Animal Breeding and Genetics

Tierzucht Fasade

Animal breeding aims at a well-designed and targeted development of farm animal populations, so that it is possible to produce animal products with healthy animals under the expected conditions while meeting the economic requirements.

more…

The Synbreed Chicken Diversity Panel, a unique public resource for chicken biodiversity research

The Synbreed Chicken Diversity Panel (SCDP) was established in recent years in cooperation with the Institute for Animal Genetics at the Friedrich-Löffler-Institut in Neustadt Mariensee and many international prtners. It comprises 174 chicken breeds covering the entire diversity of the chicken species. The variety of breeds ranges from wild ancestors to commercial broilers and layers, but also includes a variety of local breeds from all over the world as well as ornamental breeds bred by hobbyists. In the study now published, 3,235 animals were typed for almost 600,000 SNPs, and a phylogenetic tree of unprecedented completeness and resolution was created. The SCDP is a permanent data collection and is constantly updated and expanded. With the publication of the work in the renowned journal BMC Genomics, all genotype data were uploaded to a data repository (https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.8003909) and are thus available to the scientific community for further analysis.



Reference:
Malomane, D. K., Simianer, H., Weigend, A., Reimer, C., Schmitt, A. O., Weigend, S. (2019). The SYNBREED chicken diversity panel: a global resource to assess chicken diversity at high genomic resolution. BMC Genomics 20, 345. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12864-019-5727-9.


New thesis topics available!

The working group Animal Breeding offers a new selection of topics on different breeding issues in various animal species.

more…

Abteilung Tierzucht und Haustiergenetik

Tierzucht Fasade

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Seite der Arbeitsgruppe Tierzucht und Haustiergenetik des Department für Nutztierwissenschaften der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen.
Gegenstand der Tierzüchtung ist die planmäßige und zielgerichtete Weiterentwicklung von Nutztierpopulationen. Ziel ist es, mit vitalen und gesunden Tieren unter den zukünftigen Rahmenbedingungen in wirtschaftlicher Weise Lebensmittel und sonstige Leistungen zu erzeugen.

mehr…

Das Synbreed Chicken Diversity Panel, eine einzigartige öffentliche Ressource für die Erforschung der Biodiversität beim Huhn

Gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Tiergenetik am Friedrich-Löffler-Institut in Neustadt Mariensee und vielen internationalen Partnern wurde in den letzten Jahren das Synbreed Chicken Diversity Panel (SCDP) aufgebaut. Dieses umfasst 174 Hühnerrassen, die die gesamte Diversität der Spezies Huhn abdecken. Die Vielfalt der Rassen reicht von den Wildformen bis zu kommerziellen Broilern und Legern, beinhaltet aber auch eine Vielzahl lokaler Rassen aus allen Erdteilen sowie von Hobbyhaltern gezüchtete Zierrassen. In der nun veröffentlichten Studie wurden 3‘235 Tiere für knapp 600‘000 SNPs typisiert, und es wurde ein phylogenetischer Baum von bisher nicht dagewesener Vollständigkeit und Auflösung erstellt. Das SCDP ist eine dauerhafte Datensammlung und wird ständig ergänzt und erweitert. Mit der Veröffentlichung der Arbeit in der renommierten Fachzeitschrift BMC Genomics wurden auch alle Genotypdaten in einem Data Repository hochgeladen (https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.8003909) und stehen somit der wissenschaftlichen Community für weitere Auswertungen zur Verfügung.





Referenz:
Malomane, D. K., Simianer, H., Weigend, A., Reimer, C., Schmitt, A. O., Weigend, S. (2019). The SYNBREED chicken diversity panel: a global resource to assess chicken diversity at high genomic resolution. BMC Genomics 20, 345. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12864-019-5727-9.


Neue Abschlussarbeitsthemen verfügbar!

In der Arbeitsgruppe Tierzucht steht eine neue Auswahl an Themen zu verschiedenen züchterischen Fragestellungen in diversen Tierarten zur Verfügung.

mehr…