In publica commoda

Acting President of the University of Göttingen

Starting October 1st, 2019, Dr. Valérie Schüller, Vice president for Finance and Human Resources, will lead the university as its acting President.

Valérie Schüller, born in 1974, studied law at the University of Mainz. In 2002, she completed her legal clerkship with the second state examination in law, and at the end of 2003, the further education course Media Law at the University of Mainz with the Master of Laws (LL.M.). In 2006 she received her doctorate in law and economics from the University of Mainz. From 2005 to 2016 Schüller was managing director of the department, with a break in 2011/2012, when she worked in the team for the Excellence Initiative of the University of Mainz. In addition, she was a senator for several years, a member of the Budget and Structural Committee and a member of the Statutes Committee of the University of Mainz. In 2016 she moved to the Technical University of Bingen as Chancellor and in September 2017 to the University of Mainz as Chancellor.