Chair of Development Economics (Prof. Fuchs)

Chair of Development Economics (Prof. Fuchs)

The Chair of Development Economics investigates policy-relevant issues in development economics from a predominantly political-economy perspective and with quantitative methods. We deal with questions of international development, trade and investment policy. The effectiveness of international development cooperation projects and government-led interventions and policies are a central object of investigation. We also analyze the economics of natural disasters, conflicts, migration, and international organizations. Regional foci of our research are Asia (especially China) and Latin America. Our teaching focuses on development economics from a macroeconomic and political-economy perspective as well as on development policy. Here we offer a comprehensive range of courses at Bachelor, Master and Ph.D. level. The chair holder is Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs, Director of the Center for Modern East Asian Studies (CeMEAS) and the Ibero-America Institute of Economics at the University of Göttingen. For more information about the professorship holder, please visit www.andreas-fuchs.net.


New research project: “Coming to America: Immigration, Political Campaigning, and Polarization”

The German Research Foundation (DFG) is funding our research project "Coming to America: Immigration, Political Campaigning, and Polarization." The project is a cooperation with the Chair of International Economic and Development Policy at the Ruprechts-Karls-University of Heidelberg and the University of Western Australia. The project is funded for 24 months.


New Dataset on Refugee Resettlement in the United States (1975-2018)

The Refugee Resettlement Data 1975-2018 provide individual refugee data (1975-2008) obtained from publicly held records as originally recorded by the Office of Refugee Resettlement in tandem with a second geo-coded version that covers the 1975-2018 period. These datasets are a result of a collaboration between the Universities of Göttingen, Heidelberg and Western Australia. You may access the dataset here.

When using these data, please cite:

Dreher, Axel, Langlotz, Sarah, Matzat, Johannes, Parsons, Christopher and Mayda, Anna Maria (2020). Immigration, Political Ideologies and the Polarization of American Politics. CEPR Discussion Paper 15587.


New dataset on political leaders and their regional and ethnic affiliation

In collaboration with Andreas Kammerlander (University of Freiburg), Kerstin Unfried (University of Göttingen), Axel Dreher and Charlotte Robert (both University of Heidelberg), Andreas Fuchs and Lennart Kaplan compiled a new global dataset on political leaders’ birth regions and ethnicity (Political Leaders’ Affiliation Database, PLAD, for 1044 leaders from 175 countries in the years 1989-2018). You may access the new dataset here and here.

Professur für Entwicklungsökonomik (Prof. Fuchs)

Professur für Entwicklungsökonomik (Prof. Fuchs)

Die Professur für Entwicklungsökonomik untersucht wirtschafts- und entwicklungspolitisch relevante Fragestellungen der Entwicklungsökonomik aus vorwiegend politökonomischer Perspektive und mit quantitativen Methoden. Wir beschäftigen uns mit Fragen der Internationalen Entwicklungs-, Handels- und Investitionspolitik. Die Effektivität von Projekten der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und staatlicher Interventionen und Politikmaßnahmen sind ein zentraler Untersuchungsgegenstand. Zudem analysieren wir die ökonomischen Auswirkungen und Triebfedern von Konflikten, Migration und Naturkatastrophen sowie die politische Ökonomie internationaler Organisationen. Regionale Schwerpunkte unserer Forschung sind Asien (insbesondere China) und Lateinamerika. Unsere Schwerpunkte in der Lehre sind die Entwicklungsökonomik aus makro- und politökonomischen Perspektive sowie die Entwicklungspolitik. Wir bieten hier ein umfassendes Lehrangebot auf Bachelor-, Master- und Ph.D.-Niveau. Professurinhaber ist Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs, Direktor des Center for Modern East Asian Studies (CeMEAS) und des Ibero-Amerika Instituts für Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Universität Göttingen. Nähere Informationen über den Professurinhaber finden Sie unter der Internetadresse www.andreas-fuchs.net.


Call for Postdoctoral Research Associate

The Ibero-America Institute for Economic Research (Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs) is looking for a Postdoctoral Research Associate (m/f/d) with the earliest possible start date of October 1, 2022. The application deadline is August 17, 2022. For further information please see call for applications (PDF).


Stellenausschreibung für wissenschaftliche*n Mitarbeiter*in

Der Lehrstuhl für Entwicklungsökonomie (Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs) sucht zum frühestmöglichen Eintrittstermin am 1. September 2022 einen wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter (m/w/d). Die Bewerbungsfrist endet am 5. Mai 2022. Weitere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Stellenausschreibung (PDF).


Call for Student Research Assistant Position

The Chair of Development Economics (Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs) is looking for a student research assistant to start on June 15. Please find the call here. The deadline for applications is April 30, 2022. For further questions, please do not hesitate to contact Gerda Asmus (gerda.asmus@awi.uni-heidelberg.de).


Neues Forschungsprojekt: „Coming to America: Immigration, Political Campaigning, and Polarization“

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) fördert unser Forschungsprojekt "Coming to America: Immigration, Political Campaigning, and Polarization." Das Forschungsvorhaben wird in Kooperation mit der Professur für Internationale Wirtschafts- und Entwicklungspolitik an der Ruprechts-Karls-Universität Heidelberg und der Universität Western Australia durchgeführt. Das Projekt umfasst eine Förderung von 24 Monaten.


Neuer Datensatz zu Flüchtlingen in den USA (1975-2018)

Der Datensatz beinhaltet zum einem individuelle Flüchtlingsdaten (1975-2008) aus öffentlich zugänglichen Datensätzen, wie sie ursprünglich vom Office of Refugee Resettlement aufgezeichnet wurden. Zusätzlich beinhaltet der Datensatz eine zweite geokodierte Version, die den Zeitraum 1975-2018 abdeckt. Der Datensatz ist das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Universitäten Göttingen, Heidelberg und Western Australia. Sie können den Datensatz hier herunterladen.

Wenn Sie die Daten verwenden, nutzen Sie bitte folgende Zitation:

Dreher, Axel, Langlotz, Sarah, Matzat, Johannes, Parsons, Christopher and Mayda, Anna Maria (2020). Immigration, Political Ideologies and the Polarization of American Politics. CEPR Discussion Paper 15587.


Neuer Datensatz über politische Führungspersönlichkeiten und ihre regionale und ethnische Zugehörigkeit

In Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Kammerlander (Universität Freiburg), Kerstin Unfried (Universität Göttingen), Axel Dreher und Charlotte Robert (beide Universität Heidelberg), haben Andreas Fuchs und Lennart Kaplan einen neuen globalen Datensatz zu Geburtsregionen und Ethnizität politischer Führungspersönlichkeiten zusammengestellt (Political Leaders' Affiliation Database, PLAD, für 1044 politische Führungspersönlichkeiten aus 175 Ländern für den Zeitraum 1989-2018). Sie können auf den neuen Datensatz hier sowie hier zugreifen.