Medical Care and Emergency Numbers

  • Fire department, ambulance service 112: in case of serious accidents, chest pain (heart attack), difficulty breathing, loss of consciousness, paralysis and acute pain
  • Police 110: in case of immediate danger to self or others, traffic accidents, crime
  • Medical on-call service 116 117: in case of serious illness outside of your doctor’s office hours
  • Poison control centre 0551 19240: in case of serious illness outside of your doctor’s office hours
  • Emergency pharmacy service 0800 0022833

You can call 110 and 112 free of charge from any German telephone or mobile phone, even without a SIM card or PIN number. You do not have to dial an area code. These numbers are valid throughout Germany. If you are calling from an international mobile phone, you must also use the country code prefix 0049 for Germany.

If you want to contact the police but it is not an emergency, contact the Göttingen Police Headquarters: Groner Landstrasse 51, 37081 Göttingen, Phone 0551 - 491-0.

In Germany, you only go to the hospital in an emergency or if you urgently need a doctor outside of regular office hours (emergency outpatient clinic). If it is not an emergency, contact your family doctor or, if necessary, a specialist directly. Research contact details of Göttingen doctors online.

The Welcome Centre can help you find doctors in Göttingen who speak English or other languages.

If you urgently need a doctor at night, during the weekend or on public holidays, contact the Göttingen city emergency service centre (Notdienstzentrale ) or the medical on-call service (116 117).

If you have an acute toothache outside the opening hours of your dentist, please contact the emergency service of registered dentists.

In Germany, medicines (including painkillers) are only sold in pharmacies.

Some medicines require a prescription – you can only get these medicines with a prescription from a doctor. The legal rules for writing prescriptions are very strict in Germany. Many medicines, such as antibiotics, which you might be able to buy in normal shops in your home country, have to be prescribed by a doctor in Germany. However, some less potent medicines, such as headache tablets or mild fever-reducing drugs, are available in pharmacies without a prescription.

Opening hours

Pharmacies are open during normal business hours (weekdays 09:00 to 18:00; Saturdays 09:00 to 13:00), in the city centre or in shopping centres, sometimes a bit longer). At night and on weekends, there is always a pharmacy open (emergency service pharmacy). You can find the current emergency service pharmacy (Notdienstapotheke) here or on the emergency service schedule posted in the pharmacy shop window.

Payment of costs

If you have German statutory health insurance, your health insurance will cover the costs of prescription medicines. You only have to pay a small co-payment at the pharmacy. Medicines for children are available without co-payment.

If you have private health insurance, you pay the pharmacy the full price of the medicine and then submit the receipt and prescription to your health insurance company for reimbursement.

In Germany, you only go to the hospital if there is an emergency, if there is an acute and urgent need for treatment outside the regular office hours or if a doctor has referred you to hospital for further treatment. All hospitals (Krankenhäuser) are open to all insured patients. Some private clinics (Privatkliniken) only treat privately insured patients.

If you are going to a hospital for a planned visit, bring your insurance card, your doctor’s referral slip and medical documents (vaccination records, list of allergies, prior medical records, etc) with you. Also take important telephone numbers, some money, a nightgown or pyjamas, towels and toiletries with you. Your health insurance will cover the costs of accommodation and treatment. Patients with statutory health insurance pay a small flat rate for the first 28 days of their stay in hospital. Depending on your health insurance (statutory or private), you will be given a single or double room.

Hospitals that have an emergency outpatient clinic:

Universitätsklinikum/University hospital
Robert-Koch-Str. 40
37075 Göttingen
Phone: 0551 / 39-8605

Evangelisches Krankenhaus Weende e.V.
An der Lutter 24
37083 Göttingen
Phone: 0551 / 51 79 90

You can find more hospitals here.

Contact:

The International Office
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Email: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: +49 (0)551 39-21321

Team Welcome Centre
Map


Find us on Facebook

The Welcome Centre is not barrier-free. Please contact us if you need assistance.

Medizinische Versorgung und Notrufnummern

  • Feuerwehr, Rettungsdienst 112: bei schweren Unfällen, Herzschmerzen (Infarkt) und Kollaps, Luftnot, Bewusstlosigkeit, Lähmungen und akuten Schmerzen
  • Polizei 110: bei Gefahr für die eigene oder fremde Person, Verkehrsunfälle, Straftaten
  • Ärztlicher Bereitschaftsdienst 116 117: bei schwerer Krankheit außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten von Arztpraxen
  • Giftnotrufzentrale 0551 19240: bei Vergiftungen
  • Apotheken-Notdienst 0800 0022833

Die Nummern 110 und 112 können Sie kostenlos von jedem deutschen Telefon oder Mobiltelefon aus anrufen, auch ohne SIM-Karte oder PIN-Nummer. Sie müssen keine Ortsvorwahl wählen. Diese Nummern gelten in ganz Deutschland. Wenn Sie von einem internationalen Mobiltelefon aus anrufen, müssen Sie die Ländervorwahl 0049 für Deutschland vorwählen.

Wenn Sie die Polizei kontaktieren wollen, es sich aber nicht um einen Notfall handelt, wenden Sie sich an die Polizeidirektion Göttingen: Groner Landstraße 51, 37081 Göttingen, Tel. 0551 - 491-0.

In Deutschland sucht man ein Krankenhaus nur in Notfällen auf oder dann, wenn man außerhalb der regulären Sprechzeiten dringend einen Arzt oder eine Ärztin braucht (Notfallambulanz). Wenn es kein Notfall ist, kontaktieren Sie Ihren Hausarzt oder ggf. direkt einen Facharzt. Recherchieren Sie online die Kontaktdaten Göttinger Ärzte.

Das Welcome Centre unterstützt Sie bei der Suche nach Ärzt*innen in Göttingen, die Englisch oder andere Sprachen sprechen.

Wenn Sie nachts, am Wochenende oder an Feiertagen dringend einen Arzt benötigen, wenden Sie sich an die Notdienstzentrale Göttingen-Stadt oder kontaktieren Sie den Ärztlichen Bereitschaftsdienst (116 117).

Haben Sie akute Zahnschmerzen außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten Ihrer Zahnarztpraxis, kontaktieren Sie bitte den Notdienst der niedergelassenen Zahnärzte.

In Deutschland werden Arzneimittel (inklusive Schmerzmittel) nur in Apotheken verkauft.

Einige Medikamente sind verschreibungspflichtig – Sie bekommen diese Medikamente nur mit einem Rezept von einem*r Arzt oder Ärztin. Die gesetzlichen Regeln für das Ausstellen von Rezepten sind in Deutschland sehr streng. Viele Medikamente wie z.B. Antibiotika, die Sie in Ihrem Heimatland vielleicht in normalen Geschäften kaufen können, müssen in Deutschland von Ärzt*innen per Rezept verschrieben werden. Einige wenig potente Medikamente, z.B. Kopfschmerztabletten oder leichte fiebersenkende Arzneimittel, sind aber in Apotheken ohne Rezept erhältlich.

Öffnungszeiten

Apotheken haben zu den normalen Ladenöffnungszeiten geöffnet (werktags 09:00 bis 18:30 Uhr; samstags von 09:00 bis 13:00 Uhr), im Stadtzentrum oder in Einkaufszentren auch länger. Nachts und am Wochenende gibt es immer eine Apotheke, die geöffnet hat (Notdienstapotheke). Die aktuelle Notdienstapotheke finden Sie hier oder über den Notdienstplan im Schaufenster einer Apotheke.

Kostenübernahme

Wenn Sie eine deutsche, gesetzliche Krankenversicherung haben, übernimmt die Krankenkasse die Kosten für verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente. Sie müssen in der Apotheke nur eine geringe Zuzahlung zahlen. Arzneimitteln für Kinder sind ohne Zuzahlung erhältlich.

Wenn Sie eine private Krankenversicherung haben, bezahlen Sie das Medikament und reichen den Beleg und das Rezept anschließend zur Erstattung bei Ihrer Krankenkasse ein.

In Deutschland sucht man ein Krankenhaus nur dann auf, wenn Notfälle eintreten, wenn akuter und dringender Behandlungsbedarf außerhalb der regulären Sprechzeiten der Arztpraxen besteht oder wenn ein Arzt oder eine Ärztin Sie zur weiteren Behandlung in ein Krankenhaus überwiesen hat. Alle Krankenhäuser sind für alle versicherten Patient*innen offen. Einzelne Privatkliniken behandeln nur privat versicherte Patient*innen.

Wenn Sie planmäßig in ein Krankenhaus gehen, bringen Sie Ihre Versichertenkarte, den Einweisungsschein Ihres Arztes oder Ihrer Ärztin und ärztliche Dokumente (Impfpass, Allergiepass, Vorbefunde etc.) mit. Nehmen Sie auch wichtige Telefonnummern, etwas Geld, ein Nachthemd bzw. Pyjama, Handtücher und Hygieneartikel mit. Ihre Krankenkasse übernimmt die Kosten für Übernachtung und Behandlung. Gesetzlich versicherte Patient*innen zahlen eine geringe Pauschale für die ersten 28 Tage ihres Aufenthalts im Krankenhaus. Je nach Krankenversicherung (gesetzlich oder privat) bekommen Sie ein Einzel- oder Doppelzimmer.

Krankenhäuser, die eine Notfallambulanz haben:

Universitätsklinikum
Robert-Koch-Str. 40
37075 Göttingen
Tel.: 0551 / 39-8605

Evangelisches Krankenhaus Weende e.V.
An der Lutter 24
37083 Göttingen
Tel.: 0551 / 51 79 90

Weitere Krankenhäuser finden Sie hier.

Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: +49 (0)551 39 21321

Das Team des Welcome Centre
Lageplan


Find us on Facebook

Das Welcome Centre ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie Assistenz oder einen barrierefreien Zugang zu den Angeboten des Welcome Centre benötigen.