In publica commoda

Comparative Literature (M.A.)

Literature, culture, media – wide-ranging and interdisciplinary: With a choice of courses from literary and cultural studies, the Master's degree programme in Comparative Literature offers a comprehensive academic overview of literary and cultural phenomena. As well as providing fundamental theoretical knowledge, practical seminar courses and field trips round off this internationally-directed course of studies. The programme qualifies students for many occupations in the areas of literary and cultural exchange as well as in academic fields.

Programme: Comparative Literature
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard duration of study: 4 semesters
Start: Summer and winter semester
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in Comparative Literature (78 C); Joint Honours MA in Comparative Literature (42 C); module package: Comparative Literature as MA minor subject (36 C)
Admission requirements for Single and Joint Honours MA: Overview
Language requirements: Evidence of reading skills in two modern foreign languages, of which one must be either English or French, on level B1 of the CEFR.
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)
Language of the programme: German

Course description
The programme Comparative Literature aims to make students familiar with the contents and working methods of general and comparative literature and cultural studies. Philological questions are being associated with interdisciplinary cultural-scientific perspectives.

As a part of general literary studies, Comparative Literature approaches the fundamental questions of literature theory, methodology, poetics and intertextuality.

As a comparative literary approach, it covers the entirety of the formal, historical, thematic relations between works of different national literatures, periods, languages and cultural regions. The main focus is on the reception of texts of world literature. This means that the students will deal with similarities and differences, reciprocal influences and typological relations between individual literatures, national literary schools, styles, schools of thought and a variety of correlations in content, motives, problems, type and eras in interdisciplinary and international perspectives. Students will additionally become familiar with the theory and practice of literary translation.

As a part of comparative art and cultural studies, Comparative Linguistics approaches questions of intermediality and the interdependency of literature with other arts, media and cultural discourses.

Comparative Literature has a reciprocal prolific exchange and complementary relationship with the national philologies and the individual arts and art sciences. It affects the transitional and bordering areas of many individual subjects of the literature, arts and cultural studies. It takes up their findings and questions and expands them. At the same, the comparative perspective opens stimulating and innovative points of view for the study of national literature and individual arts.

In the Master's programme, students will attain in-depth scientific knowledge, the skills required to work independently and scientifically and to apply scientific findings. The programme forms the scientific foundation for graduate studies.

Organization of Comparative Literature in Göttingen
The subject Comparative Literature is a joint interdisciplinary offer from the philologies as well as other subjects from the sciences of art, culture and history. A central component of the programme is formed by the activities of the Centre for Comparative Studies of the University of Göttingen. This comprises the comparative courses of the four Chairs with a minor in Comparative Literature and the courses from the coordinator of the Centre as well as the interdisciplinary lecture series (“Ringvorlesung”). Students additionally select from the following subjects: German Philology, Slavic Philology, English Philology, Romance Philology, Scandinavian Studies, Classical Philology, Intercultural German Studies, History, Art History, Philosophy, Theology, Gender Studies, Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology / European Ethnology and Musicology.

Occupational fields
The Master's programme in Comparative Studies with the degree „Master of Arts“ (M.A.) prepares for positions in publishing houses, in international cultural exchange, in culture management, in educational institutions and in journalism, but also enables an academic/scientific career path at institutes of higher education, research institutes and archives.

In publica commoda

Komparatistik (M.A.)

Literatur, Kultur, Medien – breit gefächert und interdisziplinär: Mit einer Auswahl von Veranstaltungen aus den literatur- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Fächern bietet der Masterstudiengang Komparatistik eine umfassende fachliche Übersicht über literarische und kulturwissenschaftliche Phänomene. Neben der Vermittlung theoretischer Grundlagen runden Praxisseminare und Exkursionen den international ausgerichteten Studiengang ab, der für viele Berufe im literatur- und kulturvermittelnden sowie im wissenschaftlichen Bereich qualifiziert.


Name des Studienangebots: Komparatistik
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Sommer- und Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Komparatistik (78 C); Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Komparatistik (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpaket Komparatistik (36 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen für Masterstudiengang: Überblick
Sprachvoraussetzungen: Lesefähigkeit in zwei modernen Fremdsprachen, von denen eine Englisch oder Französisch sein muss, auf dem Niveau B1 des GER.
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)


Darstellung des Studienangebots:
Das Studium der Komparatistik soll mit den Gegenständen und Arbeitsweisen der Allgemeinen und Vergleichenden Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft umfassend vertraut machen. Dabei werden philologische Fragestellungen mit interdisziplinären kulturwissenschaftlichen Perspektiven verknüpft.

Als Allgemeine Literaturwissenschaft befasst sich die Komparatistik mit grundlegenden Fragen der Literaturtheorie, Methodologie, Poetik und Intertextualität.

Als Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft beschäftigt sie sich mit der Gesamtheit der formalen, historischen, thematischen Beziehungen zwischen Werken verschiedener Nationalliteraturen, Zeit-, Sprach- und Kulturräume. Vorzugsweise gilt ihr Augenmerk der Wirkungsgeschichte von Texten der Weltliteratur. Das heißt, die Studierenden beschäftigen sich mit den Ähnlichkeiten und Differenzen, wechselseitigen Einflüssen und typologischen Beziehungen zwischen Einzelliteraturen, nationalliterarischen Schulen, Stilrichtungen, Strömungen beziehungsweise einer Vielfalt von Stoff-, Motiv-, Problem-, Gattungs- und Epochenzusammenhängen in fachübergreifender und nationenübergreifender Perspektive. Zudem lernen sie die Theorie und Praxis der literarischen Übersetzung kennen.

Als Vergleichende Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaft interessiert sich die Komparatistik für Fragen der Intermedialität und des Wechselspiels der Literatur mit anderen Künsten, Medien und kulturellen Diskursen.

Zu den Nationalphilologien und den einzelnen Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften steht die Komparatistik in einem wechselseitig fruchtbaren Austausch- und Ergänzungsverhältnis. Sie bewegt sich in den Übergangs- und Berührungszonen vieler Einzelfächer des literatur-, kunst- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Spektrums. Dabei greift sie deren Erkenntnisse und Fragestellungen auf und erweitert sie. Zugleich eröffnet die komparatistische Perspektive ihrerseits anregende und innovative Gesichtspunkte für das Studium der Nationalliteraturen und der einzelnen Künste.


Organisation der Komparatistik in Göttingen
Das Fach Komparatistik ist ein gemeinsames interdisziplinäres Lehrangebot der Philologien sowie weiterer Fächer des kunst-, kultur- und geschichtswissenschaftlichen Spektrums. Das Fach ist als Lehrverbund angelegt. Einen zentralen Bestandteil des Studienangebots bilden die Aktivitäten des Zentrums für komparatistische Studien der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Dazu gehören die komparatistischen Lehrveranstaltungen der vier Professoren mit Nebenschwerpunkt Komparatistik und die Lehrveranstaltungen des Koordinators des Zentrums sowie die interdisziplinären Ringvorlesungen. Darüber hinaus wählen die Studierenden aus folgenden Fächern: Deutsche Philologie, Slavische Philologie, Englische Philologie, Romanische Philologie, Skandinavistik, Lateinische Philologie, Griechische Philologie, Interkulturelle Germanistik, Geschichte, Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie, Religionswissenschaft, Interkulturelle Theologie, Ethnologie und Kulturanthropologie / Europäische Ethnologie und Musikwissenschaft.

Im Master-Studiengang sollen die Studierenden vertiefte wissenschaftliche Kenntnisse, die Fähigkeit zur selbständigen fachspezifischen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit und zur Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse erwerben. Der Studiengang schafft die wissenschaftliche Grundlage für weiterführende Studien in Promotionsstudiengängen.

Berufsfelder
Der Master-Studiengang Komparatistik mit dem Abschluss „Master of Arts“ (M.A.) bereitet auf Tätigkeiten im Verlagswesen, im internationalen Kulturaustausch, im Kulturmanagement, in Bildungseinrichtungen und im Journalismus vor, befähigt aber auch zur wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn an Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Archiven.