In publica commoda

Applied Data Science (B.Sc.)


Subject: Applied Data Science (B.Sc.)
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Standard duration of study: 6 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Extramural studies possible

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: limited admission (application to the University)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: limited admission (application to the University)
  • International applicants (non-EU): limited admission (application to International Student Services)



What is Applied Data Science?
The field of data science includes aspects of mathematics, computer science and statistics. Data science deals with data analysis and the knowledge gained from data, as well as the techniques required for processing large and partially unstructured data volume. In the Bachelor’s degree programme “Applied Data Science", detailed knowledge of data analysis is taught on the basis of computer science and mathematics. In an application subject, students are also introduced to the practical application of the data analysis methods they have learned. The data analysis courses include aspects of machine learning, statistics, pattern recognition and the infrastructures required for effective analyses. Students may choose economics, biology, digital humanities, medical computer science or breeding informatics as application subjects.

Why study in Göttingen?
In Göttingen, we set a high value on close connection with the application subject. Moreover, the courses in mathematics, computer science and statistics in Göttingen provide ideal conditions for a multi-disciplinary degree programme such as data science.

Who is suitable?
Anyone choosing Applied Data Science as their study subject should be interested in formal mathematics as well as application-related practical work. The ability to work in a team is a vital prerequisite for daily professional work later on. English language skills are required. Special subject-related knowledge, especially in programming, is not required.

Structure of the degree programme
In the Bachelor’s degree programme, basic knowledge in mathematics, statistics and computer science, including programming, is taught first. On this basis, the students’ knowledge is subsequently expanded with the electives in “Data Science” (e.g. machine learning or infrastructures for big data) and the “application subject”. In additional internships, we expand the knowledge further by practical, in-depth coverage of specific topics.

Occupational fields
Data scientists are currently sought after in virtually all subject areas, in research as well as in industry and commerce. Potential employers can be found especially in marketing, banks, insurance and reinsurance companies, the IT sector, business consultancies, public research institutes or corporate R&D departments, the pharmaceutical sector (clinical studies), in public health organisations and at universities. Thanks to the close involvement of this degree programme with the areas of application directly at the University, potential employment opportunities exist especially in research departments engaged in data-driven research in the areas mentioned above. In Germany, there is currently a shortage of specialist staff in all of these areas.

In publica commoda

Angewandte Data Science (B.Sc.)

Name des Studienfachs: Angewandte Data Science (B.Sc.)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Teilzeitstudium möglich

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2018/19:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei Studium International)



Was ist Angewandte Data Science?
Das Gebiet "Data Science" ist an der Schnittstelle der Mathematik, der Informatik, und der Statistik angesiedelt. Data Science beschäftigt sich mit der Analyse und dem Erkenntnisgewinn aus Daten sowie den benötigten Techniken zum Verarbeiten von großen und teilweise unstrukturierten Datenmengen. Im Bachelorstudiengang "Angewandte Data Science" werden aufbauend auf den Grundlagen der Informatik und Mathematik vertiefende Kenntnisse der Datenanalyse vermittelt. Weiterhin lernen Studierende in einem Anwendungsfach praktischen Einsatz der erlernten Methoden zur Datenanalyse kennen. Zu den vermittelten Kenntnissen der Datenanalyse gehören Aspekte des maschinellen Lernens, der Statistik, der Mustererkennung und der für eine effiziente Analyse benötigten Infrastrukturen. Als Anwendungsfächer können Studierende Wirtschaft, Biologie, digitale Geisteswissenschaften, medizinische Informatik, und Züchtungsinformatik wählen.

Warum in Göttingen studieren?
In Göttingen wird besonderer Wert auf die enge Verknüpfung mit dem Anwendungsfach gelegt. Weiterhin bietet das Umfeld in der Mathematik, Informatik, und Statistik in Göttingen die idealen Bedingungen für einen multidisziplinären Studiengang wie Data Science.

Wer ist geeignet?
Wer Angewandte Data Science als Studienfach wählt, sollte sowohl an einer mathematisch formalen als auch an einer anwendungsbezogenen praktischen Arbeitsweise Interesse haben. Die Fähigkeit zur Teamarbeit ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für den späteren Berufsalltag. Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache sind erforderlich. Spezielle Fachkenntnisse, insbesondere in der Programmierung, werden nicht vorausgesetzt.

Aufbau des Studiums
Im Bachelorstudiengang werden zuerst Grundkenntnisse in Mathematik, Statistik und Informatik inklusive Programmierung vermittelt. Aufbauend darauf wird das Wissen durch die Wahlbereiche "Data Science" (z.B. maschinelles Lernen oder Infrastrukturen für Big Data) und "Anwendungsfach" vertieft. Zusätzliche Praktika vertiefen das Wissen durch praktische und intensive Behandlung von einzelnen Themen.

Berufsfelder
Data Scientist werden derzeit in nahezu allen Fachdisziplinen gesucht, sowohl in der Forschung, als auch in der Wirtschaft. Mögliche Arbeitgeber finden sich insbesondere im Marketing, in Banken, Versicherungen und Rückversicherungen, im IT-Bereich, in Unternehmensberatungen, in öffentlichen Forschungsinstituten oder Entwicklungs- und Forschungsabteilungen in Unternehmen, im Pharmabereich (Klinische Studien) sowie im öffentlichen Gesundheitswesen, in Hochschulen und Universitäten. Durch die Nähe der Ausbildung zu den Anwendungsbereichen direkt an der Universität sind insbesondere Forschungsabteilungen, die sich mit datengetriebener Forschung in den betrachteten Domänen beschäftigen, mögliche Arbeitsgebiete. In allen diesen Domänen mangelt es derzeit in Deutschland an Spezialisten.