In publica commoda

Horizon Europe - Innovative Europe


On this website, our team offers you an overview of the programme part Innovative Europe. It mainly funds basic and applied research carried out by project consortia and which is market-driven. Research activities should include the early involvement of companies in project consortia. In total, there are two funding instruments:

The EIC (EN) supports high-risk, ground-breaking ideas that demonstrate high potential for creating new products, processes, services, business models and in the best case new markets. It aims at making the EU an internationally attractive place for investments in highly innovative technologies and companies.

Altogether, there are three funding schemes:

The EIC Pathfinder funds unconventional, visionary and high-risk research ideas aimed at fundamental breakthroughs in technologies at an early stage of development. Moreover, it supports the establishment of corresponding research communities and knowledge and technology transfer activities. Higher education institutions, research organisations and high tech enterprises as well as deep tech companies can apply for the EIC Pathfinder. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are especially invited to participate in the projects.
Further information of the EU Commission (EN)
Further information of the NCP EIC (DE)

Out of the EIC Pathfinder and the Proof of Concept scheme of the European Research Council (ERC), promising results shall be developed further by means of the EIC Transition. It aims at developing further technologies and business ideas. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), start-ups, research organisations and higher education institutions can apply for the EIC Transition either alone or in small project consortia. The objective of the EIT Transition is to develop the outcomes until Technology Readiness Level (TRL) 5 or 6 in order to make the ideas market-ready by means of the EIT Accelerator.
Further information of the EU Commission (EN)
Further information on the EIC Transition (DE)

The EIC Accelerator addresses small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) which perform research having a European or global direction. It aims at making concrete innovations market-ready. The instrument comprises bottom-up grant-funding without any thematic restrictions and a swift funding decision - including the option to apply for venture capital.

Only single, profit-oriented SMEs which fulfil the SME-criteria of the EU and which are located in an EU member state or associated country are eligible for funding. Research organisations, higher education institutions and larger companies can support the respective SME as a subcontractor.
Further information of the EU Commission (EN)
Further information of the NCP EIC (DE)

The EIT connects outstanding higher education institutions and research organisations with industrial companies and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in the form of Knowledge and Innovation Communities (EN) (KICs). A KIC is a highly integrated public-private partnership. Since 2009, the EIT funded the following KICs:

  • EIT Climate-KIC: climate change mitigation and adaptation
  • EIT InnoEnergy: sustainable energy
  • EIT Digital: future information and communication society
  • EIT Raw Materials: radical innovations for the raw materials sector
  • EIT Health: healthy living and active ageing
  • EIT Food: sustainable supply chain from resources to consumers
  • EIT Manufacturing: leading manufacturing innovation is made by Europe
  • EIT Urban Mobility: mobility for liveable urban spaces

There are several ways in which external higher education institutions and researchers can collaborate with the existing KICs.

Under Horizon Europe (2021-2027), the following measures will be implemented:

  • The EIT will launch two calls for proposals on new KICs: one in the area of cultural and creative industries, and one in the area of water, ocean and maritime sectors and ecosystems.
  • The EIT will expand its networks, and it will integrate more higher education institutions, companies and research organisations by drafting regional strategies. The selection of cooperation partners and the preparation of KICs shall become more inclusive in the future.
  • The EIT will support higher education institutions with financial resources, expertise and advice. The higher education institutions can use this support for developing economic activities in their respective priority areas. The EIT will design and implement measures especially in countries with a low innovation performance.

You will find further information on the EIT on the website of the NCP EIT (DE).

In publica commoda

Horizon Europe - Innovative Europe


Unser Team bietet Ihnen auf dieser Internetseite einen Überblick über den Programmteil Innovative Europe. Dieser fördert Grundlagenforschung sowie anwendungsorientierte Forschung zu wirtschaftlich relevanten Themen vor allem in Verbünden. Der Fokus liegt auf der frühzeitigen Einbindung von Unternehmen in die Forschungsvorhaben. Insgesamt gibt es zwei Förderinstrumente:

Der EIC unterstützt risikoreiche, bahnbrechende Ideen, die ein großes Potential für die Schaffung neuer Produkte, Verfahren, Dienstleistungen, Geschäftsmodelle und im Idealfall neuer Märkte beinhalten. Ziel ist es, die EU zu einem international attraktiven Ort für Investitionen in hochinnovative Technologien und Unternehmen zu machen.

Insgesamt gibt es drei Förderlinien:

Der EIC Pathfinder fördert unkonventionelle, visionäre und risikoreiche Forschungsideen, die auf fundamentale Durchbrüche bei Technologien in einem frühen Entwicklungsstadium abzielen. Zudem wird der Aufbau entsprechender Forschungsgemeinschaften sowie Wissens- und Technologietransfer unterstützt. Der EIC Pathfinder richtet sich an Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen sowie an High-Tech- und Deep-Tech-Unternehmen. Insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMUs) sind aufgerufen, sich an den Projekten zu beteiligen.
Weitere Informationen der EU-Kommission (EN)
Weitere Informationen der NKS EIC (DE)

Mit dem EIC Transition sollen vielversprechende Ergebnisse aus dem EIC Pathfinder und dem European Research Council (ERC) Proof of Concept weiterentwickelt werden. Der EIC Transition zielt darauf ab, sowohl die Technologie als auch die Geschäftsidee reifen zu lassen. Kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMUs), Start-ups, Forschungseinrichtungen und Hochschulen sind aufgerufen, entweder einzeln oder in kleinen Konsortien mit bis zu fünf Partnern die Ergebnisse bis zum Technologie-Reifegrad (TRL) 5 oder 6 zu führen, so dass sie anschließend im EIC Accelerator bis zur Marktreife gebracht werden können.
Weitere Informationen der EU-Kommission (EN)
Weitere Informationen zum EIC Transition (DE)

Der EIC Accelerator richtet sich an Forschung betreibende, kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMUs) mit europäischer bzw. globaler Ausrichtung. Ziel ist es, konkrete Innovationen zur Marktreife zu entwickeln. Das Instrument vereint eine themenoffene Förderung mit einer schnellen Förderentscheidung - mit der Option, Beteiligungskapital in Kombination mit Fördergeldern zu beantragen.

Berechtigt zur Antragstellung sind ausschließlich einzelne, gewinnorientierte KMUs, welche die KMU-Kriterien der EU erfüllen und ihren Sitz in den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten oder in einem der zu Horizon Europe assoziierten Staaten haben. Als Unterauftragnehmer können Forschungseinrichtungen, Hochschulen oder größere Unternehmen das geförderte KMU unterstützen.
Weitere Informationen der EU-Kommission (EN)
Weitere Informationen der NKS EIC (DE)

Das EIT vernetzt herausragende Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen mit Industriekonzernen und kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) in Form von Knowledge and Innovation Communities (EN) (KICs). Ein KIC ist eine hochgradig integrierte öffentlich-private Partnerschaft. Seit 2009 wurden folgende KICs finanziert:

  • EIT Climate-KIC: climate change mitigation and adaptation
  • EIT InnoEnergy: sustainable energy
  • EIT Digital: future information and communication society
  • EIT Raw Materials: radical innovations for the raw materials sector
  • EIT Health: healthy living and active ageing
  • EIT Food: sustainable supply chain from resources to consumers
  • EIT Manufacturing: leading manufacturing innovation is made by Europe
  • EIT Urban Mobility: mobility for liveable urban spaces

Auch Hochschulen und Forschende, die an den bisher eingerichteten KICs nicht beteiligt sind, können über verschiedene Wege mit diesen KICs zusammenarbeiten.

Unter Horizon Europe (2021-2027) werden folgende Maßnahmen umgesetzt:

  • Das EIT wird zwei neue KICs ausschreiben: im Bereich der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft sowie im Bereich der Wasser-, Meeres- und maritimen Sektoren und Ökosysteme.
  • Das EIT wird seine Netzwerke ausbauen, indem es durch regionale Strategien mehr Hochschulen, Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen einbezieht. Die Auswahl der Kooperationspartner und die Vorbereitung der Aktivitäten der KICs sollen inklusiver werden.
  • Das EIT wird Hochschulen mit Finanzmitteln, Fachwissen und Beratung unterstützen, die sie nutzen können, um wirtschaftliche Tätigkeiten in ihren jeweiligen Schwerpunkten zu entwickeln. Es wird insbesondere in Ländern mit geringerer Innovationsleistung Maßnahmen konzipieren und durchführen.

Weiterführende Informationen zum EIT finden Sie auf der Internetseite der NKS EIT (DE).