In publica commoda

Overview of the doctoral degree programmes at the individual graduate schools

Graduate Schools

All PhD students at the University of Göttingen are member of a graduate school. The four graduate schools are tailored to the respective cultures of Humanities, Social -, Agricultural and Forest- as well as Natural Sciences and Mathematics (GSGG, GGG, GFA, GAUSS). The schools cooperate closely as Göttingen Interdisciplinary Graduate Schools (GIGS) to offer services for all doctoral students in doctoral programs and research training groups as well as for doctoral candidates working individually.

The main tasks of the graduate schools include further development of structured PhD programs in cooperation with the faculties, supporting PhD students and networking, integrating international PhD students, qualifying PhD students as well as providing services and support programs.

Graduate School of Humanities Göttingen (GSGG)

The Graduate School of Humanities Göttingen (GSGG) was founded in 2005 as a joint institution of the Faculty of Humanities and the Faculty of Theology. The main objective of our work to provide all our graduating members with a fundamental structure to their doctoral phase as well as the most specific support possible. The GSGG relies on the mutual commitment of its graduating and supervising members who research and teach at one of the more than 40 institutes and centres for Humanities at the University of Göttingen. Currently, 450 doctoral candidates are members of the GSGG, most of whom work towards their doctorate individually.

About 40 members are working within one of four doctoral programmes.

Göttingen Graduate School of Social Sciences (GGG)

The Göttingen Graduate School of Social Sciences (GGG) was founded 2005 and unites PhD students and supervisors of Social Sciences at the Faculties of Law, Social and Economic Sciences plus parts of the Faculties of Agricultural Sciences, Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology.

At GGG professional skills for career path in academia and society are highly focused as well as the development of diversity-competence while supporting the heterogeneous PhD students.

Currently, about 1,100 doctoral students are working towards doctorates in 10 doctoral programs under the umbrella of the GGG.

Graduate School of Forest and Agricultural Sciences Göttingen (GFA)

The GFA was established in 2015 to complete the Göttingen model of Graduate schools with the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences as well as the Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology. The Graduate School provides assistance for the PhD students beginning with the admission to doctoral studies and ending with completing the degree "Ph.D.", "Dr. forest.", "Dr. sc. agr.", "Dr. rer nat", or "Dr. rer. pol.".

Currently, about 500 PhD students study and teach in one of the doctoral programs of the GFA.

Georg August University School of Science (GAUSS)

The GAUSS graduate school of mathematics and natural sciences was founded in 2005 by the five faculties of Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry, Geoscience and Geography, and Biology and Psychology. In addition to the five founding faculties, the Faculty of Medicine, the Max Planck institutes for Solar System Research, Biophysical Chemistry, Experimental Medicine, and Dynamics and Self-Organization as well as the German Primate Center and the German Aerospace Center - Göttingen site, are also involved in GAUSS.

Currently, over 1.650 doctoral candidates are working towards doctorates in 30 programs at the GAUSS graduate school.

Göttingen Graduate Center for Neurosciences, Biophysics, and Molecular Biosciences (GGNB)

Part of the Georg August University School of Sciences (GAUSS) graduate school is the Göttingen Graduate Center for Neurosciences, Biophysics and Molecular Biosciences (GGNB), which was founded in 2007. The center is based on a joint initiative of four faculties of the University of Göttingen (Biology, Chemistry, Medicine, Physics), the Max Planck institutes for Biophysical Chemistry, Experimental Medicine, and Dynamics and Self-Organization as well as the German Primate Center (DPZ). It currently includes fourteen doctoral programs and over 430 doctoral students. The GGNB was successful in the first and second rounds of the excellence initiative of the German federal and state governments. Four International Max Planck Research Schools are part of the GGNB.

International Max Planck Research Schools in Göttingen

The International Max Planck Research Schools (IMPRS) are an excellent example for the cooperation between the University and the local Max Planck Institutes, providing young scientists with excellent research conditions to promote their individual careers. Five International Max Planck Research Schools are located on the Göttingen Campus:

In publica commoda

Übersicht über die Promotionsprogramme und -studiengänge der einzelnen Graduiertenschulen

Göttinger Graduiertenschulen

An der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen sind alle Promovierenden Mitglied einer Graduiertenschule. Die vier Graduiertenschulen (GSGG, GGG, GFA, GAUSS) sind an den jeweiligen Fächerkulturen der Geistes-, Gesellschafts-, Agrar- und Forst- sowie Naturwissenschaften und Mathematik ausgerichtet. Durch enge Zusammenarbeit und gemeinsame Angebote bieten die Graduiertenschulen im Göttinger Modell interdisziplinärer Graduiertenschulen (GIGS) einen idealen Rahmen für Promotionsprogramme, Graduiertenkollegs und Individualpromovierende.

Zu den zentralen Aufgaben der Graduiertenschulen gehören die Weiterentwicklung der strukturierten Promotion mit den Fakultäten, Beratung und Vernetzung von Promovierenden, Integration von internationalen Promovierenden, Qualifizierung der Promovierenden sowie Serviceleistungen und Fördermaßnahmen.

Graduiertenschule für Geisteswissenschaften Göttingen (GSGG)

Die Graduiertenschule für Geisteswissenschaften (GSGG) wurde im Jahr 2005 als gemeinsame Einrichtung der Philosophischen und der Theologischen Fakultät gegründet. Die Hauptaufgabe der GSGG besteht darin, allen promovierenden Mitgliedern eine grundlegende Strukturierung der Promotionsphase zu bieten und sie zugleich möglichst spezifisch zu unterstützen. Die GSGG wird von dem gemeinsamen Engagement ihrer promovierenden und betreuenden Mitglieder getragen, die an den über 40 geisteswissenschaftlichen Instituten und Zentren der Georg-August-Universität forschen und lehren. Derzeit promovieren etwa 450 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden an der GSGG, von denen die meisten einer strukturierten Individualpromotion nachgehen. Nur etwa 40 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden promovieren in den 3 bestehenden Promotionsprogrammen.

Göttinger Graduiertenschule Gesellschaftswissenschaften (GGG)

Die Göttinger Graduiertenschule Gesellschaftswissenschaften (GGG) wurde 2005 gegründet und verbindet Promovierende und Promotionsbetreuende der Gesellschaftswissenschaften an der Rechts-, Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät sowie an Teilen der Fakultäten für Agrarwissenschaft, Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie. Besondere Schwerpunkte bilden in der GGG die Qualifizierung für universitäre und außeruniversitäre Berufe sowie die Weiterentwicklung von Diversitätskompetenz bei der Begleitung der heterogenen Promovierenden.

Derzeit sind 1.100 Promovierende und 10 Promotionsprogramme in der GGG eingebunden.

Graduiertenschule für Forst- und Agrarwissenschaften Göttingen (GFA)

Die GFA wurde im Jahr 2015 gegründet, um das Modell der Göttinger Graduiertenschulen mit der Fakultät der Agrarwissenschaften und der Fakultät für Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie zu komplettieren. Die Graduiertenschule begleitet die Promovierenden dieser Fakultäten von der Zulassung bis zum Abschluss der Promotion mit dem Titel "Dr. rer. nat.", "Dr. forest.", "Dr. sc. agr.", "Dr. rer. pol." oder "Ph.D.".

Zurzeit forschen ca. 500 Promovierende in einem der Promotionsprogramme der GFA.

Georg August University School of Science (GAUSS)

Die GAUSS Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften wurde 2005 von den Fakultäten für Mathematik und Informatik, Physik, Chemie, Geowissenschaften und Geologie, sowie Biologie und Psychologie gegründet. Zusätzlich zu den fünf Gründungsfakultäten beteiligen sich die Fakultät für Medizin, die Max-Planck-Institute für Sonnensystemforschung, Biophysikalische Chemie, Experimentelle Medizin und Dynamik und Selbstorganisation, sowie das Deutsche Primaten Zentrum und das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (Standort Göttingen) an GAUSS.

Zurzeit promovieren über 1500 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in 30 Promotionsprogrammen innerhalb der GAUSS Graduiertenschule.

Göttinger Graduiertenschule für Neurowissenschaften, Biophysik und molekulare Biowissenschaften (GGNB)

Teil der naturwissenschaftlichen GAUSS ist die Göttinger Graduiertenschule für Neurowissenschaften, Biophysik und molekulare Biowissenschaften (GGNB), welche 2007 gegründet wurde. Die Schule basiert auf einer gemeinsamen Initiative von vier Fakultäten der Universität Göttingen (Biologie, Chemie, Physik und Medizin), den Max-Planck-Instituten für biophysikalische Chemie, experimentelle Medizin und Dynamik und Selbstorganisation, sowie dem Deutschen Primatenzentrum (DPZ). Es umfasst zurzeit vierzehn Promotionsprogramme und mehr als 430 Promovierende. Die GGNB war in der ersten und zweiten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder erfolgreich. Vier International Max Planck Research Schools sind in die GGNB integriert.

International Max Planck Research Schools in Göttingen

Die International Max Planck Research Schools (IMPRS) sind ein hervorragendes Beispiel der Kooperation von Universität und Max-Planck-Instituten vor Ort. Diese Promotionsprogramme geben begabten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern die Chance unter herausragenden Forschungsbedingungen zu promovieren.