Insurances

If you are in Göttingen on a scholarship, you are generally exempt from the compulsory social insurance – with the exception of health insurance. You must take out private health insurance on your own. The Welcome Centre is happy to assist you with this.

If you have an employment contract in Göttingen, social insurance is compulsory for you. As a rule, you will be automatically insured (up to an annual gross income of €64,350) in statutory health, pension, unemployment, long-term care, and accident insurances. After you begin your job, your place of employment will register you with the statutory health insurance you have chosen, which then informs the other social security institutions. The contributions are deducted monthly from your gross salary.

After registration, you will receive your social security card with your national insurance number from the German pension insurance. Please inform your employer of this number. Keep your social security card safe, as you will need it again and again (e.g., when you change jobs).

For citizens of an EU or EEA country or Switzerland, the transferability of social security entitlements (e.g. pension entitlements and healthcare) is regulated by ordinance. The general rule is:

  • You are insured in the country in which you are gainfully employed.
  • A person can only be covered by the social security legislation of one country. An exception is made for employees who are posted abroad for less than 2 years. They can remain insured and pay contributions in the country from which they were posted.

If you work in several countries at the same time, special rules determine which social security law applies and where you have to contribute.

Social security

The pension system provides financial security in old age. It is there to provide you or your survivors a pension as soon as you are no longer able to work (e.g. due to old age, accident or death). It not only pays a pension in retirement but also provides measures to maintain your working capacity (e.g. treatment).

Participation in the German pension system is compulsory for all employed people and some freelancers and self-employed people. Other freelancers and self-employed people can participate in an optional pension plan. It is also possible to participate in a private pension plan.

A fixed percentage of your salary is automatically deducted from your gross salary for your pension. You are automatically enrolled in the statutory pension system when you become employed.

More information on pensions:

If you have worked in different countries throughout your career and have contributed to their social security systems, you will be entitled to a pension in several countries. You should enquire about your entitlements with the insurance institutions of the different countries as soon as possible for planning purposes. Please note that the minimum qualification period in order to be entitled to a pension may vary from country to country.

As a general rule, there is no provision for pooling pension entitlements (for example, in the country where you reside when you retire). Exceptions exist only to avoid small pensions that do not provide a living wage. The insurance institution of each country in which you have acquired an entitlement grants pensions according to its national regulations.

The European Union provides for special circumstances. EU member states must take into account your period of employment in other EU member states when considering your entitlement to a pension. Pensions are pooled and paid into the country where you currently reside. This also applies to other states with which Germany has bilateral social security agreements.

If you leave Germany and return to a country with which Germany has no official social security agreement, you can have paid contributions to the statutory pension fund reimbursed. You can apply for this at the German pension office.

Statutory unemployment insurance offers financial support in the event of unemployment. The prerequisite is that you have been employed in Germany for at least 12 months within the last 48 months and are available to the labour market. Previous periods of employment from EU/EEA states and Switzerland can be taken into account. In addition, you will receive compensation in the event of a forced reduction of hours, work stoppages due to weather conditions or the insolvency of your employer.

Enrolment in statutory unemployment insurance is compulsory for employed people. You pay a fixed percentage of your salary for employment insurance, which is deducted from your gross salary each month.

Self-employed people cannot take out statutory unemployment insurance. There is no comparable private unemployment insurance.

If you receive unemployment benefits, the employment agency pays health insurance, long-term care insurance and compulsory contributions to the pension insurance institution on your behalf.

Accident insurance protects you against the costs and financial consequences of accidents at work and job-related health problems. However, it does not provide comprehensive protection. You are only insured on the way to and from work and during work hours. Statutory accident insurance only applies within Germany.

Statutory accident insurance is compulsory for all employed people in Germany. In addition to the statutory accident insurance, you can take out private supplementary insurance. In contrast to statutory accident insurance, private accident insurance also protects you in the event of accidents worldwide, and outside working hours. Freelancers and the self-employed can take out statutory or private accident insurance as they wish.

Contributions to the statutory accident insurance are paid in full by your employer. You do not have to pay any contributions.

Long-term care insurance provides basic cover if you are no longer able to care for yourself due to illness or old age and need help. You are automatically enrolled with the health insurance.

Statutory long-term care insurance is compulsory for all employed people. Freelancers and the self-employed have long-term care insurance according to their health insurance.

You pay a fixed percentage of your salary for long-term care insurance, which is automatically deducted from your gross salary. Childless employees pay a surcharge of 0.25% of their gross salary.

Other insurances

Personal liability insurance protects you against the financial consequences of damage caused by you (or your child or pet). The scope of insurance depends on the provider and the individual rate.

Claims for damages can be high, especially if people are injured. Therefore, you should make sure that the sum insured is sufficient.

In Germany, as the owner of a car, motorcycle, quad bike or motor scooter, you must take out vehicle liability insurance.

Vehicle liability insurance covers, among other things, damage to other people’s vehicles as well as property damage and personal injury. There is a statutory minimum amount that is covered by the insurance.

Often, this amount is not enough to cover all damages. Therefore, you can take out additional insurance (partial or comprehensive insurance). Partial-coverage insurance covers damage to your own vehicle, such as glass breakage, damage caused by wild animals or theft. Comprehensive insurance additionally covers damage caused by vandalism and damage to your own vehicle as a result of an accident for which you are responsible.

The prices for car insurance vary considerably. Use comparison portals to find cheap rates with the scope of benefits that suit you best.

Contact:

The International Office
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Email: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: +49 (0)551 39-21321

Team Welcome Centre
Map


Find us on Facebook

The Welcome Centre is not barrier-free. Please contact us if you need assistance.

Versicherungen

Wenn Sie mit einem Stipendium nach Göttingen kommen, sind Sie in der Regel von der Sozialversicherungspflicht befreit – mit Ausnahme der Krankenversicherung. Sie müssen selbstständig eine private Krankenversicherung abschließen. Das Welcome Centre unterstützt Sie gerne.

Wenn Sie in Göttingen einen Arbeitsvertrag erhalten, ist die Sozialversicherung für Sie Pflicht. Sie werden in der Regel (bis zu einem Jahres-Bruttoverdienst von jährlich 64.350 €) automatisch in der gesetzlichen Kranken-, Renten-, Arbeitslosen-, Pflege- und Unfallversicherung versichert. Ihre Arbeitsstelle meldet Sie nach Arbeitsbeginn bei der von Ihnen ausgewählten gesetzlichen Krankenkasse an, die dann die weiteren Sozialversicherungsträger informiert. Die Beiträge werden Ihnen monatlich von Ihrem Bruttogehalt abgezogen.

Nach der Anmeldung bekommen Sie von der Deutschen Rentenversicherung Ihren Sozialversicherungsausweis mit Ihrer Sozialversicherungsnummer zugeschickt. Teilen Sie diese bitte Ihrem*r Arbeitgeber*in mit. Bewahren Sie Ihren Sozialversicherungsausweis gut auf, da Sie ihn immer wieder brauchen (z.B. beim Wechsel der Arbeitsstelle).

Für Bürger*innen eines EU-, EWR-Staates oder der Schweiz ist die Übertragbarkeit von Sozialversicherungsansprüchen (z.B. Rentenansprüche und Gesundheitsversorgung) per Verordnung geregelt. Grundsätzlich gilt:

  • Sie sind grundsätzlich in dem Land versichert, in dem Sie die Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben.
  • Für eine Person kann immer nur das Sozialversicherungsrecht eines einzigen Landes gelten. Eine Ausnahme gilt für Arbeitnehmer*innen bei Entsendungen ins Ausland von weniger als 2 Jahren: Sie können in dem Land versichert bleiben und Beiträge zahlen, aus dem sie entsandt wurden.

Wenn Sie in mehreren Ländern gleichzeitig arbeiten, legen spezielle Regelungen fest, welches Sozialversicherungsrecht gilt und wo Sie Beiträge zahlen müssen.

Sozialversicherung

Die Rentenversicherung bietet finanzielle Sicherheit im Alter. Sie gewährt Ihnen als versicherte Person oder Ihren Hinterbliebenen eine Rente, sobald Sie nicht mehr arbeitsfähig sind (z.B. durch Alter, Unfall, Tod). Sie zahlt nicht nur Rente im Ruhestand, sondern auch Maßnahmen zur Erhaltung der Arbeitskraft (z.B. Kuren).

Die gesetzliche Rentenversicherung ist für alle Arbeitnehmer*innen und bestimmte Gruppen von Freiberufler*innen und Selbstständige Pflicht. Andere Freiberufler*innen und Selbstständige können eine freiwillige Rentenversicherung abschließen. Es ist auch möglich, eine private Rentenversicherung abzuschließen.

Sie zahlen einen festen Prozentsatz Ihres Gehalts für die Rentenversicherung, der Ihnen automatisch vom Bruttogehalt abgezogen wird. In der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung sind Sie als Arbeitnehmer*in automatisch Mitglied.

Mehr Informationen zur Rentenversicherung:

Wenn Sie im Lauf Ihres Berufslebens in verschiedenen Staaten gearbeitet und Beiträge zur jeweiligen Sozialversicherung geleistet haben, sind in mehreren Staaten Ansprüche auf eine Rente entstanden. Sie sollten sich rechtzeitig bei den Versicherungsträgern der einzelnen Staaten nach Ihren Ansprüchen erkundigen. Beachten Sie, dass die Mindestzeiten, die man gearbeitet haben muss, um überhaupt einen Rentenanspruch zu haben, von Land zu Land variieren können.

Grundsätzlich gilt, dass eine Zusammenführung von Rentenansprüchen (etwa in dem Staat, in dem Sie bei Renteneintritt Ihren Wohnsitz haben) nicht vorgesehen ist. Ausnahmen bestehen nur zur Vermeidung von Kleinstrenten, die nicht existenzsichernd sind. Der Versicherungsträger jedes Staates, in dem Sie Ansprüche erworben haben, gewährt Renten nach seinen nationalen Vorschriften.

Die Europäische Union sieht Sonderregelungen vor: EU-Mitgliedstaaten müssen bei der Prüfung Ihrer Ansprüche auf eine Rente die Zeit Ihrer Beschäftigung in anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten berücksichtigen. Renten werden zusammengeführt und in dem Land ausgezahlt, in dem Sie Ihren aktuellen Wohnsitz haben. Dies gilt auch für weitere Staaten, mit denen Deutschland bilateral ein Sozialversicherungsabkommen geschlossen hat.

Wenn Sie Deutschland verlassen und in ein Land zurückkehren, mit dem Deutschland kein Sozialversicherungsabkommen geschlossen hat, können Sie sich gezahlte Beiträge zur gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung erstatten lassen. Den Antrag können Sie bei der Deutschen Rentenversicherung stellen.

Die gesetzliche Arbeitslosenversicherung bietet finanzielle Unterstützung bei Arbeitslosigkeit. Voraussetzung ist, dass Sie innerhalb der letzten 48 Monate für mindestens 12 Monate in Deutschland sozialversicherungspflichtig beschäftigt waren und dem Arbeitsmarkt zur Verfügung stehen. Vorherige Beschäftigungszeiten aus EU-/EWR-Staaten und der Schweiz können berücksichtigt werden. Außerdem erhalten Sie eine Entschädigung bei Kurzarbeit, witterungsbedingten Arbeitsausfällen oder der Insolvenz Ihres Arbeitgebers.

Die Mitgliedschaft in der gesetzlichen Arbeitslosenversicherung ist für Arbeitnehmer*innen Pflicht. Sie zahlen einen festen Prozentsatz Ihres Gehalts für die Arbeitslosenversicherung, der Ihnen monatlich vom Bruttogehalt abgezogen wird.

Selbständige können keine gesetzliche Arbeitslosenversicherung abschließen. Es gibt keine vergleichbare private Arbeitslosenversicherung.

Wenn Sie Arbeitslosengeld bekommen, zahlt die Agentur für Arbeit für Sie Kranken-, Pflegeversicherung und Pflichtbeiträge an den Rentenversicherungsträger.

Die Unfallversicherung schützt vor den Kosten und finanziellen Folgen von Arbeitsunfällen und berufsbedingter Krankheit. Sie bietet jedoch keinen umfassenden Schutz. Versichert sind Sie nur auf dem Hin- und Rückweg zur Arbeit und während der Arbeitszeit. Die gesetzliche Unfallversicherung gilt nur innerhalb Deutschlands.

Die Mitgliedschaft in der gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung ist für alle Arbeitnehmer*innen Pflicht. Neben der gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung können Sie eine private Zusatzversicherung abschließen. Im Gegensatz zur gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung schützt Sie die private Unfallversicherung auch bei Unfällen außerhalb der Arbeitszeit und weltweit. Freiberufler*innen und Selbstständige können freiwillig eine gesetzliche oder private Unfallversicherung abschließen.

Beiträge zur gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung werden vollständig von ihrem*r Arbeitgeber*in getragen. Sie müssen keine Beiträge zahlen.

Die Pflegeversicherung bietet eine Grundsicherung, wenn sie aufgrund von Krankheit oder Alter nicht mehr für sich selbst sorgen können und Hilfe benötigen. Sie wird automatisch mit der Krankenversicherung abgeschlossen.

Die Mitgliedschaft in der gesetzlichen Pflegeversicherung ist für alle Arbeitnehmer*innen Pflicht. Freiberufler*innen und Selbstständige sind entsprechend Ihrer jeweiligen Krankenversicherung pflegeversichert.

Sie zahlen einen festen Prozentsatz Ihres Gehalts für die Pflegeversicherung, der Ihnen automatisch vom Bruttogehalt abgezogen wird. Kinderlose Arbeitnehmer*innen zahlen einen Aufschlag von 0,25 % des Bruttogehalts.

Weitere Versicherungen

Die Privathaftpflichtversicherung schützt Sie vor den finanziellen Folgen von Schäden, die Sie (oder Ihr Kind oder Haustier) verursacht haben. Der Versicherungsumfang hängt vom Anbieter und vom individuellen Tarif ab. .

Schäden können hohe Ansprüche gegen Sie begründen, insbesondere dann, wenn Personen verletzt werden. Deshalb sollten Sie auf eine ausreichende Höhe der Versicherungssumme achten.

In Deutschland müssen Sie als Besitzer*in eines Autos, Motorrads, Quads oder Mopeds eine Fahrzeug-Haftpflicht-Versicherung abzuschließen.

Die Fahrzeug-Haftpflicht-Versicherung deckt bei u.a. Schäden an fremden Fahrzeugen sowie Sach- und Personenschäden ab. Es gibt einen gesetzlichen Mindestbetrag, der durch die Versicherung gedeckt ist.

Häufig reicht diese Summe nicht aus, um alle Schäden zu decken. Deshalb können Sie eine Zusatzversicherung (Teil- oder Vollkaskoversicherung) abschließen. Die Teilkaskoversicherung deckt Schäden am eigenen Fahrzeug wie Glasbruch, Schäden durch Wildtiere oder Diebstahl. Die Vollkaskoversicherung deckt zusätzlich auch Schäden durch Vandalismus und Schäden am eigenen Fahrzeug infolge eines Unfalls ab, für den man selbst verantwortlich ist.

Die Preise für Kfz-Versicherungen unterscheiden sich erheblich. Nutzen Sie Vergleichsportale, um günstige Tarife mit dem für Sie passenden Leistungsumfang zu finden.

Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: +49 (0)551 39 21321

Das Team des Welcome Centre
Lageplan


Find us on Facebook

Das Welcome Centre ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie Assistenz oder einen barrierefreien Zugang zu den Angeboten des Welcome Centre benötigen.