Dr. Berihun A. Gebeye

Dr. Berihun Adugna Gebeye is a postdoctoral research fellow under the Alexander von Humboldt Chair of Comparative Constitutionalism and is a guest researcher at the Max Planck Fellow Group in Comparative Constitutionalism.

CV
Dr. Gebeye holds an S.J.D. in Comparative Constitutional Law and an LL.M. in Human Rights (International Justice Specialization) from Central European University, an LL.M. in Human Rights Law from Addis Ababa University, and an LL.B from Haramaya University. Previously, he was a Visiting Scholar at Columbia Law School, a Visiting Researcher at the Centre for Socio-Legal Studies of the University of Oxford, a Global Teaching Fellow at the Department of Law, University of Yangon, Myanmar and a Lecturer in Laws at Jigjiga University Law School, Ethiopia.

Research Interests
He uses interdisciplinary approaches and materials to study comparative constitutional law and politics, human rights, rule of law, law and development, international law, and democratisation in Africa. In his doctoral dissertation, he used what he calls “legal syncretism” as a theoretical framework to understand and explain the nature of the post-colonial African state, its organisation, structure, and notion of rights by taking Ethiopia, Nigeria, and South Africa as comparative case studies. In addition to a book project developing from his doctoral dissertation, his current research focuses on how liberal constitutionalism influences and is influenced by cultural diversity and the politics of citizenship and human rights in ethnically and religiously diverse states in sub-Saharan Africa.

Dr. Berihun A. Gebeye

Dr. Berihun Adugna Gebeye ist seit August 2019 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Professur für vergleichende Verfassungsforschung und ist Gastwissenschaftler in der Max Planck Fellow Group „Comparative Constitutionalism“.

Lebenslauf
Dr. Gebeye hat einen S.J.D. in vergleichendem Verfassungsrecht und einen LL.M. in Menschenrechten (International Justice Specialization) von der Central European University, einen LL.M. in Menschenrecht von der Addis Abeba University und einen LL.B. von der Haramaya University. Zuvor war er Gastwissenschaftler an der Columbia Law School, Gastwissenschaftler am Centre for Socio-Legal Studies der University of Oxford, Global Teaching Fellow am Department of Law der University of Yangon, Myanmar und Dozent für Rechtswissenschaften an der Jigjiga University Law School, Äthiopien.

Forschungsinteressen
Mit interdisziplinären Ansätzen und Materialien untersucht er vergleichendes Verfassungsrecht und vergleichende Verfassungspolitik, Menschenrechte, Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Recht und Entwicklung, Völkerrecht und Demokratisierung in Afrika. In seiner Dissertation verwendete er den sogenannten "legalen Synkretismus" als theoretischen Rahmen, um die Natur des postkolonialen afrikanischen Staates, seine Organisation, Struktur und seinen Rechtsbegriff zu verstehen und zu erklären, wobei er Äthiopien, Nigeria und Südafrika als vergleichende Fallstudien nahm. Neben einem aus seiner Dissertation entstandenen Buchprojekt beschäftigt sich seine aktuelle Forschung damit, wie der liberale Konstitutionalismus die kulturelle Vielfalt und die Politik von Staatsbürgerschaft und Menschenrechten in ethnisch und religiös unterschiedlichen Staaten im subsaharischen Afrika beeinflusst und durch diese beeinflusst wird.