Visa and Entry

Entry without a Visa

Nationals of EU member states, the EEA and Switzerland are not required to obtain a visa to enter Germany. A valid identity card or passport is sufficient for entry. However, they must register at the Residents’ Registration Office (Einwohnermeldeamt) within two weeks of arrival in Göttingen.

Citizens of Australia, Israel, Japan, Canada, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, the United Kingdom, and the USA do not need a visa to enter Germany. However, if you want to stay or work in Germany for longer than 90 days, you will need a residence permit. You can apply for a residence permit after arriving in Germany at the Immigration Office in Göttingen. This can be time-consuming and delay your start of work. If you want to start working immediately upon your arrival, we recommend that you apply for a visa (National Visa / D-Visa) before entering Germany, which will allow you to work. This also applies if you intend to stay in the country for less than 90 days but want to be gainfully employed during this time (for instance, receive fees for lecturing or teaching).

Entry with Visa

Nationals of countries other than those stated above generally require a visa to enter Germany. For short stays of up to 90 days without gainful employment, there are exceptions for some countries. The Federal Foreign Office provides information on these exceptions.

A visa is typically issued only for a specific purpose of stay. A change of purpose can be very difficult and only possible in some specific instances.

Stay of up to 90 Days without gainful employment

The Schengen visa (C visa) permits short stays of up to 90 days. During this time, you can move about freely in any of the signatory states of the Schengen Agreement (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland).

For a Schengen visa, you must prove that you are financially secure. You also need travel health insurance with a minimum coverage of €30,000. When applying, you may state “scientific work” or “research” as the purpose of your stay. Be sure to inform the embassy or consulate if you plan to do some fee-based work.

If you are accompanied by family members, we recommend that you apply for your visas together – even if your family members will be joining you at a later date. This will simplify the application procedure considerably.

Please note: Visa applications must be submitted in person at the responsible embassy or consulate. There may be long waiting periods for the necessary appointments. Make an appointment as early as possible and check the website of the embassy or consulate to find out which documents to submit with your application.

For nationals of certain countries, it is possible to enter Germany without a visa for short stays of up to 90 days. Information on this can be found in the overview of visa requirements provided by the Federal Foreign Office.

Please note: As a rule, gainful employment is not permitted during visa-free entry. If you earn income during your stay, such as from fee-based work (e.g. lectures fees, etc), you should apply for a visa that permits gainful employment during your stay.

Stays over 90 days, gainful employment

A national visa (D visa) is issued for long-term stays. When applying, you will be required to present at least the following documents:

  • Application form (available at the embassies and consulates, in most languages)
  • Passport (valid for the entire period of the planned stay, sometimes longer)
  • Proof of the purpose of your stay (e.g. employment contract, letter of invitation/intent, hosting agreement, scholarship notification)
  • Proof that you will be able to support yourself financially (financial status, proof of grant or scholarship, or employment contract, for instance)
  • Sufficient health insurance coverage (travel health insurance)
  • Details of planned accommodation in Germany
  • Marriage and birth certificates for any accompanying family members

Embassies and consulates may require additional documents. Please contact the embassy or consulate well in advance to find out which additional documents must be submitted with your visa application.

National visas are usually issued for a period of three to six months. Within this period, you must enter the country and apply for a residence permit on location.

For long-term stays at the University of Göttingen, visas in accordance with §18b of the Residence Act (Skilled workers holding a university degree) or §18d (research) are typically issued.

Visa in accordance to §18b of the Residence Act are issued to academically qualified specialists for the purpose of gainful employment. The requirements are:

  • A recognized university degree or equivalent
  • A contract of employment or a promise of employment
  • The job must suit the qualification (university degree)
  • A gross annual salary of more than €56,800 (or more than €44,304 in the fields of mathematics, natural sciences, IT and medicine).

With a visa in accordance with §18b paragraph 2 of the Residence Act (“EU Blue Card”) you can get a settlement permit (permanent residence) faster, with proven German language skills of at least the B1 CEFR level after only 21 months. You can get more information on the EU Blue Card at your local Immigration Office or here.

After you have arrived in Germany, you must present your visa to the local Immigration Office and apply for a residence permit.

Visas in accordance with §18d of the Residence Act are issued to researchers who will be working in a scholarly or scientific capacity at a research institution in Germany. The requirements are:

  • A hosting agreement issued by the University of Göttingen, which must be presented at the time of application. The Welcome Centre will provide you with a hosting agreement if need be.
  • Proof of your means of financial support, such as verifiable employment at the University, scholarships, or independent means

The visa according to §18d of the Residence Act allows you to work in research and teach at the host institution.

After you have arrived in Germany, you must present your visa to the local Immigration Office and apply for a residence permit.

Contact:

The International Office
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Email: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: +49 (0)551 39-21321

Team Welcome Centre
Map


Find us on Facebook

The Welcome Centre is not barrier-free. Please contact us if you need assistance.

Visum und Einreise

Einreise ohne Visum

Staatsangehörige aus Mitgliedstaaten der EU, des EWR und der Schweiz benötigen für die Einreise nach Deutschland kein Visum. Zur Einreise reicht ein gültiger Personalausweis oder Reisepass. Sie müssen sich aber innerhalb von zwei Wochen nach Ankunft in Göttingen im Einwohnermeldeamt anmelden.

Staatsangehörige von Australien, Israel, Japan, Kanada, Neuseeland, der Republik Korea, des Vereinigten Königreichs und der USA benötigen zur Einreise nach Deutschland kein Visum. Wenn Sie länger als 90 Tage in Deutschland bleiben oder arbeiten wollen, brauchen Sie aber eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Die Aufenthaltserlaubnis können Sie direkt nach Ankunft in Deutschland bei der Ausländerbehörde Göttingen beantragen. Das kann zeitaufwändig sein und Ihre Arbeitsaufnahme verzögern. Wollen Sie direkt nach Ankunft eine Arbeitsstelle antreten, empfehlen wir Ihnen, bereits vor Einreise nach Deutschland ein Visum (Nationales Visum / D-Visum) zu beantragen, das die Erwerbstätigkeit gestattet. Das gilt auch, wenn Sie weniger als 90 Tage im Land bleiben, in dieser Zeit aber erwerbstätig sein wollen (z.B. Honorare für Vortragstätigkeit oder Lehre erhalten).

Einreise mit Visum

Staatsangehörige anderer Staaten benötigen für die Einreise nach Deutschland grundsätzlich ein Visum. Für Kurzaufenthalte von bis zu 90 Tagen ohne Erwerbstätigkeit bestehen für einige Staaten Ausnahmen. Zu diesen informiert das Auswärtige Amt.

Ein Visum wird grundsätzlich für einen bestimmten Aufenthaltszweck vergeben. Ein Zweckwechsel ist nur eingeschränkt möglich.

Aufenthalt bis zu 90 Tage ohne Erwerbstätigkeit

Das Schengen-Visum (C-Visum) erlaubt Kurzaufenthalte von bis zu 90 Tagen. In dieser Zeit können Sie sich frei in allen Vertragsstaaten des Schengener Abkommens bewegen (Belgien, Dänemark, Deutschland, Estland, Finnland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Island, Italien, Lettland, Liechtenstein, Litauen, Luxemburg, Malta, Niederlande, Norwegen, Österreich, Polen, Portugal, Schweden, Schweiz, Slowakei, Slowenien, Spanien, Tschechien, Ungarn).

Für ein Schengen-Visum müssen Sie nachweisen, dass Sie finanziell abgesichert sind. Sie benötigen zudem eine Reisekrankenversicherung mit einer Mindestdeckungssumme von 30.000€. Geben Sie bei Antragstellung „wissenschaftliche Arbeit“ oder „Forschung“ als Zweck Ihres Aufenthalts an. Teilen Sie der Botschaft oder dem Konsulat unbedingt mit, wenn eine Honorartätigkeit geplant ist.

Wenn Sie von Familienmitgliedern begleitet werden, empfehlen wir, dass Sie Ihre Visa gemeinsam beantragen – auch dann, wenn Ihre Familienmitglieder erst später einreisen. Dies vereinfacht das Antragsverfahren deutlich.

Hinweis: Visaanträge müssen persönlich bei der zuständigen Botschaft oder dem zuständigen Konsulat gestellt werden. Für die dafür nötigen Termine können lange Wartezeiten entstehen. Vereinbaren Sie so früh wie möglich einen Termin und informieren Sie sich auf der Webseite der Botschaft oder des Konsulats, welche Dokumente Sie mit dem Antrag vorlegen müssen.

Für Staatsangehörige bestimmter Länder ist es möglich, für Kurzaufenthalte von bis zu 90 Tagen visumsfrei nach Deutschland einzureisen. Informationen dazu bietet die Übersicht Visumspflicht des Auswärtigen Amtes.

Hinweis: Erwerbstätigkeit ist bei visumsfreier Einreise in der Regel nicht gestattet. Wenn Sie während Ihres Aufenthalts Einkünfte erzielen, z.B. aus Honorartätigkeit, sollten Sie ein Visum beantragen, das die Erwerbstätigkeit gestattet.

Aufenthalt über 90 Tage, Erwerbstätigkeit

Für den längerfristigen Aufenthalt wird ein Nationales Visum (D-Visum) vergeben. Bei der Antragstellung müssen Sie mindestens die folgenden Dokumente vorlegen:

  • Antragsformular (erhältlich bei Botschaften und Konsulaten, meist auch in der Landessprache)
  • Reisepass (gültig für den gesamten Zeitraum des geplanten Aufenthaltes)
  • Nachweis über den Aufenthaltszweck (z.B. Arbeitsvertrag, Einladungsschreiben, Aufnahmevereinbarung, Stipendienbescheid)
  • Nachweis darüber, dass Sie sich selbst finanzieren können (eigene finanzielle Mittel, Stipendienbescheid, Arbeitsvertrag)
  • ausreichender Krankenversicherungsschutz (Reisekrankenversicherung)
  • Angaben zur geplanten Unterkunft in Deutschland
  • bei mitreisenden Familienmitgliedern Heirats- und Geburtsurkunden.

Botschaften und Konsulate können weitere Dokumente fordern. Bitte informieren Sie sich frühzeitig bei der Botschaft oder dem Konsulat, welche weiteren Dokumente mit Ihrem Visumsantrag vorzulegen sind.

Nationale Visa werden in der Regel für einen Zeitraum von drei bis sechs Monaten vergeben. Innerhalb dieses Zeitraums müssen Sie einreisen und vor Ort eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen.

Für längerfristige Aufenthalte an der Universität Göttingen werden in der Regel Visa nach §18b Aufenthaltsgesetz (akademisch qualifizierte Fachkräfte) oder §18d Aufenthaltsgesetz (Forschung) vergeben.

Visa nach §18b Aufenthaltsgesetz werden an akademisch qualifizierte Fachkräfte zum Zweck der Erwerbstätigkeit vergeben. Voraussetzungen sind:

  • ein anerkannter bzw. gleichwertiger Hochschulabschluss
  • ein Arbeitsvertrag bzw. eine Beschäftigungszusage
  • die Arbeitsstelle muss der Qualifikation (Hochschulabschluss) entsprechen
  • ein Bruttojahresgehalt über 56.800 € (bzw. über 44.304 € in den Bereichen, Mathematik, Naturwissenschaften, IT und Medizin)

Mit einem Visum nach §18b Abs. 2 Aufenthaltsgesetz („Blaue Karte EU“) können Sie schneller eine Niederlassungserlaubnis (unbefristetes Aufenthaltsrecht) bekommen, bei nachgewiesenen Deutschkenntnissen mindestens auf dem Niveau B1 GER schon nach 21 Monaten. Weitere Informationen zur Blauen Karte EU bekommen Sie bei der örtlichen Ausländerbehörde oder hier.

Nachdem Sie nach Deutschland eingereist sind, müssen Sie Ihr Visum bei der Ausländerbehörde vor Ort vorlegen und eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen.

Visa nach §18d Aufenthaltsgesetz werden an Forschende vergeben, die an einer Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland wissenschaftlich tätig werden. Voraussetzungen sind:

  • Aufnahmevereinbarung, die von der Universität Göttingen ausgefertigt ist und bei Antragstellung vorgelegt werden muss. Das Welcome Centre stellt Ihnen bei Bedarf eine Aufnahmevereinbarung zur Verfügung.
  • Sicherung des Lebensunterhalts während des Aufenthalts, nachweisbar durch Beschäftigung an der Universität, Stipendien oder eigene finanzielle Mittel

Das Visum nach §18d Aufenthaltsgesetz erlaubt die Erwerbstätigkeit in Forschung und Lehre an der aufnehmenden Einrichtung.

Nachdem Sie nach Deutschland eingereist sind, müssen Sie Ihr Visum bei der Ausländerbehörde vor Ort vorlegen und eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen.

Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: +49 (0)551 39 21321

Das Team des Welcome Centre
Lageplan


Find us on Facebook

Das Welcome Centre ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie Assistenz oder einen barrierefreien Zugang zu den Angeboten des Welcome Centre benötigen.