In publica commoda

Economic and Social History (BA) (2-subjects)

Features

Corporations - Globalization - Mass Consumption: How did modern economies and consumer societies emerge? Such questions are investigated at the Institute for Economic and Social History. This interdisciplinary program, with a historical core, uses a wide variety of explanatory approaches from economics, history and the social sciences. The B.A. degree program in Economics and Social History is the only one of its kind on offer nationwide and can be combined with a variety of other subjects.

Programme:
Economic and Social History
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
open (enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Get to know us

Cross-programme Schnupperstudium
from end

Trial study programme

Visit lectures and courses


Details

Economic and Social History analyses, how the present is shaped by economic and social developments of the past. The program provides an overview over the basic economic and social proceeses of the modern era, with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. It traces the transformation from the age of mercantilism to the era of industrialization and the emergence of modern societies.

Special attention is given to business history, the history of consumption and the history of globalization. In its methodological and thematic approach, economic and social history provides an interface between history, economics and the social sciences. Therefore, interdisciplinary courses are a core element of the BA program.

A good working knowledge of the German language is necessary. Courses are mostly taught in German.

Economic and Social History can be combined with related degree programs in economics, history, social sciences or cultural studies is recommended. Other combinations, for example with a cultural studies programs are possible, depending on individual interests.

The program offers a great variety of job opportunities for graduates. These include careers in publishing, in archives and museums. The master's degree also qualifies for careers in public management, business journalism, public relations, consulting or marketing.

The BA degree already integrates practical knowledge through an optional internship program and other forms of cooperation with companies, archives, museums, foundations and research institutions.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

In the two-subject Bachelor's programme, two subjects are studied on equal terms.

A total of 180 credits are earned for the Bachelor's degree Bachelor of Arts (B.A.).

The two subjects each account for 66 credits. The area of professionalisation accounts for 36 credits.

At the beginning of the programme, two consecutive orientation modules (together 17 credits) introduce the concepts and methods of Economic and Social History. Two further modules (together 10 credits) convey the basics of history and economics. Building on this, students acquire overview knowledge and in-depth knowledge of central topics of economic and social history of the 19th and 20th centuries in two advanced and two final modules (together 27 credits). Basic knowledge and skills in Economics are taught in an elective area (12 credits). In the optional part of the 2-subject Bachelor's programme (area of professionalisation), students can complete a subject-related or occupational field-related internship on economic and social history (12 credits) and choose a foreign language or history specialisation (6 credits). At the end of the programme, students write a forty-page Bachelor's thesis (12 credits).

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Impressions

Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Academic Advising

Dr. Robert Bernsee

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 5
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 551 39 7241
Fax: +49 5551 39 12433

robert.bernsee@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage des Studienfachs

Academic Advising

PD Dr. Jan Logemann

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 5
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 551 39 7404
Fax: +49 551 39 12433

jan.logemann@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage des Studienfachs

In publica commoda

Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Steckbrief

Unternehmen – Globalisierung – Massenkonsum: Wie sind die moderne Wirtschaft und die modernen Gesellschaften entstanden? Am Institut für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte werden diese Fragen erforscht. Das interdisziplinäre, im Kern historische Fach nutzt vielfältige Erklärungsansätze aus den Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften. Bundesweit einmalig wird in Göttingen ein BA-Studiengang „Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte“ angeboten, der mit einer Vielzahl von Fächern kombinierbar ist.

Name des Studienfachs:
Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte (B.A.)
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Es werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fächerübergreifend Schnupperstudium
ab 8.
JUNI

Auf ins Studium!

Jetzt digital informieren


Inhalte

Wirtschaft- und Sozialgeschichte fragt nach der Prägung unserer Gegenwart durch ökonomische und soziale Entwicklungen in der Vergangenheit und nimmt damit auch aktuelle Fragestellungen in den Blick.

Der Studiengang bietet Einblick in die wichtigsten Trends der wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung besonders im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert. Er verfolgt den ökonomischen, politischen und soziokulturellen Wandel vom Merkantilismus über die Industrialisierung bis hin zur Konstituierung unserer heutigen modernen Dienstleistungs- und Kommunikationsgesellschaft. Dabei werden die Studierenden mit einem breiten gesellschafts- und geisteswissenschaftlichen Theorie- und Methodenspektrum vertraut gemacht.

Im Mittelpunkt von Lehre und Forschung stehen drei thematische Schwerpunkte, die zugleich die interdisziplinäre und internationale Orientierung des Studiums unterstreichen:

  • Unternehmensgeschichte,
  • Konsumgeschichte
  • und die Geschichte der Globalisierung.

Gute Englischkenntnisse werden empfohlen

Empfohlen wird eine Kombination des Studiums der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte mit Volkswirtschaftslehre, Geschichte oder mit einem sozialwissenschaftlichen Fach. Auch andere Kombinationen, etwa mit einer Philologie, können jedoch je nach individuellem Interesse sinnvoll sein.

Zu den beruflichen Perspektiven von Wirtschaftshistorikerinnen und -historikern gehören fachbezogene Tätigkeiten z.B. in der (Historischen) Kommunikation von Unternehmen und Banken, im Wirtschaftsjournalismus, im (Geschichts-)Marketing und in Public Relations, in Wirtschaftsforschungsinstituten und Unternehmensberatungen, im Museums- und Ausstellungswesen und im Archivbereich (insbesondere Wirtschafts- und Unternehmensarchive).

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Im Studiengang Zwei-Fächer-Bachelor werden zwei Fächer gleichberechtigt studiert.

Für den Bachelorabschluss Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) werden insgesamt 180 Credits (Leistungspunkte) erbracht.

Dabei entfallen jeweils 66 Credits auf die beiden Fächer. Auf den Professionalisierungsbereich entfallen 36 Credits.

Zu Studienbeginn führen in das Studienfach zwei aufeinander aufbauende Orientierungsmodule (zusammen 17 Credits) in Konzepte und Methoden der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte ein. Zwei weitere Module (zusammen 10 Credits) vermitteln geschichts- und wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Grundlagen. Darauf aufbauend erwerben die Studierenden in zwei Aufbau- und zwei Abschlussmodulen (zusammen 27 Credits) Überblickswissen und vertiefte Kenntnisse zentraler Themenfelder der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts. Über einen Wahlpflichtbereich Ökonomie (12 Credits) erfolgt die Vermittlung grundlegender wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten. Im Optionalbereich des 2-Fächer-Bachelors kann ein fach- bzw. berufsfeldbezogenes Praktikum zur Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte (12 Credits) absolviert und eine fremdsprachliche bzw. geschichtswissenschaftliche Vertiefung (6 Credits) gewählt werden. Zum Abschluss des Studiums schreiben die Studierenden eine vierzigseitige Bachelorarbeit (12 Credits).

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. Robert Bernsee

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 5
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 7241
Fax: +49 5551 39 12433

robert.bernsee@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage des Studienfachs

Spezifische Fachberatung

PD Dr. Jan Logemann

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 5
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 7404
Fax: +49 551 39 12433

jan.logemann@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage des Studienfachs