In publica commoda

Italian Studies/Italian philology (B.A.) (2 subjects)

« Nella letteratura avviene qualcosa su cui non ho potere. »Italo Calvino

Italian is a language with great cultural prestige. It provides access to important works of art and literature, which are interwoven with European culture in many different ways. If you are interested in the Italian language, literature and culture, ranging from Dante Alighieri and research into dialects to the digital media, study with us! Become a specialist in the multifaceted cultures of Italy with its various regions, the Italian dialects and the country’s indigenous languages. Plunge into Italo Calvino’s fictional worlds or learn more about present-day Italy with its distinctive political and social characteristics beyond the traditional image of Italy.

Name of subject: Italian Studies/Italian philology
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard course length: 6 semesters
Start of programme: Winter semester
Language requirements prior to start of programme (evidence required): previous knowledge of the Italian language is not required. Students with previous knowledge will be placed in a higher-level language course following a placement test.

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)

Subject description

Subject/content/goals

In the course of your Italian Studies, you will acquire competencies in numerous different areas:

  • linguistic competence (level B2 GER)
  • intercultural competence
  • ability to conduct scientific work
  • historical perspectives on linguistic, literary and cultural developments
  • regional and country-specific knowledge
  • analytical skills
  • key competencies in communication, investigation methods and information processing
  • knowledge about teaching the Italian language

Research areas and research focus

The sections of the Bachelor’s degree programme Italian Studies are language practice, literary studies, linguistics, regional and cultural studies and communication skills.

In the area of language practice, you will practice and expand the four skills of listening, reading, speaking and writing on the basis of the European Framework of Reference (from level A1 to B2), to develop your receptive and productive competence in oral and written communication. You will analyse and compare various aspects of German and Italian grammar. All courses in language practice include some aspects of Italian regional and cultural studies (such as history, culture, politics, etc.).

The purpose of linguistics is to examine the structure and usage of contemporary Italian and its historical development (e.g. the description of phonetic structure, vocabulary and grammar). The basic principles, core areas and methods of Italian linguistics are taught in the relevant courses. We make a point of offering a wide range of courses from traditional Romance language areas, such as historical linguistics, generative syntax and dialectology, as well as covering modern questions of discourse linguistics and cognitive semantics. The goal here is to enable students to carry out independent work using modern linguistic methods (e.g. computational linguistics).

Literary studies deal with the Italian culture and literature, and their history from the medieval beginnings to the 21st century. You will be familiarized with various methods of text interpretation and literary theories, whose diversity opens up a great variety of approaches to text analysis and other media forms (e.g. film). In the literary studies courses, some specific eras and works are dealt with in more detail. Some research areas in Italian literary studies are Dante Alighieri, the Italian Renaissance (autobiography, culture of correspondence, pictures and texts) and the Italian culture under fascism.

In regional and cultural studies, you will acquire basic knowledge about Italian history, economics, politics, society and culture, using theories from the social and cultural sciences. The acquisition of regional and cultural knowledge includes the development of intercultural competence to enable you to reflect on both your own and the foreign culture, and to comprehend the two cultures as dynamic, living and multifaceted systems. In the advanced courses, this basic knowledge is expanded using specific examples.

The degree programme includes one module to impart knowledge about using and designing media to process and present subject-specific content. Here you will also learn how to critically analyse content presented via various media.

Structure of the degree programme

The degree programme consists of several basic and advanced modules in the sections of language practice, linguistics, literary studies and regional and cultural studies, as well as one module of communication skills. The modules are composed of individual courses, for each of which a fixed number of credits can be obtained. These credits reflect the amount of work required to complete the individual courses and are granted separately from the grades.

Studying Italian in Göttingen

There are so many advantages to studying Italian in Göttingen:

  • You learn about Italian language and culture in the heart of Germany.
  • You will get personal support in learning groups with small numbers of participants.
  • We have an international teaching staff.
  • A major part of the curriculum is taught in the target language.
  • Your studies are research-oriented thanks to our interdisciplinary cooperation projects.
  • We have a special subject library with more than 100,000 volumes.
  • You can also get into contact with other Romance languages and cultures, if you like.

Possible/recommended profiles

Depending on the targeted occupational field, a combination of the subject Italian Studies with subjects of cultural and social sciences is recommended, or, alternatively, with studies of economics and/or law. An excellent proposition is the combination of Italian Studies with English, art history or musicology. Studying in Göttingen provides opportunities for innovative, personal combinations from a choice of about 40 subjects.

Occupational fields

For graduates, all types of careers are open which are connected with the Italian language and culture. Some typical occupational fields are media professions, tourism, publishing, non-governmental and cultural organisations and public relations, for example in internationally active commercial enterprises. The Bachelor’s degree in Italian Studies offers an optimal starting point for subsequent specialisation as an interpreter or translator. The University offers many programmes of career guidance and preparation for the job market. Italian studies can also be completed as a third subject (for teaching at secondary schools). The demand for Italian teachers at secondary schools is rising continually.

In publica commoda

Italienstudien/Italienisch (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

« Nella letteratura avviene qualcosa su cui non ho potere. »Italo Calvino

Italienisch ist eine Sprache mit großem kulturellem Prestige. Sie verschafft Zugang zu bedeutenden Werken in Kunst und Literatur, die vielseitig mit der europäischen Kultur verwoben sind.
Wenn Sie Interesse an der italienischen Sprache, Literatur und Kultur haben, von Dante Alighieri über die Dialektforschung bis zu den digitalen Medien, studieren Sie bei uns: Werden Sie Spezialistin bzw. Spezialist für die vielfältigen Kulturen Italiens in den unterschiedlichen Regionen, die italienischen Dialekte und die autochthonen Sprachen des Landes. Tauchen Sie ein in Italo Calvinos fiktionale Welten oder erfahren Sie mehr über die italienische Aktualität mit ihren politischen und gesellschaftlichen Besonderheiten jenseits des traditionellen Italienbildes.

Name des Studienfachs: Italienstudien/Italienisch
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn: Es sind keine Vorkenntnisse der italienischen Sprache erforderlich; bei Vorkenntnissen erfolgt die Einstufung in ein höheres Sprachniveau durch einen Orientierungstest.

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2018/19:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei Studium International)

Darstellung des Studienfachs

Gegenstand/Inhalte/Zielsetzungen

In Ihrem Italienisch-Studium erwerben Sie vielfältige Kompetenzen:

  • Sprachkompetenz (Niveau B2 GER)
  • interkulturelle Kompetenz
  • Fähigkeit zum wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten
  • historische Perspektiven auf sprachliche, literarische und kulturelle Entwicklungen
  • regionale und landesspezifische Kenntnisse
  • analytische Fähigkeiten
  • Schlüsselkompetenzen in der Kommunikation, Recherche und Informationsbearbeitung
  • Kenntnisse über das Unterrichten des Italienischen

Fachgebiete und Forschungsschwerpunkte

Die Teilbereiche des Bachelor Italienstudien sind Sprachpraxis, Literaturwissenschaft, Sprachwissenschaft, Landeswissenschaft und Vermittlungskompetenz.

Im Bereich der Sprachpraxis werden die vier Fertigkeiten (Hören, Lesen, Sprechen und Schreiben) zur Entwicklung der mündlichen und schriftlichen Rezeptions- und Produktionskompetenzen auf der Grundlage des Europäischen Referenzrahmens eingeübt und vertieft (von Niveau A1 bis B2). Sie analysieren vergleichend verschiedene Aspekte der deutschen und italienischen Grammatik. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen in der Sprachpraxis berücksichtigen landeswissenschaftliche Aspekte (Geschichte, Kultur, Politik, usw.) Italiens.

Die Sprachwissenschaft (oder Linguistik) untersucht die Struktur und den Gebrauch des Italienischen in der Gegenwart und seine geschichtliche Entwicklung (z. B. die Beschreibung von Lautstruktur, Wortschatz und Grammatik). In den Lehrveranstaltungen werden die Grundlagen, Kernbereiche und Methoden der italienischen Sprachwissenschaft vermittelt. Wir legen Wert darauf, ein breit gefächertes Angebot an Veranstaltungen sowohl aus den traditionellen romanistischen Bereichen wie der Historischen Linguistik, der Generativen Syntax und der Dialektologie zu gewährleisten als auch modernen Fragestellungen der Diskurslinguistik und der Kognitiven Semantik gerecht zu werden. Ziel ist dabei auch, die Studierenden zum eigenständigen Arbeiten mit modernen linguistischen Methoden zu befähigen (z.B. Computerlinguistik).

Die Literaturwissenschaft beschäftigt sich mit der italienischen Kultur und Literatur und ihrer Geschichte von den Anfängen im Mittelalter bis ins 21. Jahrhundert. Die Studierenden werden in verschiedene Methoden der Textauslegung und in literaturwissenschaftliche Theorien eingeführt, deren Vielfalt eine Fülle an Zugängen für die Analyse von Texten und anderen medialen Formen (z.B. Film) eröffnet. In den Lehrveranstaltungen werden bestimmte Epochen und Werke vertieft erschlossen. Forschungsgebiete der italienischen Literaturwissenschaft sind z. B. Dante Alighieri, die italienische Renaissance (Autobiographik, Briefkultur, Bild und Text) und die italienische Kultur unter dem Faschismus.

Die Landeswissenschaft vermittelt grundlegende Kenntnisse über Geschichte, Wirtschaft, Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur Italiens unter Verwendung sozial- und kulturwissenschaftlicher Theorien. Der Erwerb von landeswissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen beinhaltet den Aufbau einer interkulturellen Kompetenz, die ermöglichen soll, über die eigene und die fremde Kultur zu reflektieren und beide als dynamisches, lebendiges und vielfältiges System zu verstehen. In den weiterführenden Lehrveranstaltungen werden die Grundkenntnisse anhand konkreter Beispiele vertieft.

Das Studium beinhaltet ein Modul zur Vermittlung von Kenntnissen über die Nutzung und Gestaltung von Medien bei der Aufarbeitung fachspezifischer Inhalte. Hier lernen Sie auch, die über die verschiedenen Medien vermittelten Inhalte kritisch zu analysieren.

Aufbau des Studiums

Das Studium besteht aus Basis- und Aufbaumodulen in den Teilbereichen Sprachpraxis, Sprach-, Literatur- und Landeswissenschaft sowie aus einem Modul im Bereich der Vermittlungskompetenz. Die Module setzen sich aus einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen zusammen, für die jeweils eine bestimmte Anzahl an Credits vorgesehen ist. Diese Credits bilden den Arbeitsaufwand für die einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen ab und werden unabhängig von der Note vergeben.

Italienisch studieren in Göttingen

  • Sprache und Kultur Italiens im Herzen Deutschlands
  • individuelle Betreuung in Lerngruppen mit überschaubarer Teilnehmerzahl
  • internationales Team von Lehrenden
  • Unterricht in der Zielsprache in einem großen Anteil des Curriculums
  • forschungsorientiertes Studieren dank interdisziplinärer Kooperationen
  • Fachbibliothek mit über 100.000 Bänden
  • Kontakt und Austausch mit weiteren romanischen Sprachen und Kulturen in einem gesamtromanistischen Institut

Mögliche/empfohlene Profile

Je nach angestrebtem Berufsfeld ist eine Kombination des Faches Italienstudien mit kultur- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern, darüber hinaus mit Wirtschafts- bzw. Rechtswissenschaften empfehlenswert. Hervorragend kombinieren lässt sich das Italienisch-Studium mit Anglistik, Kunstgeschichte und Musikwissenschaften. Das Studium in Göttingen ermöglicht individuelle, innovative Kombinationen aus einem Angebot von rund 40 Fächern.

Berufsfelder

Für Absolventinnen und Absolventen erschließen sich alle beruflichen Wege, die mit der italienischen Sprache und Kultur zu tun haben. Typische Berufsfelder sind beispielsweise Medienberufe, Tourismus, Verlagswesen, Nichtregierungs- und Kulturorganisationen sowie Öffentlichkeitsarbeit etwa in international agierenden Wirtschaftsunternehmen. Der Bachelor Italienstudien bietet optimale Voraussetzungen für eine spätere Spezialisierung als Dolmetscherin oder Übersetzerin bzw. Dolmetscher oder Übersetzer. Die Universität bietet viele Veranstaltungen zur Berufsorientierung und zur Vorbereitung auf den Arbeitsmarkt.
Italienisch kann auch als Drittes Unterrichtsfach (Lehramt an Gymnasien) absolviert werden. Die Nachfrage nach Lehrerinnen und Lehrern für Italienisch an den Gymnasien steigt kontinuierlich an.