Prof. Dr. Christoph Dittrich

Human Geographer; Head of the Department of Human Geography (since 2011), Director of the Institute of Geography (2013-2021), Dean of the Faculty of Geoscience and Geography (since April 2021).
The focus of my research and teaching activities is on human geography with special regard to Development Geography and New urban studies. I work theory-led and practice-oriented on agri-food systems and sustainable resource use in mega cities of the Global South. I also deal with conflictual human-environment relations in globalising contexts. My regional focus is on South and Southeast Asia, especially India and Indonesia. In teaching, I place particular emphasis on problem-oriented and application-related regional competences, taking into account the gender perspective and using modern didactic approaches. Involving students in research and teaching is a matter of course for me.
My doctoral project (completed in 1995) took me to the high mountain region of Northern Pakistan (DFG-funded), where I dealt with questions of smallholder food security. The habilitation project (completed in 2002) dealt with globalisation effects on vulnerable groups in the Indian software metropolis Bengaluru (DFG-funded). From 2006 to 2013, I was involved in a federally funded collaborative research project on sustainability issues in the Indian metropolis of Hyderabad (BMBF-funded). From 2011 to 2015, I conducted research on land use conflicts in Sumatra/Indonesia as part of the Collaborative Research Centre 990 (together with H. Faust). Since 2016, I have been principal investigator (PI) in the DFG research group FOR2432 "Social-Ecological Systems at the Indian Rural-Urban Interface: Functions, Scales, and Dynamics of Transition". My team is interested in changes of food behaviour among middle classes in rural-urban Bengaluru under conditions of globalisation and the COVID-19 pandemic. I am also involved in research projects related to demographic change, public services, health and housing in Lower Saxony.

As scientific advisor of the journal "Geographische Rundschau", I commit myself to a high-quality and contemporary presentation of Human Geography and attach great importance to the transfer of knowledge and competence.

Other activities:
Member of the scientific advisory board of the experimental laboratory for young people X-Lab, University of Göttingen.
Reviewer for DFG, DAAD, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Minerva Foundation and various journals.

Humangeographie
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Dittrich klein

Kontakt:
Geographisches Institut,
Abteilung Humangeographie
Goldschmidtstr. 5
D-37077 Göttingen
Tel.:+49-551-39-8021
Fax:+49-551-39-12.140

E-mail: christoph.dittrich
@geo.uni-goettingen.de

Sprechstunde:
Mi., 13.30-14.30 Uhr, Raum 5.142



Prof. Dr. Christoph Dittrich



Leitung der Abteilung Humangeographie (seit 2011), Geschäftsführung des Geographischen Instituts (seit 2013).


Im Zentrum meiner Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit stehen humangeographische Themenstellungen mit Entwicklungsbezug. Ich arbeite theoriegeleitet und praxisorientiert zu Fragen der nachhaltigen Ressourcennutzung in Megastädten und Metropolregionen der Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer. Darüber hinaus beschäftigte ich mich mit konfliktträchtigen Mensch-Umwelt Beziehungen in globalisierten Kontexten. Regionaler Schwerpunkt sind die Länder Süd- und Südostasiens, hier insbesondere Indien und Indonesien. In der Lehre lege ich unter Berücksichtigung der Geschlechterperspektive und unter Einsatz zeitgemäßer Lehr- und Lernformen besonderen Wert auf die Vermittlung problemorientierter und anwendungsbezogener Regionalkompetenzen. Die Einbeziehung der Studierenden in Forschung und Lehre ist für mich selbstverständlich.


Mein Promotionsvorhaben (abgeschlossen 1995) führte mich in den Hochgebirgsraum Nordpakistans (DFG-gefördert), wo ich mich mit Fragen kleinbäuerlicher Ernährungssicherung beschäftigte. Das Habilitationsvorhaben (abgeschlossen 2002) beschäftigte sich mit Globalisierungseffekten in der indischen Computermetropole Bangalore (DFG-gefördert). Von 2006-2013 wirkte ich in einem aus Bundesmitteln geförderten Verbundprojekt mit, das sich der Nachhaltigkeitsproblematik in der indischen Großmetropole Hyderabad verschrieben hatte (BMBF-gefördert). Von 2011 bis 2015 forschte ich in Sumatra/Indonesien im Rahmen des Sonderforschungsbereichs 990 (gemeinsam mit H. Faust) zu Landnutzungskonflikten. Seit 2016 bin ich als Projektnehmer (PI) in der DFG-Forschergruppe FOR2432 "Social-Ecological Systems at the Indian Rural-Urban Interface: Functions, Scales, and Dynamics of Transition" aktiv. Hier gilt mein Interesse den Veränderungen im Nahrungskonsumverhalten der urbanen Mittelschichten Bangalores. Ich engagiere in einem Projekt zur Gesundheitsregion Südniedersachsen (gefördert aus Mitteln des Landes Niedersachsen) und im Rahmen der eCampus Initiative der Univ. Göttingen im Pilotprojekt "Digital Manaslu", der wissenschaftlich-didaktischen Aufarbeitung des Bildnachlasses des in Nepal tödlich verunglückten Kollegen Prof. M. Kuhle.


Darüber hinaus engagiere ich mich in der Deutsch-Indischen Beratungsgruppe (DIBG). In meiner Funktion als wissenschaftlicher Beirat der Fachzeitschrift "Geographische Rundschau" setze ich mich für eine qualitätsvolle und zeitgemäße Außendarstellung des Faches ein.