Banking

You will need the following documents to open a bank account:

  • German identity card and/or passport dentity card and/or passport
  • Registration certificate from the city or residence permit (or both)
  • If applicable, a copy of your employment contract

Online banks also offer current accounts without a German registration certificate. The Welcome Centre can provide you with further information.

Most people in Germany have a current account for everyday payments. Their salary is paid directly into this account, rent is paid from this account via bank transfer, and they use their EC/Maestro card to withdraw cash from ATMs and pay for purchases in shops.

Almost all banks offer current accounts. Here are the differences between the different offerings:

  • Account maintenance fees: Many banks charge a monthly account maintenance fee. However, there are also banks which offer free current accounts.
  • Free cash withdrawals from ATMs: Most EC cards (debit cards) allow you to withdraw money from ATMs of your own bank. Some banks charge a fee if you withdraw money from ATMs of other banks.
  • International transfer fees
  • Minimum monthly deposit (especially with free current accounts)

Find out about the various conditions before you open a current account – it’s worth making a comparison!

There are three ways to make payments via a current account:

  • Bank transfer: direct payment from your current account to another account (for instance, to pay bills). You can make transfers online (usually free of charge) or at the counter of your bank (often for a fee).
  • Standing order: direct, regular payment, which is scheduled on a certain day from your current account to another account (e.g. rent, electricity). You must set up a standing order ahead of time through your bank website (usually free of charge) or at the counter (often for a fee).
  • Direct debit mandate/direct debit authorisation (Lastschriftverfahren): :A direct debit authorisation means that you allow another person to withdraw money from your current account. The granting of a direct debit authorisation is common for current contracts eg mobile phone contracts, memberships in fitness studios and so on.

Most payments are made by bank transfer. Cheques are not common in Germany.

If you are receiving a regular salary, banks will allow you to overdraw your account, if necessary, i.e. to take out a (small) loan without formalities (“Dispo-Kredit”). This gives you flexibility, but you pay very high interest rates and fees for using the overdraft facility.

Cashless payments are widely available in Germany. For smaller amounts of less than €10, however, cash remains the norm. In smaller shops, it is more than likely that only cash is accepted. If in doubt, ask beforehand and look at the entrance doors of shops and restaurants to see which means of payment are accepted.

In Germany, there are several ways to pay without cash:

Credit cards are a bit less frequently used in Germany, in comparison to other countries. Some shops only accept EC/Maestro cards or no cashless payment at all. The most widely used credit cards are Visa and Mastercard. ApplePay and GooglePay can be used in most placs where credit cards are accepted, also with contactless payment options.

After opening a current account, the EC/Maestro card and PIN number will be sent to you separately by post. You can use the EC/Maestro card to withdraw money and pay in shops. .

Keep your EC/Maestro card in a safe place and memorise your PIN number. Do not write down your PIN number and absolutely do not keep it in your wallet with your card. If your card is lost or stolen, report it to your bank immediately.

With contactless payment, you do not have to insert your card into the reader at the checkout. You simply hold up your card to the reader. Typically, you only need to enter your PIN number above a certain amount (often €50). You can tell if your card supports contactless payment by the “wave” symbol on your card. ApplePay and GooglePay work on the same principle. Both options are available wherever contactless payments are accepted.

You can withdraw cash:

  • At ATMs belonging to your bank (free of charge) and other banks (usually for a fee) with your EC/Maestro card and credit card.
  • Up to €200: when making a purchase at supermarkets and drug stores (e.g. DM, Rewe) using your EC/Maestro card, you can withdraw additional cash if your purchase value exceeds a minimum amount (usually €10 or €20). Just tell them before you pay that you want to withdraw some additional money.

You can perform banking transactions (such as transfers, checking your account balance, etc) online. This is common for online banks and retail bank branches.

With purely online banks, you cannot get advice in person in a branch. Instead, you will only be able to contact your bank via the internet or by phone.

Contact:

The International Office
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Email: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: +49 (0)551 39-21321

Team Welcome Centre
Map


Find us on Facebook

The Welcome Centre is not barrier-free. Please contact us if you need assistance.

Banken

Für die Eröffnung eines Bankkontos brauchen Sie folgende Dokumente:

  • Personalausweis oder Reisepass
  • Meldebescheinigung der Stadt oder Aufenthaltserlaubnis
  • ggf. Kopie des Arbeitsvertrages

Online-Banken bieten Girokonten auch ohne deutsche Meldebescheinigung an. Das Welcome Centre steht Ihnen mit weiteren Informationen zur Verfügung.

Die meisten Menschen in Deutschland haben für alltägliche Zahlungen ein Girokonto. Auf dieses Konto wird ihr Gehalt gezahlt, die Miete wird von diesem Konto überwiesen, und sie heben mit ihrer EC-/Maestro-Karte Bargeld ab und bezahlen in Geschäften.

Fast alle Banken bieten Girokonten an.Unterschiede bestehen bei:

  • Kontoführungsgebühren: Viele Banken berechnen eine monatliche Kontoführungsgebühr. Es gibt aber auch kostenlose Girokonten.
  • kostenloser Bargeldabhebung am Geldautomaten: Mit den meisten EC-Karten können Sie Geld an Geldautomaten der eigenen Bank abheben. Einige Banken erheben eine Gebühr, wenn Sie an Geldautomaten anderer Banken abheben.
  • Überweisungsgebühren ins Ausland
  • monatlichem Mindestgeldeingang (insbesondere bei kostenlosen Girokonten)

Informieren Sie sich vorher gut über die Konditionen, bevor Sie ein Girokonto eröffnen – ein Vergleich lohnt sich!

Es gibt drei Arten, Zahlungen über ein Girokonto zu tätigen:

  • Überweisung: direkte Zahlung von Ihrem Girokonto auf ein anderes Konto (z.B. Zahlung von Rechnungen). Überweisungen können Sie online (meist gebührenfrei) oder am Schalter Ihrer Bank (oft gegen Gebühr) tätigen.
  • Dauerauftrag: direkte, regelmäßige Zahlung an einem bestimmten Tag von Ihrem Girokonto auf ein anderes Konto (z.B. Miete, Strom). Einen Dauerauftrag müssen Sie vorher bei Ihrer Bank online (meist gebührenfrei) oder am Schalter (oft gegen Gebühr) einrichten.
  • Einzugsermächtigung / Lastschriftverfahren: : Sie erlauben mit der Einzugsermächtigung einer anderen Person, Geld von Ihrem Girokonto abzuziehen. as Erteilen einer Einzugsermächtigung ist bei laufenden Verträgen üblich, z.B. für Mobilfunktarife, Mitgliedschaften in Fitnessstudios.

Die meisten Zahlungen erfolgen per Überweisung. Schecks sind in Deutschland eher nicht üblich.

Bei regelmäßigem Gehaltseingang räumen Banken die Möglichkeit ein, ihr Konto im Bedarfsfall zu überziehen, also ohne Formalitäten einen (kleinen) Kredit in Anspruch zu nehmen („Dispo-Kredit“). Sie gewinnen dadurch Flexibilität, zahlen für die Inanspruchnahme des Dispo-Kredits aber sehr hohe Zinsen und Gebühren.

Bargeldloses Zahlen ist in Deutschland weit verbreitet. Bei kleineren Beträgen von unter 10€ bleibt aber Bargeld üblich. In kleineren Geschäften kann es vorkommen, dass nur Bargeld akzeptiert wird. Fragen Sie im Zweifelsfall vorher nach und schauen Sie an Eingangstüren von Geschäften und Restaurants, welche Zahlungsmittel akzeptiert werden.

In Deutschland gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten bargeldlos zu bezahlen:

Im Vergleich zu anderen Ländern werden Kreditkarten in Deutschland weniger genutzt. Manche Geschäfte akzeptieren nur EC-/Maestro-Karten oder gar keine bargeldlose Zahlung. Die am weitesten verbreiteten Kreditkarten sind Visa und Mastercard. ApplePay und GooglePay können meist dort genutzt werden, wo auch Kreditkarten kontaktlos genutzt werden können.

Nach Eröffnungs eines Girokontos werden Ihnen die EC-/ Maestro-Karte und Geheimnummer ( PIN-Nummer) getrennt per Post zugeschickt. Mit der EC-/MaestroKkarte können Sie Geld abheben und in Geschäften bezahlen.

Bewahren Sie Ihre EC-/ Maestro-Karte an einem sicheren Platz auf und lernen Sie Ihre PIN-Nummer auswendig. Schreiben Sie die PIN-Nummer nicht auf und bewahren Sie sie nicht in Ihrem Portemonnaie oder in der Nähe Ihrer Karte auf. Wenn Sie die Karte verlieren oder Sie Ihnen gestohlen wird, melden Sie dies sofort Ihrer Bank.

Beim kontaktlosen Bezahlen müssen Sie Ihre Karte an der Kasse nicht in das Lesegerät stecken. Es reicht, die Karte an das Lesegerät zu halten. Erst ab einem bestimmten Betrag (oft 50€) müssen Sie auch Ihre PIN eingeben. Ob Ihre Karte für kontaktloses Bezahlen geeignet ist, erkennen Sie an einem Wellen-Symbol auf Ihrer Karte. ApplePay und GooglePay funktionieren nach dem gleichen Prinzip. Beide Angebote sind dort verfügbar, wo auch mit Kreditkarten kontaktlos bezahlt werden kann.

Bargeld können Sie abheben:

  • an Geldautomaten der eigenen Bank (gebührenfrei) und anderer Banken (meist gegen Gebühr) mit Ihrer EC-/Maestro-Karte und Kreditkarte
  • bis zu 200€: beim Einkauf in Supermärkten und Drogerien (z.B. DM, Rewe) mit Ihrer EC-/Maestro-Karte, wenn der Einkaufswert einen Mindestbetrag übersteigt (meist 10 bis 20€). Sagen Sie vor dem Bezahlen, dass Sie noch Geld abheben möchten.

Beim Online-Banking wickeln Sie Ihre Bankgeschäfte (wie Überweisungen, Kontostand ermitteln etc.) online ab. Dies ist bei Online-Banken und Filial-Banken üblich.

Bei reinen Online-Banken können Sie sich nicht vor Ort in einer Filiale beraten lassen, sondern haben nur per Internet oder Telefon Kontakt zu Ihrer Bank.

Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: +49 (0)551 39 21321

Das Team des Welcome Centre
Lageplan


Find us on Facebook

Das Welcome Centre ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie Assistenz oder einen barrierefreien Zugang zu den Angeboten des Welcome Centre benötigen.