In publica commoda

Protestant Religion (B.A.) (2 subjects/teacher training)

You want to teach the Protestant Religion at secondary school? We will provide you with a first-class basis for this challenging task: You will debate biblical texts and the anthropological prerequisites for religion. You will also enquire about the meaning of Christianity within cultural history. You will get to know the fundamentals of religious education and will reflect on the current meaning of Christian faith in the face of social challenges and in comparison with other religions.

Subject: Protestant Religion (B.A.) (2 subjects/teacher training)
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Standard period of study: 6 semesters
Start of programme: winter semester only

Admission to the summer semester 2018:

  • 1st subject semester: start of studies in the winter semester only
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): start of studies in the winter semester only (application to International Student Office)

Course description
The Bachelor’s degree programme “Protestant Religion (B.A. teaching training)” comprises six semesters. You will find a graphic overview with an exemplary schedule of studies available for download in the right-hand column (unfortunately only available in German).

At the beginning of the course or even prior to the first semester, students are expected to acquire the language skills they need to work with biblical texts and theological sources. Mandatory are the intermediate Latinum and normally the Graecum, but at least subject-related knowledge of ancient Greek.

During the first two subject semesters, students attend overview lectures and introductory seminars on the subjects of systematic theology and church history, and on studying the Old and New Testaments. The students also develop the professional skills required for teachers of religion. These courses teach basic skills of scientific theological work and basic orientation about the most important issues, motives and terminology of Christian theology.

The third and fourth subject semesters introduce theological ethics. Special attention is given to ethical reflection about actions in the school context and ethical education of school pupils. In the subjects of Old and New Testaments, the students intensify their skills of biblical exegesis in these semesters. They develop theological conclusions concerning key issues by studying biblical sources.

In the final subject semesters, the students deal with the theory of religious teaching and learning, didactic approaches to the subject of religion and religious sociology of youth. In addition to these basic skills of religious education, they acquire competencies for ecumenical, inter-cultural and inter-religious communication by studying Judaism and Islam, as well as other world religions and various Christian denominations. This Bachelor’s degree programme can be completed with a Bachelor’s thesis in one of the sub-disciplines of theology.

The subject of Protestant Religion can normally be combined with the subjects of German, English, French, Latin, Mathematics or Spanish. Any other combinations are subject to special application and approval by “Niedersächsisches Landesinstitut für schulische Qualitätsentwicklung” (Lower Saxony State Institute for the Development of Educational Quality). Further information is available in the right-hand column under “Subject combinations”. The Bachelor’s degree programme prepares students for further knowledge expansion in the Master’s degree programme (M.Ed.). The Master’s degree is mandatory for a position as student teacher.

In publica commoda

Evangelische Religion (B.A.) (2-Fächer/Profil Lehramt)

Sie möchten Evangelische Religion an Gymnasien unterrichten? Für diese anspruchsvolle Aufgabe erhalten Sie bei uns eine erstklassige Grundlage: Sie setzen sich mit den biblischen Schriften und den anthropologischen Voraussetzungen für Religion auseinander und fragen nach der Bedeutung des Christentums in der Kulturgeschichte. Sie lernen die Grundlagen religiöser Bildungsprozesse kennen und Sie reflektieren die Gegenwartsbedeutung des christlichen Glaubens angesichts gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen und im Vergleich zu anderen Religionen.


Name des Studienfachs: Evangelische Religion (B.A.) (2-Fächer, Profil Lehramt)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: nur Wintersemester

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2017/18:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienfachs
Das Bachelorstudium „ev. Religion (B.A. Profil Lehramt)“ umfasst sechs Semester. Eine Überblicksgrafik mit einem exemplarischen Studienverlaufsplan finden Sie in der rechten Spalte zum Download bereit.

Zu Beginn des Studiums oder noch vor dem ersten Semester erwerben die Studierenden die Sprachkenntnisse, die sie für die Arbeit an biblischen Texten und theologischen Quellen benötigen. Dies sind verpflichtend das Kleine Latinum sowie üblicherweise das Graecum, mindestens aber fachbezogene Griechischkenntnisse.

In den ersten beiden Fachsemestern besuchen die Studierenden Überblicksvorlesungen und einführende Seminare in den Fächern Systematische Theologie und Kirchengeschichte sowie zum Studium des Alten und Neuen Testaments. Die Studierenden setzen sich darüber hinaus mit den professionellen Anforderungen an Religionslehrkräfte auseinander. Diese Veranstaltungen vermitteln Grundfähigkeiten wissenschaftlich-theologischen Arbeitens und eine grundlegende Orientierung über die wichtigsten Fragen, Motive und Begriffe christlicher Theologie.

Die Fachsemester drei und vier führen in das Fach Ethische Theologie ein. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt der ethischen Reflexion von Handlungen im Schulkontext und dem ethischen Lernen der Schülerinnen und Schüler. In den Fächern Altes Testament und Neues Testament vertiefen die Studierenden in diesen Semestern stark ihre Fähigkeiten zur Exegese biblischer Texte. An Schlüsselthemen erarbeiten sie theologische Erträge der Auseinandersetzung mit biblischen Quellen.

In den abschließenden Fachsemestern setzen sich die Studierenden mit der Theorie religiösen Lehrens und Lernens, mit didaktischen Zugängen zum Fach Religion und mit der Religionssoziologie des Jugendalters auseinander. Neben diesen religionspädagogischen Grundlagen erwerben sie in der Auseinandersetzung mit Judentum, Islam, anderen Religionen der Welt und verschiedenen christlichen Konfessionen Kompetenzen für das ökumenisch-interkulturelle und interreligiöse Gespräch. Das Bachelorstudium kann mit einer Bachelorarbeit in einem der Teilfächer der Theologie abgeschlossen werden.

Das Studienfach Evangelische Religion können Sie regulär mit den Fächern Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Latein, Mathematik und Spanisch kombinieren. Weitere Fächerkombinationen können auf Antrag beim „Niedersächsischen Landesinstitut für schulische Qualitätsentwicklung“ genehmigt werden. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie in der rechten Spalte unter „Fächerkombinationen“. Das Bachelorstudium bereitet die Vertiefung des Wissens im Masterstudiengang (M.Ed.) vor. Dieser ist Voraussetzung für das Referendariat.