Academic recognition of university credits earned abroad


Before your stay abroad, it is essential that you clarify whether and how the University of Göttingen will recognise the foreign credits you intend to earn abroad with the appropriate contact person of your faculty.

The FlexNow statistics portal provides an overview of credits earned at international universities that have been previously recognised by the Univeristy of Göttingen.

The learning agreement is the most important tool for the recognition of international study achievements. This document simplifies the academic planning of a study abroad at a university. Before the start of the study programme, the modules to be studied and the possible ways they may be recognised are agreed upon (ie, credits earned added to the grades overview/transcript or, when applicable, as a diploma supplement). The completion of a learning agreement is strongly recommended or, in the case of an exchange program such as the Erasmus+ programme, mandatory.

Please contact the departmental coordinator or recognition officer of your faculty as well as the host institution to set up a learning agreement. After signing the learning agreement, it becomes a legally binding contract between the parties. Please be aware that fixed deadlines and processes must be adhered to, depending on the exchange programme. Please make enquiries in a timely fashion.

Additional information about contact persons, the recognition procedure etc. at your faculty is available here:

Göttingen International

Anerkennung von im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen


Klären Sie bitte unbedingt vor ihrem Auslandsaufenthalt mit den zuständigen Ansprechpartner/innen an ihrer Fakultät ab, ob und wie Sie Leistungen, die sie im Ausland erbringen möchten, an der Universität Göttingen anerkennen lassen können.

Eine Datenbank mit Leistungen, die an ausländischen Universitäten erbracht und bereits in der Vergangenheit für ihren Studiengang an der Universität Göttingen anerkannt wurden, finden sie rechts unter dem Stichwort "Datenbank".

Zu den wichtigsten Instrumenten zur Anerkennung von Studienleistungen gehören learning agreements, die bei der Planung von Studienaufenthalten an anderen Hochschulen die Anerkennung von Studienleistungen durch Vereinbarungen mit der Heimat- und Gasthochschule im Vorfeld stärker sichern. Sie sollten unbedingt abgeschlossen werden, bevor man ein Auslandsstudium antritt. Sie verabreden die zu studierenden Module und erleichtern die Anerkennung. Im Rahmen des Erasmus+ Programms ist die Nutzung eines learning agreements verpflichtend!
Die Anerkennung der erbrachten Studienleistungen sollte durch eine Unterschrift des/der Verantworlichen innerhalb der Fakultät verbindlich gemacht werden. Nach Unterzeichnung des learning agreements handelt es sich um einen rechtsverbindlichen Vertrag zwischen drei Parteien. Kurzfristig notwendige Änderungen können ebenfalls mit einfachen Verfahren auf dem Formular vermerkt werden (Achtung: ebenfalls unterschreiben lassen).

Weitere Informationen zu Ansprechpartner/innen, Ablauf des Anerkennungsverfahrens etc. an ihrer Fakultät erhalten sie hier: