While the research of ancient myths has focused mainly on Greek and Roman sources, the research group STRATA broadens the material base regarding time, region, topics and genre by incorporating the earliest, Ancient Near Eastern as well as the later, Jewish-Christian ancient worlds.

Formally myths are encompassed as Erzählstoffe which concretise in different forms, available in larger compositions and in isolated mythic hylemes as in a Sumerian gods list, a Greek comedy or in a Christian sermon from late Antiquity. A differentiated, elaborated philological-historical method focusing on the analysis of Erzählstoffe as sequences of mythic hylemes and of isolated mythic hylemes provides the research group the innovative instruments to serve as a solid foundation for systematic, quantified comparative distinctions.

The research group also takes a completely new look at the dynamic potential of myths. Heterogeneous morphologies, incompatibilities and inconsistencies of mythic Erzählstoffe and texts are not regarded as mistakes or inaccuracies and as such are not smoothed or emended, but evaluated as indicators of a complex process of transmission, the analysis of which will help identify different, historically grown strata.

This innovative approach will be applied exemplarily to ancient myths about changing spheres, that is to myths about going to vertically remote spheres as heaven and netherworld or to horizontally distant peripherals like the “Fortunate Isles”. Preliminary studies have shown that such Erzählstoffe up to now remain incomprehensible in many respects. The desire for a new methodological approach is therefore justified.

Während die Erforschung antiker Mythen weitgehend durch den Blick auf griechisch-römische Quellen geprägt ist, erweitert die Forschungsgruppe STRATA die Materialbasis in Hinsicht auf Zeit, Raum, Inhalte und Gattungen, indem sie sowohl die früheste, altorientalische wie die spätere, jüdisch-christliche Antike einschließt.

Formal werden Mythen als Stoffe erfasst, die in verschiedener Gestalt konkretisiert werden und sowohl in kontextuell ausgeführten Kompositionen wie in isolierter Form als einzelne Handlungssequenzen vorliegen, z. B. innerhalb einer sumerischen Götterliste, einer griechischen Komödie oder im spätantiken Predigttext. Eine differenziert ausgearbeitete philologisch-historische Methodik mit Fokus auf der Analyse von Stoffen als Handlungssequenzen gibt der Forschungsgruppe ein innovatives Instrumentarium an die Hand, welches komparatistische Distinktionen auf eine systematische, quantifizierbare Basis stellt.

Die Forschungsgruppe nimmt außerdem das dynamische Potential von Mythen völlig neu in den Blick. Inhomogene Morphologien, Inkompatibilitäten und Inkonsistenzen mythischer Stoffe und Texte werden nicht als Fehler oder Ungenauigkeiten gewertet, geglättet oder gar emendiert, sondern als Indikatoren für einen komplexen Überlieferungsprozess interpretiert, deren Analyse verschiedene, historisch gewachsene Strata erkennen lässt.

Dieser innovative Ansatz wird exemplarisch auf antike Mythen mit Sphärenwechseln angewendet, also auf Mythen, die vom Gang in vertikal oder horizontal entfernte Sphären, d. h. Himmel, Unterwelt oder horizontale Randzonen wie die „Insel der Seligen“ handeln. Vorarbeiten haben gezeigt, dass solche Stoffe bislang in vielen Punkten unverständlich bleiben, so dass gerade hier ein methodischer Neuansatz Desiderat ist.