Animal Breeding and Genetics

Animal Breeding and Genetics


Animal breeding aims at a well-designed and targeted development of farm animal populations, so that it is possible to produce animal products with healthy animals under the expected conditions while meeting the economic requirements.

Changes in the external conditions, new technologies and methodological progress cause a permanent need for research and development. The Animal Breeding and Genetics Group in the Department of Animal Sciences provides innovative contributions to the advances in scientific animal breeding. Our research is done in collaboration with leading scientific groups and industrial partners on the national and international level.

Our main research areas are:

1. Design and optimization of breeding programmes

2. Breeding to improve functional traits in farm animals

3. Development of breeding methodology in the genomic era

4. Genetic diversity and population genomics

5. Responsibility for the breeding of the Goettingen Minipig™


We also provide scientific support and consultation services to industry, politics and administration. This is reflected by a variety of collaborative projects to solve specific problems of practical relevance and the involvement of group members in numerous consultation and working groups.

The group also is active in teaching on all levels (Bachelor, Master, PhD). Besides the basic courses we offer advanced courses on quantitative genetics, statistical genetics and design of breeding programmes (partly in English).

A_minipig

Adresse:
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Abteilung Tierzucht und Haustiergenetik
Albrecht-Thaer-Weg 3
37075 Göttingen

tierzucht@agr.uni-goettingen.de
Tel.: (0551) 39-12448
Fax: (0551) 39-5587

Tierzucht und Haustiergenetik


Gegenstand der Tierzüchtung ist die planmäßige und zielgerichtete Weiterentwicklung von Nutztierpopulationen. Ziel ist es, mit vitalen und gesunden Tieren unter den zukünftigen Rahmenbedingungen in wirtschaftlicher Weise Lebensmittel und sonstige Leistungen zu erzeugen.

Änderungen in den Rahmenbedingungen, neue Technologien und Weiterentwicklungen in den methodischen Grundlagen bedingen einen permanenten Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbedarf. Die Abteilung Tierzucht und Haustiergenetik des Departments für Nutztierwissenschaften liefert innovative wissenschaftliche Beiträge zur Weiterentwicklung der Tierzucht. Wir kooperieren dabei mit führenden Forschungsgruppen und Industriepartnern auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene.

Unsere wichtigsten Forschungsschwerpunkte sind:

1. Zuchtplanung und Optimierung von Zuchtprogrammen

2. Entwicklung züchterischer Ansätze zur Verbesserung funktionaler Merkmale bei Nutztieren

3. Weiterentwicklung der Zuchtmethodik in Zeiten der ‚genomischen Revolution’

4. Genetische Diversität und Populationsgenomik

5. Züchterische Betreuung des Göttinger Minischweins™


Die Abteilung versteht sich auch als wissenschaftlicher Ansprechpartner für Industrie, Politik und Verwaltung, was sich in einer Vielzahl von Kooperationsprojekten zur Lösung konkreter Fragestellungen sowie in der Mitgliedschaft von Mitarbeitern der Abteilung in verschiedenen Beratungsgremien widerspiegelt.

Die Abteilung ist auf allen Ebenen (Bachelor, Master und Promotion) intensiv in die Lehre eingebunden und bietet neben Grundlagenvorlesungen auch spezialisierte Veranstaltungen zur quantitativen Genetik, angewandten Zuchtplanung und statistischen Nutztiergenetik an.

A_minipig

Adresse:
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Abteilung Tierzucht und Haustiergenetik
Albrecht-Thaer-Weg 3
37075 Göttingen

tierzucht@agr.uni-goettingen.de
Tel.: (0551) 39-12448
Fax: (0551) 39-5587