In publica commoda

Horizon Europe - Excellent Science


On this website, our team offers you an overview of the programme part Excellent Science. It primarily promotes investigator-driven or bottom-up frontier research and comprises the following funding instruments:

The ERC (EN) funds researchers and their groundbreaking project ideas. The basic principles of ERC funding are:

  • The sole criterion for selection is the scientific excellence of the project as well as of the Principal Investigator (PI).
  • A host institution is located in one of the EU member states or associated countries and guarantees to fulfil all preconditions necessary for conducting the research project.
  • If the PI decides to change the host institution, the PI takes the ERC grant to the new host institution provided it meets the requirements above.

ERC grants operate on a bottom-up basis without predetermined priorities. Applications can be made in any field of research. The ERC welcomes interdisciplinary project proposals, the exploration of new scientific fields and the application of innovative methodologies.

The ERC offers a video series under the name "ERC Classes (EN)". This series will give you specific information about the ERC application and the evaluation process, including tips to prepare for the interviews. In the future, the ERC will provide videos on a regular basis and also on topics including the individual experiences of ERC grantees.

In addition, the National Contact Point (NCP) ERC provides several offers for support of the applicants. You will find e.g. proposal templates and related documents of current and closed calls, guidelines and background documents as well as information on project management on the website of the NCP ERC (DE). Moreover, the website contains links to the respective members of the ERC Peer Review Panels of closed calls. The reviewer (DE) are usually published by the ERC after the evaluation process was completed.

In total, the ERC offers five different grants:

ERC Starting Grants (ERC StG) fund Principal Investigators (PIs) who already produced excellent supervised work and are ready to work independently showing potential to be a research leader. ERC StG may be awarded up to 1.5 million Euro for a period of five years. However, an additional 1 million Euro can be made available to cover eligible start-up costs. A two-step evaluation procedure is applied.
Further information of the ERC (EN)
Further information of the NCP ERC (DE)

ERC Consolidator Grants (ERC CoG) fund Principal Investigators (PIs) who want to consolidate their independence by establishing a research team. ERC CoG may be awarded up to 2.0 million Euro for a period of five years. However, an additional 1 million Euro can be made available to cover eligible start-up costs. A two-step evaluation procedure is applied.
Further information of the ERC (EN)
Further information of the NCP ERC (DE)

Applicants for the ERC Advanced Grants (ERC AdG) are expected to be active Principal Investigators (PIs) who have a track-record of significant research achievements in the last 10 years. ERC AdG may be awarded up to 2.5 million Euro for a period of five years. However, an additional 1 million Euro can be made available to cover eligible start-up costs. A two-step evaluation procedure is applied.
Further information of the ERC (EN)
Further information of the NCP ERC (DE)

Applications for an ERC Synergy Grant (ERC SyG) must be submitted by a minimum of two to a maximum of four Principal Investigators (PIs) and must include an outstanding intrinsic synergetic effect. PIs have to present an early achievement track-record or a ten-year track-record, whichever is most appropriate.

ERC SyG seek to bring together complementary expertise, skills and resources in order to conduct research, which cannot be carried out by a single PI working alone. The group of PIs has to explain in the proposal why the research questions can best be tackled in this constellation. PIs can apply within the same or different host institutions established in one of the EU Member States or Associated Countries. One of the PI’s host institution can also be located in a third country. This host institution is eligible for funding too. ERC SyG can be up to a maximum of 10 million Euro for a period of six years. However an addition 4 million Euro can be requested in the proposal. A three-step evaluation procedure is applied.
Further information of the ERC (EN)
Further information of the NCP ERC (DE)

ERC Proof of Concept Grants (ERC PoC) award 150 000 Euro for a period of 18 months to those ERC Grantees who want to examine the commercial or societal potential of ideas from ERC projects. The ERC project must either be ongoing or must have ended less than 12 months ago. The activities to be funded shall draw substantially on the scientifically excellent ERC-funded research. However, the additional funding is not aimed at extending the original research. The funding will cover activities at the very early stage of turning research outputs into a commercial or socially valuable proposition, i.e. the initial steps of pre-competitive development. The funding can be used to e.g.:

  • conduct market research,
  • validate technical issues,
  • carry out feasibility studies,
  • clarify intellectual property issues,
  • analyse business opportunities or
  • set up a business plan.

ERC PoC can also support innovative ideas in the public and non-profit domain, for example, contributions to social improvements or environmental objectives. Proposals in this area must clearly address a societal or economic benefit. The calls are published once a year with three cut-off dates. An ERC Grantee may submit only one eligible application per call. A single-step evaluation procedure is applied.
Further information of the ERC (EN)
Further information of the NCP ERC (DE)


Note: If you are considering applying for an ERC grant, please contact the EU Office as soon as possible. The Presidential Board has introduced specific procedures for ERC proposals (DE) to be hosted by the University of Göttingen. These specific procedures have been extended to apply throughout the duration of Horizon Europe (2021-2027). Hence, special modalities and internal deadlines will be applied:

  • internal deadlines ERC Consolidator Grant Call 2023
  • internal deadlines ERC Advanced Grant Call 2023
  • MSCA fund mobility and career development measures for early career scientists. If you are interested in MSCA, please contact Ricarda Blumentritt from the International Office of the University of Göttingen.


    Research infrastructures - both physical and virtual - are often a precondition for conducting research and gaining new scientific knowledge. At the same time, the life cycle of research infrastructures ties up enormous quantities of resources - from establishment to closure. Hence, the EU Commission and the EU member states seek to pool available resources. This can be achieved, for example, by opening up research infrastructures to scientists at other higher education institutions, research organisations, countries and the private sector. The funding instrument RI supports, among other things, the following measures:

    ESFRI was established to pursue a consistent policy for research infrastructures. Since 2006, it has regularly carried out a roadmap process. The ESFRI Roadmap (EN) summarises the most important initiatives on European research infrastructures. There are two different categories in the roadmap:

    • ESFRI Projects: This concerns infrastructures currently being set up. The focus of the integration process into the roadmap is on networking activities, standardisation measures and establishing a common access procedure.
    • ESFRI Landmarks: They are infrastructures that have already been established. The focus here is on expanding transnational and virtual access as well as the question over how the infrastructures can be used in an innovative way.

    The ESFRI roadmap encourages EU member states to develop national roadmaps for their research infrastructures. For example, the BMBF published a roadmap for German infrastructures (DE).

    The EOSC (EN) creates a virtual environment in which scientists in particular can use data across scientific disciplines and national borders. The services of the EOSC are based on the "FAIR-Principles". The data must be "Findable“, "Accessible", "Interoperable" and "Reusable”. The EOSC is complemented by national initiatives, for example, in Germany, there is the "National Research Data Infrastructure" (NFDI (DE)). Moreover, the EOSC can be funded as one of approximately 50 partnerships in the Horizon Europe programme part "Global Challenges and European Industrial Competitiveness".


    In addition to the infrastructures, the RI funding instrument in Horizon Europe also supports the staff who builds, operates and uses them. For example, training activities can be funded.
    Further information of KoWi (EN)
    Further information of BMBF (DE)

In publica commoda

Horizon Europe - Excellent Science


Unser Team bietet Ihnen auf dieser Internetseite einen Überblick über den Programmteil Excellent Science. Dieser fördert vor allem themenoffene, grundlagenorientierte Forschung und fasst folgende Förderinstrumente zusammen:

Der ERC (EN) vergibt Förderungen an herausragende Wissenschaftler*innen mit bahnbrechenden Projektideen. Die Grundprinzipien der ERC-Förderung sind:

  • wissenschaftliche Exzellenz sowohl des Projekts als auch des Principal Investigator (PI) als alleiniges Auswahlkriterium,
  • eine gastgebende Institution in einem EU-Mitgliedsstaat oder einem mit der EU assoziierten Staat, die die Voraussetzungen für die Forschungsarbeit des PI gewährleistet,
  • Bindung der ERC-Grants an die PIs, nicht an die gastgebenden Institutionen.

Bei ERC-Förderungen werden ausdrücklich keine Themen vorgegeben ("Bottom up"-Prinzip). Anträge von allen Fächern und Disziplinen sind willkommen. Begrüßt werden jedoch interdisziplinäre Projektvorschläge, die Erforschung neuer Wissenschaftsbereiche und die Anwendung innovativer Methoden.

Der ERC hat eine Video-Reihe unter dem Namen "ERC Classes (EN)" veröffentlicht. Die Videos bieten einen Einblick in die Antragstellung, den Begutachtungsprozess und geben Hinweise zur Vorbereitung von Interviews während des Begutachtungsverfahrens. Zukünftig sollen regelmäßig Videos zu unterschiedlichen Themen bereitgestellt werden wie etwa Erfahrungsberichte erfolgreicher Grantees.

Auch die Nationale Kontaktstelle (NKS) ERC bietet verschiedene Angebote zur Unterstützung der Antragstellenden an. Auf den Internetseiten der NKS ERC (DE) finden Sie u.a. die Antragsunterlagen zu den aktuellen und vergangen Ausschreibungen, Leitfäden und Hintergrunddokumente sowie Informationen zum Projektmanagement. Zudem sind die jeweiligen Panelmitglieder der vergangenen ERC-Ausschreibungen dort verlinkt. Die ERC-Gutachter*innen (DE) werden in der Regel erst nach Ablauf der Evaluierung einer ERC-Ausschreibung bekanntgegeben.

Insgesamt schreibt der ERC fünf Förderlinien aus:

ERC Starting Grants (ERC StG) fördern vielversprechende Principal Investigators (PIs), die eine unabhängige Karriere starten und eine eigene Arbeitsgruppe aufbauen möchten. Die Förderung erfolgt unabhängig von Alter und Nationalität des PI. Die ERC StG finanzieren Projekte mit bis zu 1,5 Mio. Euro über eine Laufzeit von max. fünf Jahren. In Ausnahmefällen können zusätzlich und einmalig bis zu 1,0 Mio. Euro beantragt werden. Das Auswahlverfahren ist zweistufig angelegt.
Weitere Informationen des ERC (EN)
Weitere Informationen der NKS ERC (DE)

ERC Consolidator Grants (ERC CoG) fördern bereits unabhängig arbeitende Principal Investigators (PIs), die ihre Karriere verstetigen möchten. Die Förderung erfolgt unabhängig von Alter und Nationalität des PI. Die ERC CoG finanzieren Projekte mit bis zu 2,0 Mio. Euro über eine Laufzeit von max. fünf Jahren. In Ausnahmefällen können zusätzlich und einmalig bis zu 1,0 Mio. Euro beantragt werden. Das Auswahlverfahren ist zweistufig angelegt.
Weitere Informationen des ERC (EN)
Weitere Informationen der NKS ERC (DE)

ERC Advanced Grants (ERC AdG) fördern erfahrene, aktive Principal Investigators (PIs) mit einer herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungsbilanz in den letzten zehn Jahren vor der Antragstellung. Die Förderung erfolgt unabhängig von Alter und Nationalität des PI. Die ERC AdG finanzieren Projekte mit bis zu 2,5 Mio. Euro über eine Laufzeit von max. fünf Jahren. In Ausnahmefällen können zusätzlich und einmalig bis zu 1,0 Mio. Euro beantragt werden. Das Auswahlverfahren ist zweistufig angelegt.
Weitere Informationen des ERC (EN)
Weitere Informationen der NKS ERC (DE)

Eine Gruppe aus mind. zwei bis max. vier Principal Investigators (PIs) sowie ggf. ihre Teams kann gemeinsam einen ERC Synergy Grant (ERC SyG) beantragen. Bewerben können sich exzellente Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen sowie etablierte, aktive Forschende mit herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungen. Die Förderung erfolgt unabhängig von Alter und Nationalität der PIs.

Ziel der ERC SyG ist es, komplementäre Expertise, Fähigkeiten und Ressourcen zusammenzubringen, um gemeinsam wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen zu bearbeiten. Die Gruppe der PIs muss klar darlegen, warum die Bearbeitung der wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen am besten in dieser Konstellation durchgeführt werden kann. Die zwei bis vier PIs können alle an einer Einrichtung oder an verschiedenen Einrichtungen in der EU oder in assoziierten Staaten angesiedelt sein. Pro Grant kann auch einer der PIs an einer Einrichtung in einem nicht-europäischen Drittstaat angestellt sein. Diese Gasteinrichtung im Drittstaat ist dann auch förderfähig. Die maximale Fördersumme pro Projekt beträgt 10,0 Mio. Euro für eine Laufzeit von bis zu sechs Jahren. In Ausnahmefällen können zusätzlich und einmalig bis zu 4,0 Mio. Euro beantragt werden. Das Auswahlverfahren ist dreistufig angelegt.
Weitere Informationen des ERC (EN)
Weitere Informationen der NKS ERC (DE)

ERC Proof of Concept Grants (ERC PoC) umfassen maximal 150.000 Euro für einen Zeitraum von bis zu 18 Monaten und richten sich ausschließlich an Wissenschaftler*innen, die bereits ein ERC-Projekt eingeworben haben. Das ERC-Projekt muss entweder noch laufen oder das Projektende darf nicht länger als zwölf Monate zurückliegen. Mit dem ERC PoC kann das ökonomische und gesellschaftliche Potenzial von Ideen untersucht werden, die aus ERC-Projekten hervorgegangen sind. Der ERC finanziert hiermit keine Forschungsaktivitäten, sondern Maßnahmen zur Weiterentwicklung der Ideen des ERC-Projekts wie z.B.:

  • Marktforschung,
  • technische Validierung,
  • Machbarkeitsstudien,
  • die Klärung von Fragen des geistigen Eigentums,
  • die Analyse von Geschäftschancen oder
  • die Erstellung eines Business-Plans.

Die Förderung des ERC PoC steht grundsätzlich ERC-Projekten aus allen Fachbereichen offen. So kann auch die Umsetzung innovativer Ideen im öffentlichen und nichtkommerziellen Bereich gefördert werden, etwa wenn es um die Lösung sozialer Probleme oder um die Verwirklichung von Umweltschutzzielen geht. Bei solch spezifischen ERC PoC-Projekten muss allerdings ein gesamtgesellschaftlicher oder ein volkswirtschaftlicher Nutzen deutlich erkennbar sein. Es kann nur ein Antrag pro ERC-Grantee und pro Jahr eingereicht werden. Das Auswahlverfahren ist einstufig angelegt.
Weitere Informationen des ERC (EN)
Weitere Informationen der NKS ERC (DE)


Hinweis: Wenn Sie darüber nachdenken, einen Antrag beim ERC zu stellen, kontaktieren Sie das EU-Hochschulbüro bitte so früh wie möglich. Das Präsidium hat 2014 ein spezielles Verfahren für die Antragstellung beim ERC (DE) eingeführt, das für die Laufzeit von Horizon Europe (2021-2027) verlängert wurde. Es gelten daher veränderte Modalitäten und interne Fristen zur Einreichung der Anträge:

  • interne Fristen ERC Synergy Grant-Ausschreibung 2023
  • interne Fristen ERC Consolidator Grant-Ausschreibung 2023
  • Die MSCA fördern die Mobilität und die Karriereentwicklung von Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen. Bei Interesse an den MSCA wenden Sie sich bitte an Ricarda Blumentritt von der Abteilung Göttingen International.


    Physische und virtuelle Forschungsinfrastrukturen sind oft die Voraussetzung, um forschen zu können und neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse zu erlangen. Gleichzeitig bindet der Lebenszyklus von Forschungsinfrastrukturen enorme Ressourcen - von der Errichtung bis zur Schließung. Deshalb wird von der EU-Kommission und den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten eine Bündelung der zur Verfügung stehenden Mittel angestrebt. Dies kann z.B. durch die Öffnung von Forschungsinfrastrukturen für Forschende aus anderen Hochschulen, wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen, Staaten und der Wirtschaft erreicht werden. Das Förderinstrument RI unterstützt u.a. folgende Vorhaben:

    ESFRI wurde gegründet, um eine einheitliche Politik im Hinblick auf Forschungsinfrastrukturen zu verfolgen. Seit 2006 führt ESFRI regelmäßig Roadmap-Verfahren durch. Die ESFRI-Roadmap (EN) bündelt die wichtigsten Vorhaben zu europäischen Forschungsinfrastrukturen. Dabei wird zwischen zwei Kategorien unterschieden:

    • ESFRI-Projects: Hier handelt es sich um im Aufbau befindliche Infrastrukturen. Der Fokus der Integrationsaktivitäten liegt auf Vernetzung, Standardisierung und Etablierung eines gemeinsamen Zugangsverfahrens.
    • ESFRI-Landmarks: Diese sind bereits erfolgreich etabliert. Im Vordergrund stehen die Ausweitung des transnationalen und virtuellen Zugangs und die Frage, wie die Infrastrukturen innovativ genutzt werden können.

    Durch die ESFRI-Roadmap werden die EU-Mitgliedsstaaten dazu angeregt, zusätzlich nationale Roadmaps für Forschungsinfrastrukturen zu entwickeln. So hat auch das BMBF eine Roadmap für deutsche Forschungsinfrastrukturen (DE) vorgelegt.

    Die EOSC (EN) schafft eine virtuelle Umgebung, in der vor allem Forschende Daten über Fachgebiete und Ländergrenzen hinweg nutzen können. Den Dienstleistungen der EOSC liegen die "FAIR-Principles" zugrunde. Die Daten müssen auffindbar ("Findability"), zugänglich ("Accessibility"), kompatibel ("Interoperability") und wiederverwendbar ("Reusability") sein. Die EOSC wird von nationalen Initiativen ergänzt. In Deutschland ist dies die "Nationale Forschungsdateninfrastruktur" (NFDI (DE)). Des Weiteren wird die EOSC als eine von rund 50 Partnerschaften im Horizon Europe-Programmteil "Global Challenges and European Industrial Competitiveness" gefördert.


    Neben den Infrastrukturen wird auch das Personal, dass diese baut, betreibt und nutzt durch das Förderinstrument RI unterstützt. Es werden z.B. Trainingsaktivitäten gefördert.
    Weitere Informationen der KoWi (DE)
    Weitere Informationen des BMBF (DE)