Prof. Dr. Reimund P. Rötter

Research interests:


I am an agronomist, agrosystems modeller and agro-ecologist with more than 25 years work experience in Europe, Africa and Asia. My research interests lie in understanding and finding solutions for the multi-facetted challenges of achieving food security in a changing climate under increasingly limited resource availability - explicitly considering the increasing need to reduce the environmental impact of agricultural production.

Research foci:


  • Understanding of the production ecology of important tropical plant production systems, in particular interactions of genotype-environment-management through empirical experiment - based research
  • Analysis of the effects of climate variability and weather extremes on yield and production of major crops, land use and food security - as well as their resource use efficiencies with respect to actual and future climatic conditions
  • Development and improvement of dynamic crop and agricultural systems models for the application at different scales
  • Utilizing and managing genetic diversity to develop resilent crops/cropping systems
  • Improvement and application of integrative methods and models for the interdisciplinary analysis of the sustainability of current and alternative future agricultural production and land use systems - with due consideration of the relevant spatial and temporal scales


Key publications:


Rötter, R.P., Hoffmann, M.P., Koch, M., Müller, C. (2018). Progress in modelling agricultural impacts of and adaptations to climate change. Current Opinion in Plant Biology
DOI: 10.1016/j.pbi.2018.05.009

Rötter, R.P., M. Appiah, E. Fichtler, K.C. Kersebaum, M. Trnka, M.P Hoffmann (2018). Linking modelling and experimentation to better capture crop impacts of agroclimatic extremes - A review Field Crops Research 221, 142–156.
DOI: 10.1016/j.fcr.2018.02.023

Rötter, R.P., et al. (2015). Use of crop simulation modelling to aid ideotype design of future cereal cultivars Journal of Experimental Botany 66, 3463-3476.
DOI:10.1093/jxb/erv098

Trnka, M., Rötter, R.P., Ruiz-Ramos, M. Kersebaum, K-C., Olesen, J.E. & Semenov, M.A. (2014). Adverse weather conditions for wheat production in Europe will become more frequent with climate change. Nature Climate Change, 4, 637-643
DOI: 10.1038/nclimate2242

Kassie, B.T., Van Ittersum, M.K., Hengsdijk, H., Asseng, S., Wolf, J. & Rötter, R.P. (2014). Climate-induced yield variability and yield gaps of maize (Zea mays L.) in the Central Rift Valley of Ethiopia Field Crops Research 160, 41-53.
DOI:10.1016/j.fcr.2014.02.010

Rötter, R.P., Höhn, J., Trnka, M., Fronzek, S. Carter, T.R. & Kahiluoto, H. (2013). Modelling shifts in agroclimate and crop cultivar response under climate change. Ecology and Evolution, 3, 4197-4214. DOI:10.1002/ece3.782

Rötter, R.P., et al. (2011). Crop–climate models need an overhaul Nature Climate Change 1, 175-177.
DOI:10.1038/nclimate1152

Tropischer Pflanzenbau und Agrosystem Modellierung

Prof. Dr. Reimund P. Rötter

Forschungsinteressen:


Ich bin Agronom, Agrarsystem Modellierer und Agrarökologe mit mehr als 25 Jahren Berufserfahrung in Europa, Afrika und Asien. Mein Forschungsinteresse liegt im Verstehen, Erarbeiten und Aufzeigen von Lösungswegen für die vielschichtigen Herausforderungen die uns durch die Notwendigkeit einer weltweit verbesserten Ernährungssicherung, unter Berücksichtigung steigender Ressourcenknappheit und der Umwelteffekte der Agrarproduktion, in einem sich verändernden Klima gestellt werden.

Forschungsschwerpunkte:


  • Verstehen von Produktionsökologie und Funktionsweise wichtiger tropischer Pflanzenproduktionssysteme; insbesondere der Wechselwirkungen von Genotyp-Umwelt-Anbaupraxis, unterstützt durch experimentelle Forschung
  • Analyse der Folgen von Klimavariabilität und Extremwetterereignissen für die Ertragsentwicklung und Produktion der wichtigsten tropischen Nutzpflanzen, Landnutzungsmuster und Ernährungssicherung - sowie die Effizienz der Ressourcennutzung unter heutigen und zukünftigen Klimaverhältnissen
  • Entwicklung und Verbesserung von prozessbasierten Pflanzenwachstums- und Agrosystem - Modellen für Anwendungen auf verschiedenen Skalenebenen
  • Quantifizierung von Unsicherheiten bei Modellberechnung von Pflanzenerträgen und anderen Variablen des landwirtschaftlichen Produktionsprozesses
  • Weiterentwicklung und Anwendung von integrativen Methoden und Modellen für die interdisziplinäre Analyse der Nachhaltigkeit von heutigen und zukünftigen landwirtschaftlichen Produktions- bzw. Landnutzungssystemen unter Beachtung der bedeutenden räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalenebenen


Schlüsselpublikationen:


Asseng, S. et al. Nature Climate Change 5, 143-147 (2014). doi:10.1038/nclimate2470

Kahiluoto, H. et al. Global Environmental Change 25, 186-193 (2014). doi:org/10.1016/j.gloenvcha.2014.02.002

Kassie, B. et al. Field Crops Research 160, 41-53 (2014). doi:10.1016/j.fcr.2014.02.010

Rötter, R., Carter, T., Olesen, J. & Porter, J. Nature Climate Change 1, 175-177 (2011). doi:10.1038/nclimate1152

Rötter, R. et al. Ecol Evol 3, 4197-4214 (2013). doi:10.1002/ece3.782

Rötter, R., Tao, F., Höhn, J. & Palosuo, T. EXBOTJ 66, 3463-3476 (2015). doi:10.1093/jxb/erv098

Trnka, M., et al. Nature Climate Change 4, 637-643 (2014).
doi:10.1038/nclimate2242