Dr. Gösta Ingvar Gabriel

Research project

Chronicle of the Single Monarchy - Edition and interpretation

The label "Chronicle of the Single Monarchy" (a.k.a. "Sumerian King List") refers to a set of manuscripts originating from the late third to early second millennium BCE. They narrate that kingship was brought down from heaven into the first royal city at the dawn of history, and then moved from city to city, determining the course of political history. Although various versions of this narrative exist, they share a common structure and phraseology.

This research project pursues two goals, one philological and one focused on intellectual history. First, I will re-edit the Chronicle of the Single Monarchy, which is especially necessary given that many new manuscripts have been found and published since the publication of the foundational editio princeps of Thorkild Jacobsen (1939). This editing task faces the particular challenge of how to process and present textual material as diverse as the Chronicle of the Single Monarchy.

At the same time, the variety of content suggests that the Chronicle was part of an on-going and vivid discourse on the nature of history and politics. While the Chronicle's historiographical value is hard to be determined, the text does represent an important source of Mesopotamian intellectual history. This is even more true, as many other ancient Near Eastern compositions are literary dependent on the Chronicle of the Single Monarchy. Thus, the Chronicle is interwoven with, for example, the "city laments", the Sumerian Flood Epic, the disputation poem Tree and Reed, the royal hymn Urnamma C, and the Dynastic Chronicle. As a result, the second part of the project focuses on the ideas and concepts of the nature of polity and politics that are transmitted through the Chronicle of the Single Monarchy. Ultimately, this project investigates these ideas and concepts and how they were communicated.






Further research interests

  • Mesopotamian epistemic practices
  • Mesopotamian mythology
  • Development of the cuneiform writing system
  • Literature (theory)

Dr. Gösta Ingvar Gabriel

Forschungsprojekt

Chronik der einzigen Monarchie - Edition und Interpretation

Unter dem Titel "Chronik der einzigen Monarchie" (alias "Sumerische Königsliste") wird eine Gruppe von Manuskripten zusammengefasst, die dem späten dritten und dem frühen zweiten Jahrtausend v. Chr. entstammen. Sie berichten von dem Transport des Königtums in die erste Königstadt am Anfang der Geschichte, wonach es von Stadt zu Stadt weiterwandert und damit den Verlauf der Geschichte determiniert. Obwohl unterschiedliche Stoffvarianten parallel existieren, verbindet sie eine gemeinsame Struktur und Phraseologie.

Das Projekt verfolgt zwei Ziele, ein philologisches und ein wissenshistorisches. Als erstes wird die Chronik der einzigen Monarchie neu ediert, was ein dringendes Forschungsdesideratum der Altorientalistik darstellt, da seit der grundlegenden editio princeps von Thorkild Jacobsen (1939) zahlreiche neue Manuskripte gefunden und publiziert worden sind. Die Editionsarbeit muss sich dabei mit der besonderen Herausforderung auseinandersetzen, wie textliches Material, das so divers ist wie das der Chronik der einzigen Monarchie, angemessen erfasst und präsentiert werden kann.

Zur gleichen Zeit macht die inhaltliche Vielfalt deutlich, dass der Text Gegenstand eines fortlaufenden und lebendigen Diskurses über die Natur von Geschichte und Politik war. Während der historiographische Wert der Chronik der einzigen Monarchie schwierig zu bestimmen ist, repräsentiert der Text eine wichtige Quelle zur mesopotamischen Wissensgeschichte. Dies stimmt umso mehr, da viele andere altorientalische Kompositionen von der Chronik literarisch abhängig sind. Auf diese Weise ist letztere mit bspw. den Städteklagen, dem Sumerischen Sintflutepos, dem Streitgespräch Baum und Rohr, der Königshymne Urnamma C und der Dynastischen Chronik verwoben. Dementsprechend fokussiert der zweite Projektteil Ideen und Konzepte zur Natur der politischen Ordnung, die durch die Chronik der einzigen Monarchie kommuniziert werden, und die Art und Weise, wie dies geschieht.





Weitere Forschungsinteressen

  • Mesopotamische Wissenspraktiken
  • Mesopotamische Mythologie
  • Schriftentwicklung