Mobility

Deutsche Bahn connects large as well as small cities (local, regional and long distance). If you travel by train frequently, it might be worth buying a BahnCard. The BahnCard 25 saves you 25 percent of the fare, and with the BahnCard 50 you save half. There are also weekly or monthly options, regional options (e.g. Niedersachsenticket), discounts for groups and early booking as well as other offers (e.g. day ticket for Germany – Quer-durchs-Land-Ticket).

Always be sure to travel with a valid ticket (it will be checked on the train) and be sure to buy your ticket before boarding the train. Tickets are available online, at the ticket office or from the ticket machines at the station. Seat reservations are not essential, but are recommended on public holidays.

A cheap and popular alternative to the train is the long-distance bus. The providers have significantly expanded their routes in recent years. In Göttingen, the long-distance buses leave from the Central Bus Station (near the train station) or the Am Kaufpark bus station (near the Autobahn).

Employees of the University of Göttingen can receive a company subscription (Firmen-Abo) at a reduced price and use the entire VSN local public transit network.

Local public transit (ÖPNV) in Göttingen: the city bus

In Göttingen, the Göttinger Verkehrsbetriebe (GöVB) operate 13 bus lines and 8 additional night bus lines. Tickets can be bought from the bus driver, in some shops and tobacconists (advance booking offices) or at the GöVB Customer Centre (Groner Straße 40).

Local public transit (ÖPNV) in the region of Süd-Niedersachsen: Regional bus & Regional train

Regional public transit is organized by the Verkehrsverbund Süd-Niedersachsen (VSN) – an association of 11 bus companies and 4 rail companies. The area covered by the VSN includes the districts of Göttingen, Northeim, Holzminden and the city of Göttingen. In total, more than 4000 stops are served on over 3100 kilometres of route.

Taxis in Germany are rather expensive. Most people only use taxis in special situations, for instance, when travelling at night or if you have a lot of luggage. Taxis will charge a basic fee, plus additional charges for distance travelled and time spent waiting in traffic. All taxis are equipped with a taxi meter that runs for the entire journey. In the city, there are taxi stands where you can take a taxi. In Göttingen, you will find taxi stands at the main train station and in the city centre at the Markt. Please always go to the frontmost car in the queue. Alternatively, you can call a taxi company and order a taxi. It is not common to hail a cab on the street in Göttingen, although it is done in larger cities.

An alternative to local and long-distance public transit is ride-sharing. Private individuals offer car rides online to find fellow travellers and carpool. The passengers pay a fare that they agree on with the driver beforehand. The ride-sharing websites only act as an intermediary, and do not guarantee the quality of the ride. After the ride, the passengers can rate the driver using a rating system. The best-known ride-sharing service is Blablacar.

The German traffic infrastructure is very well-developed. Renting a car is an alternative if you appreciate the advantages of a private vehicle but only need it for a short while or want to avoid the running costs and responsibility of owning a vehicle.

If you have a valid foreign driving licence, you may drive vehicles in Germany for the categories for which your licence is issued. Restrictions and conditions of your foreign driving licence also apply in Germany. If you have held a driving licence for less than two years, the probationary period regulations apply to you in Germany.

You must always carry your driving licence with you when driving. Depending on the country of issue and residence, different rules apply regarding recognition of your driving licence in Germany:

Driving licences from EU/EEA countries

  • Valid without restriction

Driving licences from other countries

If you have one of the following driving licences and are resident in Germany, it is valid for six months after entry:

  • International driving licence (no translation required)
  • Driving licence from Andorra, Hong Kong, Monaco, New Zealand, San Marino, Switzerland, Senegal (no translation needed)
  • German translation of driving licence. The translation can be done by a sworn translator, a German mission (embassy or consulate) abroad, or an internationally recognised automobile club.

After six months, your foreign driving licence must be converted into a German driving licence at the Göttingen driving licence office (Führerscheinstelle Göttingen). This may mean that you have to take the oral and written test again. Prerequisites for this are an eye test and a valid first aid course. Your foreign driving licence cannot be changed after six months. Make sure that you make your appointment in a timely fashion.

Car-sharing is a model of car rental for short and spontaneous trips in the city (business area) where you only pay for the distance driven and the time used. You can rent the car at any time at various pre-determined locations and park it there again. The car sharing providers have different rate models. Typically, you can create a user account via an app, for example, see where a vehicle is available and then reserve it. Car-sharing is mainly offered in larger cities.

Car rental companies offer vehicles for rental, usually for an entire day or longer. You can also use the vehicle outside of the city. Restrictions may apply for trips across country borders. You usually pay a basic fee depending on the duration of use, plus a fee for the distance driven, plus petrol. When renting and returning the car, you are restricted to the pick-up and drop-off – if you have so arranged it – locations of the rental company and their hours of operation.

Cycling is very popular in Germany, especially for travelling short distances (e.g. within the city or between nearby towns). Especially when the weather is nice, you will see many cyclists. Many streets have well-developed cycle paths, which make it easy to cycle safely. Göttingen is a cycle friendly city, with many cycle paths, bicycle boulevards (Fahrradstraßen) and a bike freeway (Radschnellweg). Make sure to ride with lights on when it is dark! This is the law and is regularly checked by the police in cities. Be sure to observe all traffic laws. You will be ticketed for travelling against traffic on a one-way street, for instance. We also recommend wearing a bicycle helmet.

Hier können Sie in Göttingen Fahrräder ausleihen:

Thanks to its central location, Göttingen has good connections to the following airports, which can be reached relatively quickly by train, bus or car: Frankfurt am Main, Hannover, Hamburg, Berlin, Paderborn-Lippstadt, Kassel-Calden and Leipzig-Halle.

Air travel causes more pollution than any other means of transportation. Choose your means of transport consciously or opt for compensation of the resulting CO2 emissions, e.g. with Atmosfair.

Contact:

The International Office
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Email: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: +49 (0)551 39-21321

Team Welcome Centre
Map


Find us on Facebook

The Welcome Centre is not barrier-free. Please contact us if you need assistance.

Mobilität

Die Deutsche Bahn verbindet alle großen und kleinen Städte (lokal, regional und im Fernverkehr). Wenn Sie häufiger Zug fahren, lohnt sich vielleicht die Anschaffung einer BahnCard: Mit der „BahnCard 25“ sparen Sie 25 Prozent des Fahrpreises, mit der „BahnCard 50“ die Hälfte. Außerdem gibt es Zeitkarten (Wochen- oder Monatskarten), regionale Angebote (z.B. Niedersachsenticket), Ermäßigungen für Gruppen und Frühbucher und weitere Angebote (z.B. Quer-durchs-Land-Ticket).

Fahren Sie immer mit einem gültigen Fahrschein (er wird im Zug kontrolliert) und kaufen Sie Ihr Ticket unbedingt, bevor Sie den Zug betreten. Tickets erhalten Sie online , am Ticketschalter oder an den Fahrkartenautomaten im Bahnhof. Eine Sitzplatzreservierung ist nicht unbedingt notwendig, aber besonders an Feiertagen zu empfehlen.

Eine günstige und beliebte Alternative zur Bahn sind Fernbusse. Die Anbieter haben ihr Streckennetz in den vergangenen Jahren deutlich ausgebaut. In Göttingen fahren Fernbusse am Zentralen Omnibusbahnhof (nahe Bahnhof) oder der Haltestelle Am Kaufpark (nahe Autobahn) ab.

Mitarbeitende der Universität Göttingen können ein ermäßigtes Firmen-Abo abschließen und den Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr im gesamten Netz des Verkehrsverbunds Süd-Niedersachsen (VSN) nutzen.

Öffentlicher Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) in Göttingen: Stadtbus

In Göttingen betreiben die Göttinger Verkehrsbetriebe (GöVB) 13 Buslinien und 8 weitere Nachtbus-Linien. Fahrkarten können Sie bei dem/der Busfahrer*in, in einigen Geschäften und Tabakläden (Vorverkaufsstellen) oder im GöVB Kundenzentrum (Groner Straße 40) kaufen.

Öffentlicher Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) in der Region Süd-Niedersachsen: Regionalbus & Regionalzug

Der Öffentliche Personennahverkehr in der Region wird durch den Verkehrsverbund Süd-Niedersachsen (VSN) organisiert – ein Zusammenschluss aus 11 Busunternehmen und 4 Schienenunternehmen. Das Gebiet des VSN umfasst die Landkreise Göttingen, Northeim, Holzminden und die Stadt Göttingen. Insgesamt werden auf über 3100 Kilometern Strecke mehr als 4000 Haltestellen angefahren.

Taxifahren ist in Deutschland vergleichsweise teuer. Viele Personen nutzen Taxen nur in besonderen Fällen, z.B. nachts oder wenn sie mit viel Gepäck unterwegs sind. Bei einer Fahrt mit dem Taxi bezahlen Sie eine Grundgebühr plus zusätzliche Gebühren für Fahrtstrecke und verkehrsbedingte Wartezeiten. Alle Taxen sind mit einem Taxameter ausgestattet, das während der gesamten Fahrt läuft. In Städten gibt es Taxistände, wo Sie ein Taxi nehmen können. In Göttingen finden Sie Taxistände z.B. am Bahnhofsplatz und in der Innenstadt am Markt. Gehen Sie bitte immer zum vordersten Wagen in der Reihe. Alternativ können Sie bei einem Taxiunternehmen anrufen und ein Taxi bestellen.

Eine Alternative zum öffentlichen Personennah- und Fernverkehr ist die Mitfahrzentrale. Privatpersonen bieten Fahrten mit dem Auto online an, um Mitreisende zu finden und eine Fahrgemeinschaft zu bilden. Die Mitfahrenden zahlen dabei einen Fahrpreis, den sie zuvor mit der fahrenden Person vereinbaren. Die Agentur übernimmt lediglich die Vermittlung, garantiert jedoch nicht für die Qualität der Fahrt. Über ein Bewertungssystem können die Mitfahrenden nach Ende der Fahrt die Fahrenden beurteilen. Die bekannteste Mitfahrzentrale ist Blablacar.

Die Verkehrsinfrastruktur für Autofahrer ist in Deutschland sehr gut ausgebaut. Ein Auto zu mieten ist eine Alternative, wenn Sie die Vorteile eines privaten Fahrzeugs schätzen, es aber nur zeitweise brauchen oder die laufenden Kosten und die Verantwortung für ein eigenes Fahrzeug scheuen.

Wenn Sie eine gültige, ausländische Fahrerlaubnis besitzen, dürfen Sie in Deutschland Fahrzeuge der Klassen fahren, für die Ihre Fahrerlaubnis ausgestellt ist. Beschränkungen und Auflagen Ihrer ausländischen Fahrerlaubnis gelten auch für Deutschland. Wenn Sie seit weniger als zwei Jahren im Besitz einer Fahrerlaubnis sind, gelten für Sie in Deutschland die Probezeit-Regelungen.

Ihre Fahrerlaubnis müssen Sie bei der Fahrt immer dabei haben. Je nach Ausstellungsland und Wohnsitz gelten unterschiedliche Regeln zur Anerkennung Ihrer Fahrerlaubnis in Deutschland:

Fahrerlaubnis aus EU-/EWR-Staaten

  • ohne Einschränkung gültig

Fahrerlaubnis aus anderen Staaten

Wenn Sie eine der folgenden Fahrerlaubnisse besitzen und Ihren Wohnsitz in Deutschland haben, ist diese nach Einreise sechs Monate gültig:

  • internationaler Führerschein (keine Übersetzung notwendig)
  • Fahrerlaubnis aus Andorra, Hongkong, Monaco, Neuseeland, San Marino, Schweiz, Senegal (keine Übersetzung notwendig)
  • Fahrerlaubnis in deutscher Übersetzung. Die Übersetzung kann u.a. von einem*r vereidigten Übersetzer*in, von einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung oder einem international anerkannten Automobilclub erstellt sein.

Nach sechs Monaten muss Ihre ausländische Fahrerlaubnis bei der Führerscheinstelle Göttingen in einen deutschen Führerschein umgeschrieben werden. Das kann bedeuten, dass Sie die mündliche und schriftliche Prüfung erneut machen müssen. Voraussetzung dafür sind ein Sehtest und ein aktueller Erste-Hilfe-Kurs. Nach sechs Monaten kann Ihr ausländischer Führerschein nicht mehr umgeschrieben werden. Denken Sie rechtzeitig an einen Termin.

Beim Carsharing mieten Sie ein Auto für kurze und spontane Fahrten in der Stadt (Geschäftsgebiet) und bezahlen nur für die gefahrene Strecke und die Nutzungsdauer. Sie können das Auto an verschiedenen Stationen rund um die Uhr ausleihen und auch wieder abstellen. Die Carsharing-Anbieter haben unterschiedliche Tarifmodelle. Generell gilt aber, dass Sie z.B. über eine App ein Nutzerkonto anlegen, sich anzeigen lassen können, wo ein Fahrzeug verfügbar ist, und es dann reservieren. Carsharing wird vor allem in größeren Städten angeboten.

Autovermietungen bieten Fahrzeuge für Nutzungsdauern in der Regel ab einem Tag an. Sie können das Fahrzeug auch außerhalb der Stadt nutzen. Für Fahrten ins Ausland können Einschränkungen gelten. Sie bezahlen meist eine Grundgebühr je nach Nutzungsdauer plus Gebühr für die gefahrene Strecke, dazu das Benzin. Bei Ausleihe und Rückgabe sind Sie an die Abholstation/en der jeweiligen Autovermietung und deren Öffnungszeiten gebunden.

Fahrradfahren ist in Deutschland sehr beliebt, gerade für kürzere Distanzen (z.B. innerhalb der Stadt oder zwischen nahegelegenen Orten). Besonders bei schönem Wetter werden Sie viele Fahrradfahrende sehen. Viele Straßen haben gut ausgebauten Radwege, die das sichere Radfahren erleichtern. Göttingen ist eine fahrradfreundliche Stadt mit vielen Radwegen, Fahrradstraßen und einem Radschnellweg. Achten Sie darauf, bei Dunkelheit mit Licht zu fahren! Das ist Vorschrift und wird in Städten regelmäßig von der Polizei kontrolliert. Auch empfehlen wir das Tragen eines Fahrradhelms.

Hier können Sie in Göttingen Fahrräder ausleihen:

Dank der zentralen Lage hat Göttingen eine gute Anbindung an folgende Flughäfen, die mit Bahn, Bus oder Auto relativ schnell erreichbar sind: Frankfurt am Main, Hannover, Hamburg, Berlin, Paderborn-Lippstadt, Kassel-Calden und Leipzig-Halle.

Flugreisen belasten die Umwelt stärker als alle anderen Verkehrsmittel. Wählen Sie Ihr Transportmittel bewusst, oder entscheiden Sie sich für eine Kompensation der entstehenden CO₂-Emissionen, z. B. mit Atmosfair.

Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: +49 (0)551 39 21321

Das Team des Welcome Centre
Lageplan


Find us on Facebook

Das Welcome Centre ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie Assistenz oder einen barrierefreien Zugang zu den Angeboten des Welcome Centre benötigen.