Dr. Lennart Kaplan

Lennart Kaplan is a postdoctoral research at the Chair of Development Economics of Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs. He is also an associated researcher at the Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik in Bonn. From 2009 to 2014 Dr. Kaplan studied Economics in Göttingen, Warsaw and Groningen and became subsequently a member of the research training group Globalization and Development (RTG 1723) in Göttingen. In the framework of the RTG, Dr. Kaplan worked from 2015 to 2018 as a research assistant at the universities of Heidelberg and Göttingen under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Axel Dreher and wrote his dissertation with the title “Perils and Promises of Globalization”.

After his dissertation Lennart Kaplan worked from 2018 to 2019 as a researcher at the Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik. In addition to working as a consultant for the World Bank, he collected practical experience at the European Parliament in Brussels and at the Institute for the World Economy (IfW) in Kiel.

Dr. Kaplan’s research interests comprise international trade, impact evaluation, the political economy of development cooperation (including emerging private and public donors) as well as global health. His work has been published in the Review of International Economics and BMJ Open.

Dr. Lennart Kaplan

Lennart Kaplan ist Postdoc am Lehrstuhl für Entwicklungsökonomik von Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs. Er ist außerdem ein assoziierter Forscher des Deutschen Instituts für Entwicklungspolitik. Von 2009 bis 2014 studierte Dr. Kaplan Volkswirtschaftslehre in Göttingen, Warschau und Groningen und wurde anschließend Mitglied des Graduiertenkollegs Globalisierung und Entwicklung (RTG 1723) in Göttingen. Im Rahmen des Graduiertenkollegs arbeitete Dr. Kaplan von 2015 bis 2018 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an den Universitäten Heidelberg und Göttingen und schrieb seine Dissertation mit dem Titel "Perils and Promises of Globalization" betreut von Prof. Dr. Axel Dreher.

Nach seiner Dissertation arbeitete Lennart Kaplan von 2018 bis 2019 als Forscher am Deutschen Institut für Entwicklungspolitik in Bonn. Neben einer Tätigkeit als Berater für die Weltbank sammelte er praktische Erfahrungen im Europäischen Parlament in Brüssel und am Institut für Weltwirtschaft (IfW) in Kiel.

Dr. Kaplans Forschungsinteressen umfassen den internationalen Handel, die Wirksamkeitsmessung sowie die politische Ökonomie der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (einschließlich aufstrebender privater und öffentlicher Geber) sowie die globale Gesundheit. Seine Arbeiten wurden in der Review of International Economics, World Development und BMJ Open veröffentlicht.