University of Bucharest

Outgoing über Erasmus+
(S/F/D; Englisch- und Französischsprachiges Lehrangebot, Mindestsprachniveau: Englisch B1; Französisch B1)

The University of Bucharest was founded by the Decree no. 765 of July 4th, 1864 by Prince Alexandru Ioan Cuza and is a leading academic centre and a significant point of reference in society. The University was founded by uniting the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Letters. Later on, the Faculty of Chemistry (1948), the Faculty of Biology (1958), the Faculty of Physics (1962) and the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science (1962) were created and joined the University of Bucharest.

Since the 1990s, the University of Bucharest has undergone a complex process of revival, setting up new faculties, reorganizing the higher education field, redefining priorities for the institutional development, both at a national and international level. In 2000, the University of Bucharest comprised 18 faculties and over 20.000 students. Currently, the University of Bucharest comprises 19 faculties and 2 autonomous departments and over 30.000 students of which approximately 35% are enrolled in the master's and doctoral programmes. The University of Bucharest is one of the most important research centers in the country, currently comprising over 50 institutes, departments, research centers, and 5 research platforms.

In 2000, the University of Bucharest was awarded the Diploma of Excellence by the Ministry of Education. In 2007, the survey conducted by the newspaper The Times Higher Education Supplement placed the University of Bucharest in its TOP 500, the UB being the only university in the country included in this classification. Furthermore, in April 2009, the External Institutional Evaluation Committee of the Romanian Agency for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ARACIS) gave the University of Bucharest the qualification certificate indicating a high degree of trust in the institution regarding the management of the institution concerning the education programs and the academic standards.

In 2011, University of Bucharest was ranked by the Ministry of Education, Research, Youth and Sport as the first university for advanced research and education - Order of the Ministry of Education, Research, Youth and Sport no. 5262/2011 regarding the results of the classification of universities

Quelle: Website University of Bucharest, 19. Juli 2017

Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu

Outgoing über Erasmus+
(S/F/D; Deutschsprachiges Lehrangebot, Mindestsprachniveau: Deutsch B1)

The Andrei Saguna Faculty of Orthodox Theology in Sibiu is the oldest institution of this kind in Romania and it marked the beginning of higher education in Sibiu. Founded in 1786 as a Theological School and restructured in 1811 under the leadership of Gheorghe Lazar, it has incessantly functioned up to the present time. Between 1948 and 1990, it functioned under the name of The Theological Institute of Higher Education, being one of the two orthodox theological schools of higher education in Romania that have trained Orthodox priests. Since 1991 it has been part of the University of Sibiu.

At present, the Faculty offers degrees programmes in the following specializations: Pastoral Theology – training future priests, Social Theology – training social assistants, and Didactic Theology – training teachers of Religion and other fields.

The Faculty has singled out primarily through the preservation of Transylvanian Orthodox traditions, constantly adapted to the demands and needs of contemporary society. Furthermore, the Faculty of Theology is actively engaged in ecumenical work both at a national and European level.

Quelle: Website Lucia Blaga University of Sibiu, Andrei Saguna Faculty of Theology, 19. Juli 2017

University of Craiova

Outgoing über Erasmus+
(S/F/D; Englischsprachiges Lehrangebot, Mindestsprachniveau: Englisch B1)

By the 18th century, Bishop Damaschin of the Ramnic Archdiocese suggested the establishment ?a higher school to serve the region of Oltenia?, an idea which was to be incorporated by the leader of the Revolution of 1848, Nicolae Balcescu, and his supporters in the "Declaration of Islaz".

This first initiative regarding the establishment of the University of Craiova was made public by the high standing academic and politician I. H. Radulescu who submitted the "Declaration of Islaz" on June 9, 1848. This declaration criticized the private education of the time, which was considered as "not offering equal opportunities to all those willing to study in Romanian schools". Thus, the new constitutional provision was that "an education equal for all, progressive, holistic, adapted to everyone´s needs as far as possible, and with no tuition fees" should be established.

The failure of the Revolution of 1848 negatively impacted on these ideals, but the school reforms that followed were based on revolutionary principles. Thus, in the context of the 1859 Union of the Romanian Principalities, the Law of public instruction, adopted in 1864, established the framework for the modernisation of Romanian education and made its implementation possible in all principalities.

Important roles in the restructuring of the Romanian education system were played by great public figures such as: Alexandru Ioan Cuza, Mihail Kogalniceanu, G. Costaforu, Spiru Haret etc.

Quelle: University of Craiova, 19. Juli 2017

Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iaşi

Outgoing über Erasmus+
(S/F/D; Englischsprachiges Lehrangebot, Mindestsprachniveau: Englisch B2)

Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iaşi is the oldest higher education institution in Romania. Since 1860, the university has been carrying on a tradition of excellence and innovation in the fields of education and research. With over 23.000 students and 745 academic staff, the university enjoys high prestige at national and international level and cooperates with 403 universities world-wide. Alexandru Ioan Cuza University is a member of some of the most important university networks and associations: the Coimbra Group, EUA – European University Association, Utrecht Network, International Association of Universities, University Agency of Francophony and the Network of Francophone Universities (RUFAC). These partnerships offer us the opportunity to experience changes, to have student and teacher mobilities and joint academic, research and strategy programmes.

Quelle: University of Iaşi, 14. Februar 2018