Centre of Biodiversity and Sustainable Land Use

schoenhagen


About CBL


The centre bundles the expertise available at the Göttingen site in the field of biodiversity and sustainability research. Researchers and teachers in the life and social sciences are dedicated to the worldwide unsolved problem of how to reconcile population growth, sustainable resource management and biodiversity. The Center pursues a holistic approach: the interdisciplinary projects in research and teaching involve national and international partners - mainly from developing and emerging countries. In this way, the development of competencies is encouraged from the very beginning and a sustainable global network is created, which is kept alive by active alumni work. The supporting faculties of the Centre are the Faculties of Agricultural Sciences, Biology and Psychology and Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology.


Research


The research activities focus on fundamental and applied topics of ecosystem research, biodiversity and sustainable land use practices. A better understanding of ecosystem processes and functions of biological diversity should enable us to recognise and preserve its value and to develop adapted conservation concepts and strategies based on this understanding. A further focus is the development of site-adapted use systems for arable land, grassland and forests.


Teaching


The CBL runs three consecutive courses of study on the topic of "Biological Diversity and Ecology". This interdisciplinary study program is provided by the supporting faculties of the Center and the Faculty of Geosciences and Geography. It is the only course of studies of this kind in Germany that offers a continuous education from Bachelor to Dr. rer. nat. The Centre is also involved in numerous courses and study programmes in the fields of agroforestry, agriculture and nature conservation.


Alumni work


In addition, CBL supports students during their stay abroad and career planning by establishing contacts with international partners and alumni. Alumni work in the international master programmes of the Faculties of Forest and Agricultural Sciences as well as superordinate courses, summer schools or alumni meetings on the topics of functional and evolutionary biodiversity research, ecology, sustainable land use and nature conservation support the university's superordinate alumni strategy.

Zentrum für Biodiversität und Nachhaltige Landnutzung
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
CBL_202

Zentrum für Biodiversität und Nachhaltige Landnutzung (CBL)

Geschäftsführender Direktor:
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Brümmer
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 5
D 37073 Göttingen
Tel. 0551 39 4811
Fax. 0551 39 12177
bbruemm@gwdg.de


Administrativer Leiter:
Dr. Paul Winkler
Büsgenweg 1
D 37077 Göttingen
Tel. 0551 39 4077
Fax. 0551 39 4556
pwinkle@gwdg.de



Struktur



Aktuelles



Abgeschlossene Veranstaltungen



Über das CBL
Das Zentrum bündelt die am Standort Göttingen vorhandenen Kompetenzen auf dem Gebiet der Biodiversität und der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung. Forschende und Lehrende der Lebens- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften widmen sich dem weltweit ungelösten Problem, wie Bevölkerungswachstum, nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement und Biodiversität in Einklang zu bringen sind. Das Zentrum verfolgt dabei einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz: die interdisziplinären Projekte in Forschung und Lehre binden nationale und internationale Partner – schwerpunktmäßig aus Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern – mit ein. So wird von Anfang an der Aufbau von Kompetenzen gefördert und ein tragfähiges weltweites Netzwerk geschaffen, das durch aktive Alumni-Arbeit lebendig gehalten wird. Trägerfakultäten des Zentrums sind die Fakultäten für Agrarwissenschaften, für Biologie und Psychologie und für Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie.

Forschung
Die Forschungsaktivitäten konzentrieren sich auf grundlegende und angewandte Themen der Ökosystemforschung, der Biodiversität und der nachhaltigen Landnutzungsverfahren. Durch ein besseres Verständnis der ökosystemaren Prozesse und Funktionen der biologischen Vielfalt sollen deren Wert erkannt und erhalten werden, um darauf aufbauend angepasste Erhaltungskonzepte und –strategien zu entwickeln. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung standortangepasster Nutzungssysteme für Acker, Grünland und Forsten.

Lehre
Das CBL leitet drei konsekutive Studiengänge zum Thema „Biologische Diversität und Ökologie“. Dieses interdisziplinäre Studienangebot wird von den Trägerfakultäten des Zentrums sowie der Fakultät für Geowissenschaften und Geografie bereitgestellt. Es ist der einzige Studiengang dieser Art in Deutschland, der eine durchgängige Ausbildung vom Bachelor bis zum Dr. rer. nat. anbietet. An zahlreichen Lehrveranstaltungen und Studiengängen in den Themenbereichen Agroforst, Landwirtschaft und Naturschutz ist das Zentrum ebenfalls beteiligt.

Alumni-Netzwerke
Zusammen mit den Universitäten Kassel und Marburg hat das CBL in vielen Regionen der Erde ein Alumni-Netz aufgebaut. Workshops und Symposia zu den zentralen Themen des Zentrums ermöglichen einen regelmäßigen wissenschaftlichen Austausch.