In publica commoda

Eastern European History (M.A.)

Programme: Eastern European History (M.A.)
Degree: Master of Arts
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in Eastern European History (78 C); Joint Honours MA in Eastern European History (42 C); module packages: Eastern European History as MA minor subjects (36 C/18 C)
Admission requirements for Single and Joint Honours MA: Overview
Language requirements: Sufficient knowledge of an Eastern European language (B1 Certificate according to CEF)
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)

Language of the programme: German

Programme description
The Master’s degree programme is intended to provide an in-depth education in Eastern European history. Eastern European history is a sub-discipline of history, which in Göttingen addresses primarily questions of modern global historiography and is therefore closely related to modern history, contemporary history and the subjects of non-European history. In terms of regional studies, Eastern European history is also closely related to Slavonic studies. Studies of Slavonic literature and linguistics not only secure a scientific approach to Eastern European history by extensive use of its source languages, but also open up perspectives of cultural science. The main focus of the degree programme lies on modern and contemporary history of Eastern Europe in the context of global history. With this programme, you will acquire core competencies not only for the Eastern European region, but also a special understanding of the perspectives of global history at a time when non-European actors are coming more and more into the focus of Eurocentric sciences. Here, Eastern European history can take on the role of a hinge, combining the achievements of traditional European sciences with the new perspectives of various area studies. The degree programme also teaches special knowledge to be used in scientific research relating to history and Eastern Europe both inside and outside the University. Consequently, the knowledge expansion profile (78 C) includes the opportunity (not mandatory but highly recommended) to study one semester at an Eastern European university. For this purpose, cooperation agreements have been concluded with the University of Warsaw, the Charles University in Prague, the Higher School of Economics (HSE) in St. Petersburg and the Russian State University for the Humanities (RGGU) in Moscow.

Study and research foci in Göttingen
Eastern European history in Göttingen has placed a special emphasis on Russian imperial history from the 18th century to the present. In this context, it takes a special interest in the peoples around the edges of the empire. Here, Ukrainians, Poles, Jews, Estonians, as well as the inhabitants of Siberia and Central Asia have moved from the margin to the centre, thus building a bridge between Eastern European and non-European history. The topics we cover include questions of gender history, space and time, violence and war, sports and the sense of belonging, as well as knowledge, remembrance and history.

Occupational fields
With this broad orientation towards history and cultural sciences, the Master’s degree in “Eastern European history” is intended to prepare students for all professions which require a qualification oriented on science and history and in-depth knowledge of the specific Eastern European regions, as well as the Asian territories of the former Soviet Union. These include work in NGOs and developmental cooperation, in political consulting and journalism, in museums and exhibitions, in public and private institutions dealing with Eastern Europe, as well as in international organisations and areas of science and education both inside and outside universities.

In publica commoda

Osteuropäische Geschichte (M.A.)

Name des Studienangebots: Osteuropäische Geschichte
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester.
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Osteuropäische Geschichte (78 C); Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Osteuropäische Geschichte (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpaket Osteuropäische Geschichte (36 C/18 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen für Masterstudiengang: Überblick
Sprachvoraussetzungen: Ausreichende Kenntnisse einer osteuropäischen Sprache auf dem Niveau B1 des GER.
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)



Darstellung des Studienangebots:
Der Master-Studiengang soll eine fachspezifisch vertiefende Ausbildung in der Osteuropäischen Geschichte ermöglichen. Die Osteuropäische Geschichte ist eine Teildisziplin der Geschichtswissenschaft, die in Göttingen vor allem Fragen der neueren Globalgeschichtsschreibung adressiert und deshalb eng mit der Neueren Geschichte, der Zeitgeschichte und mit den außereuropäischen historischen Fächern verknüpft ist. Regionalwissenschaftlich ist die Osteuropäische Geschichte zudem mit der Slavistik verbunden. Die slavistische Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft sichert nicht nur die wissenschaftliche Beschäftigung mit einem großen Teil der Quellensprachen der Osteuropäischen Geschichte, sondern eröffnet auch kulturwissenschaftliche Zugänge. Der Schwerpunkt des Studiums liegt auf der Neueren und Zeitgeschichte des östlichen Europas in globalgeschichtlicher Perspektive. Sie erwerben damit Kernkompetenzen nicht nur für die Region des östlichen Europa, sondern auch einen besonderen Zugang zu den Perspektiven der Globalgeschichte in einer Zeit, in der außereuropäische Akteure immer mehr in den Blickpunkt der eurozentrierten Wissenschaften rücken. Die Osteuropäische Geschichte kann hier eine Scharnierfunktion einnehmen und die Errungenschaften der traditionellen europäischen Wissenschaften mit den neuen Perspektiven der verschiedenen Area Studies verbinden. Zudem vermittelt der Studiengang auch Spezialkenntnisse für eine historisch-osteuropabezogene wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit in und außerhalb der Universität. Im Vertiefungsprofil (78 C) ist daher die Möglichkeit (nicht obligatorisch, aber sehr empfohlen) eines einsemestrigen Studiums an einer osteuropäischen Universität vorgesehen. Zu diesem Zweck wurden Kooperationsvereinbarungen mit der Universität Warschau, der Karls-Universität Prag, der Higher School of Economics (HSE) in St. Petersburg und der Russischen Humanistischen Universität (RGGU) in Moskau abgeschlossen.

Schwerpunkte in Göttingen:
Die Göttinger Osteuropäische Geschichte hat einen Schwerpunkt in der russländischen imperialen Geschichte vom 18. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. Als solche interessiert sie sich besonders für die Bevölkerungsgruppen an den Rändern des Imperiums. Ukrainer, Polen, Juden, Esten, aber auch die Bevölkerung Sibiriens oder Zentralasiens rücken bei uns vom Rand in den Mittelpunkt und schlagen so die Brücke von einer ost- zu einer außereuropäischen Geschichte. Thematisch beschäftigen wir uns mit Fragen der Geschlechtergeschichte, mit Raum und Zeit, ebenso wie mit Gewalt und Krieg, mit Sport und Zugehörigkeit, mit Wissen, Erinnerung und Geschichte.

Berufsfelder:
Mit dieser breiten historisch- kulturwissenschaftlichen Ausrichtung soll der Master „Osteuropäische Geschichte“ auf alle Berufe vorbereiten, die eine wissenschaftliche historisch orientierte Qualifikation und eine vertiefte Kenntnis der spezifischen Regionen des östlichen Europas und in den asiatischen Gebieten der ehemaligen Sowjetunion voraussetzen. Dazu gehören Tätigkeiten in NGOs und in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, in der Politikberatung, im Pressewesen, im Museums- und Ausstellungsbereich, in öffentlichen und privaten mit Osteuropa befassten Einrichtungen und internationalen Organisationen ebenso wie in solchen der universitären und außeruniversitären Wissenschaft und Bildung.