Georg-August Universität Göttingen

The Georg-August University was founded in 1737. Goettingen has a worldwide reputation. Famous scientists such as Gauss, von Haller, Weber, Nernst and Heisenberg, to name but a few, helped to make scientific advances in mathematics, biology, chemistry and physics. Forty two Nobel Prize winners have studied, taught or conducted research in Goettingen. The University consists of 13 Schools, including the School of Agricultural Sciences. About 500 professors and 2,000 doctoral scientists teach 23,000 students from 133 countries. The University of Goettingen has one of the largest library in Germany with more than 4 million volumes and about 14,700 scientific journals. Information on the University of Goettingen can be accessed at At the School of Agricultural Sciences, about 1,200 students from more than 70 countries are enrolled in B.Sc., M.Sc.- or doctoral programmes.

Goettingen lies in the southern part of the state of Lower Saxony, about 100 km south of Hannover and 300 km southwest of Berlin. The historic city of Goettingen with about 120,000 inhabitants has the charming atmosphere of a "university with a town", and is located in the scenic foothills of the Harz mountains. There is a broad variety of options to enjoy spare time with sports, famous cultural events or sightseeing. The city can be conveniently reached via high-speed trains either from airports in Frankfurt or Hannover.

The M.Sc. Program in International Agribusiness is offered by the School of Agricultural Sciences, and supported by the Center for Tropical Agriculture and Forestry (CeTSAF). CeTSAF is a joint scientific institution of the School of Agricultural Sciences and the School of Forestry and Forest Ecology Sciences at Goettingen University ( CeTSAF supports international cooperation in research and teaching, and provides diverse services to foreign students enrolled at the two schools.

The main department offering modules in the M.Sc. programme in International Agribusiness is the Department for Agricultural Economics and Rural Development. All M.Sc. modules are offered in English language as part of the M.Sc. option International and Tropical Agriculture. The M.Sc. degree will be awarded by the School of Agricultural Sciences in cooperation with University of Talca in Chile.