Service und Unterstützung für Fachkräfte und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland, Europa und der ganzen Welt stellen wir wichtige Weichen für die Zukunft und wirken dem demografischen Wandel in Südniedersachsen entgegen.“

„Die Universität Göttingen und die SüdniedersachsenStiftung besitzen jahrelange Erfahrung bei der Begleitung von neu ankommenden Fach- und Führungskräften in der Region“, so Klaus Hoffmann, Vorstandsvorsitzender der SüdniedersachsenStiftung. „Mit dem jetzt entstehenden Welcome Centre, das mit Hilfe des von der Stiftung koordinierten Regionalen Fachkräftebündnisses Südniedersachsen über das Land gefördert wird, werden diese Aktivitäten zusammengeführt und durch die direkte Beteiligung der umliegenden Mittel- und Grundzentren eng mit der gesamten Region verknüpft. Insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen sowie die Hochschulen und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen sollen so in Zukunft effizient bei der Gewinnung neuer Fachkräfte auf allen Qualifizierungsebenen unterstützt werden.“

Dem Lenkungsteam des Projekts gehört neben Casper-Hehne und Hoffmann auch Dr. Martin Rudolph, Leiter der Geschäftsstelle Göttingen der IHK Hannover an. Der Service des Welcome Centres umfasst unter anderem die Unterstützung bei allen Behördengängen sowie bei der Suche nach Wohnraum, einem Arbeitsplatz für die Partnerin oder den Partner oder nach Kinderbetreuung. Die Angebote in Göttingen werden mit denen der Unternehmen und Kommunen sowie dezentralen Ansprechpartnern in den Mittelzentren der Region vernetzt und ausgebaut. Langfristig wird das Welcome Centre Räume am Göttinger Bahnhof beziehen, wo auch eine „Welcome Lounge“ als erster Anlaufpunkt entstehen soll.

Weitere Informationen sind unter www.welcome-to-suedniedersachsen.de zu finden.

Kontakt:
Prof. Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Vizepräsidentin für Internationales
Wilhelmsplatz 1, 37073 Göttingen, Telefon (0551) 39-13110
E-Mail: hiltraud.casper-hehne@zvw.uni-goettingen.de
Internet: www.uni-goettingen.de/de/vizepraesidentin-fuer-internationales-prof-dr-hiltraud-casper-hehne-/110984.html