E-Learning


In our DGS courses, students are imparted in practical language skills, basic knowledge of the grammar of the DGS as well as the culture and history of deaf people in Germany. While selected linguistic aspects of the grammar of DGS can still be described with the help of written German texts, linguistic glosses and stills of individual signs, the use of videos of DGS examples is essential not only for a lexicon comprising all signs used in the courses but also for selected practical exercises and assignments. Therefore, it makes sense to work with a combination of different media. The central aim of this project is the development of an interactive e-learning module that provides all learning material online in a way compatible with the learning objectives of the course. The e-learning module enables all students participating in the course to improve their DGS skills and to acquire additional knowledge about the language, communication and culture of deaf people either in the class, in study groups or in self-learning units .

Our e-learning module, which has been developed with the learning management system ILIAS, consists of four components which are all integrated in StudIP. The technical options available in ILIAS (such as flash cards with videos, interactive videos, ePortfolio) are used to successfully implement all four components. We produced more than 3.000 videos, which have been implemented in the different components:

1. Lexicon: The lexicon contains videos of all signs, which are used in the sign language courses and which should be acquired by each student at the end of the respective course. Sign languages neither have an established writing system nor are phonological transcriptions of four-dimensional signs practicable in teaching and learning contexts. Therefore, the online lexicon offers students an ideal opportunity to refresh and deepen their lexical knowledge. With the help of the lexicon, students can specifically repeat and practice the signs learned in each teaching unit. We produced 1.800 videos for different lexical fields.

2. Exercises: For each class, we designed different kinds of exercises, which can be accomplished in class and at home either alone or in groups. All exercises are adapted to the level of the course and include simple tasks on the lexicon or fingerspelling as well as more complex tasks on morphology and syntax, in which, for example, students are asked to identify and correct errors in a video. In addition, practical language tasks involving typical communication situations are intended to improve the students' general communicative skills. For the component exercises, we developed almost 100 exercises and we produced more than 1.000 videos. We used 30 different kinds of exercises available in ILIAS.

3. Glossary: The glossary provides brief and easy explanations of the most important basic grammatical and cultural-scientific terms. It is linked to the other three components so that the explanations for a term listed in the glossary are available if required. In the first step, a glossary in German is planned, as the students in the beginners' courses do not yet have the necessary DGS knowledge.

4. Grammar: For each class, all relevant grammatical and socio-cultural topics are explained in a simple and theory-neutral way and illustrated with visuals. The aim is to offer a descriptive explanation of the grammatical structure of DGS and cultural background of the DGS community to give the students first insights into the grammar of the DGS and deaf culture and history. For the component grammar, we produced approx. 300 videos to illustrate the grammatical features described in the individual sections.

E-Learning


In unseren DGS-Kursen werden neben sprachpraktischen Kompetenzen auch grundlegende Kenntnisse der Grammatik der DGS sowie der Kultur und Geschichte gehörloser Menschen in Deutschland vermittelt. Daher sind neben schriftsprachlichen Informationen Bilder und Videos sowohl für ein kursbegleitendes Lexikon wie auch für ausgewählte sprachpraktische und grammatische Übungen unerlässlich. Aus diesem Grund arbeiten wir in der DGS-Lehre mit einer Kombination unterschiedlicher Medien. Für den DGS I-Kurs haben wir nun ein interaktives E-Learning-Modul entwickelt, das den Studierenden die für diesen Kurs relevanten Materialien in einer adäquaten und mit den Lernzielen des Kurses kompatiblen Weise online zur Verfügung stellt. Die Studierenden können nun im Kurs, in Lerngruppen oder eigenständig die DGS-Kenntnisse vertiefen und sich zusätzliches Wissen über die Sprache, Kommunikation und Kultur gehörloser Menschen aneignen.

Das mit der Lernplattform ILIAS entwickelte E-Learning-Modul besteht aus vier Komponenten und ist in StudIP integriert. Bei der Umsetzung der vier folgenden Komponenten haben wir die in ILIAS vorhanden technischen Möglichkeiten (wie beispielsweise Lernkarten mit Videos, interaktive Videos, ePortfolio) genutzt und über 3.000 Videos produziert und in die Lernmodule integriert:

1. Lexikon: Das Lexikon gibt den Studierenden einen Überblick über den Grundwortschatzes der DGS, der in den Gebärdensprachkursen vermittelt und verwendet wird und der am Ende des jeweiligen Kurses zum Grundwissen der Studierenden gehören sollte. Da Gebärdensprachen über kein gebräuchliches Schriftsystem verfügen und eine phonologische Transkription aufgrund der visuell-gestischen Modalität für Lehr- und Lernzwecke ungeeignet ist, bietet das Online-Lexikon Studierenden eine ideale Möglichkeit, ihr lexikalisches Wissen regelmäßig aufzufrischen und zu vertiefen. Alle Gebärden sind als Video verfügbar. Für die Komponente Lexikon haben wir 1.800 Videos zu unterschiedlichen Themenbereichen produziert.

2. Übungsaufgaben: Für jede Sitzung gibt es eine Reihe seminarbegleitender Übungsaufgaben, die sowohl im Unterricht als auch zuhause alleine oder in Gruppen bearbeitet werden können. Die Übungsaufgaben sind dem Niveau des Kurses angepasst und umfassen neben einfachen Aufgaben zum Lexikon oder zum Fingeralphabet auch komplexere Aufgaben zur Morphologie und Syntax, in denen beispielsweise Fehler in einem Video erkannt und korrigiert werden müssen. Sprachpraktische Aufgaben zu typischen Kommunikationssituationen sollen außerdem die kommunikativen Kompetenzen der Studierenden verbessern. Für die Komponente Übungsaufgaben haben wir fast 100 Übungen mit über 1.000 Videos entwickelt und dabei 30 unterschiedliche Übungsformate genutzt.

3. Glossar: Die wichtigsten grammatischen und kulturwissenschaftlichen Grundbegriffe werden kurz und eingängig in einem Glossar erläutert. Das Glossar wird mit den anderen drei Komponenten verlinkt, so dass die Erläuterungen zu einem im Glossar gelisteten Begriff bei Bedarf verfügbar sind. Im ersten Schritt ist ein deutschsprachiges Glossar geplant, da die Studierenden der Anfängerkurse noch nicht über die nötigen DGS-Kenntnisse verfügen.

4. Grammatik: Für jede Sitzung werden alle relevanten grammatischen und soziokulturellen Themen einfach und theorieneutral erläutert und mithilfe von Beispielen in Form von Videos illustriert. Ziel ist, die für die Vermittlung einer Fremdsprache relevanten grammatischen Strukturen und kulturellen Besonderheiten deskriptiv zu erläutern, um so den Studierenden erste Einblicke in die Grammatik der DGS und die Kultur gehörloser Menschen zu geben. Für die Komponente Grammatik haben wir knapp 300 illustrative Beispielvideos produziert.